Tutor HuntSubjectsBiology Tutors


Feedback Score:
Member Since: 26/07/2016
Last Login: 10 months ago
Response Rate: 95%
Expected Response: < 14 hours

My Qualifications

University of Cambridge
2:1  (2013)
A Level
Westminster School
A*  (2010)
A Level
Westminster School
A*  (2010)
A Level
Westminster School
Religious Studies
A*  (2010)
Westminster School
History of Art
A  (2009)
Westminster School
Critical Thinking
A  (2009)
St Paul`s Girls School
A*  (2008)
St Paul`s Girls School
English Language
A*  (2008)
St Paul`s Girls School
English Literature
A*  (2008)
St Paul`s Girls` School
Combined Science
A*  (2008)
St Paul`s Girls` School
Higher Combined Science
A*  (2008)
St Paul`s Girls` School
A*  (2008)
St Paul`s Girls` School
A*  (2008)
St Paul`s Girls` School
Merit  (2008)
St Paul`s Girls` School
A*  (2008)
St Paul`s Girls` School
A*  (2007)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified

PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Creative Writing£93.75-----
Early Years£93.75-----
Eleven Plus£93.75£93.75----
Entrance Exams£93.75£93.75£93.75£93.75£93.75-
General Science£93.75£93.75----
General Studies£93.75£93.75----
Personal Statements--£93.75£93.75£93.75£93.75
Religious Studies£93.75£93.75£93.75£93.75--
Seven Plus£93.75-----
Special Needs£93.75£93.75£93.75£93.75--

Information about Evie

I`m a Cambridge Philosophy graduate with 7 years` tutoring experience, working with families around the world for some of the UK`s most prestigious agencies. I have a wealth of experience preparing students for GCSEs, A Levels, Oxbridge interviews and the tests for London`s top private schools. Having attended St Paul`s and Westminster, I know the process inside out!

I have experience teaching students of all ages, from 3 all the way to 21. I`ve worked with families from Mumbai to Bermuda, and helped students overcome hurdles such as anxiety, dyslexia and ADHD.

Alongside Philosophy, English is a speciality. I`m a published author, having ghost-written a book about poetry that reached number one in the Amazon poetry lists, and which was serialised in a major broadsheet newspaper. I`m currently working on my first novel.

I get on very well with kids and teenagers, and I believe it`s far easier to learn when you can also laugh. I`m lucky enough to have had rewarding relationships with all the students I`ve taught, and often to have been considered part of the family on residential tutoring assignments.

Previous clients have said the following of me:

"Our children have benefitted hugely from their time with Evie. All have seen significant
improvements academically and one child has just achieved an impressive set of GCSE
results despite missing several months of schooling each year. Without Evie’s support, this would not have been possible."

"Evie’s reach has extended far beyond the academic. With her patience, enthusiasm and
imagination, she has instilled in our two younger sons a love of history, literature and
science. There is always an interesting project underway that Evie has devised with the
boys collaboratively but cleverly engineered to help them become independent thinkers
who are never afraid to take risks, course correct or problem solve when required."

"Evie is incredibly hard working, responsible, organised and communicative. She is fair
with a serious yet kind and thoughtful nature and a sense of fun that my children have
all grown to love and respect."

"Evie seemed to magically strike the balance between friend and tutor and completely inspired both my children to learn."

"Evie managed to cajole [my son] and work with him in such a pleasant and relaxed manner that he actually wanted tuitions and felt proud. Evie has a gentle but persuasive style and this worked extremely well with both children."

"We are thrilled with her work and have no hesitation in recommending her to others. What I like about her approach is that she spends time working with [my son] to make sure he genuinely understands the subjects and is not simply focussed on teaching him to take a test."

"The best testament that I can give comes from my son. He asked if we could ‘keep Evie’ after the tests this autumn."

Availability: I am available on weekday afternoons

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: August 2021 - Present

Home-schooling in the mornings for two boys aged 5 and 6, for whom English is a second language.

February 2019 - July 2021

Residential position in Bermuda, teaching three boys aged 10, 13 and 16. The eldest took his GCSEs before my departure, and achieved fantastic grades despite his dyslexia and a challenging sporting schedule, as well as the toll of the pandemic.

April 2018 - January 2019

University-level philosophy tuition 7 days a week for a student at SOAS university, in the months leading up to her 2nd-year exams. The student was dyslexic, dyspraxic and had ADHD, so considerable SEN support was necessary. Her exam results vastly exceeded her and her parents’ expectations.

2017 - Spring 2018
Six months’ residential tuition in a French ski resort, providing a full education for five prodigy skiers aged 12 and 13. The role involved teaching a full syllabus to children of two different year groups and from four different schools. A great deal of flexibility was required, in order to accommodate their training schedule and changing weather conditions. There was also a strong pastoral element, as I lived with them full-time and took a lot of responsibility within the chalet.

On my return, daily tuition in the humanities for a Chinese 13+ student over the Easter holidays, and English GCSE teaching for another Chinese student every other day.

Two weeks’ intensive full-time work with a gap year student on his Oxford application, followed by many hours’ interview preparation. I’m proud to say he achieved his place!

Two weeks’ full-time teaching at a Philosophy summer school, for which I received some of the best feedback on the programme.

One week’s full-time teaching at a Young Writers’ summer school, teaching students aged 11 - 13 about poetry, journalism and story writing.

50+ hours’ Philosophy and Theology A level tuition for several students

50+ hours’ 11+, 13+ and GCSE tuition

50+ hours’ intensive English tuition for Chinese GCSE students, including both Skype and in-person school-equivalent sessions


Three weeks’ full-time 13+ and 11+ tuition for two students in Mumbai. I was flown out to give intensive training in the run up to their exams and entry to the English public school system. I bonded with the children, joined the family for meals and even attended the children’s Christmas play. Both got into all their favoured schools, and the family and I are still in contact

150+ hours’ governessing for a French 4 and 6 year old. Taught English and general school skills, in addition to learning through play and taking the children on educational outings.

50+ hours’ Philosophy and Theology A-level tuition

50+ hours’ Oxbridge entrance tuition

30+ hours’ 11+ and 13+ tuition

20+ hours’ pre-school tuition for a Russian 3-year-old


Informal and formal tutoring work, including English, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Oxbridge entrance and writing skills.


Selected for high-intensity internship with Ashinaga, Japan’s foremost educational NGO. Lived and worked with disadvantaged students, mentoring, teaching English skills and philosophy, and raising aspirations.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor


After School

Feedback For Evie (2)

We have a total of 2 review(s) for Evie.

Caroline (Mrs)

5/5 Rating

Evie was clearly very familiar with the syllabus for the Philosophy courses at Oxbridge. As a result, she was very able to advise our daughter on what would be required for her admissions application. We look forward to our daughter working in more detail with Evie over the next 12 months.

Carolyn (Ms)

5/5 Rating

Encouraging, positive attitude.

Nearby Locations

AldgateBermondseyBethnal GreenCanada WaterHoxtonLimehouseRotherhitheShadwellStepney GreenTower HillWappingWhitechapelAldgate Biology TutorsAldgate Chemistry TutorsAldgate Economics TutorsAldgate English TutorsAldgate Maths TutorsAldgate Physics TutorsBermondsey Biology TutorsBermondsey Chemistry TutorsBermondsey English TutorsBermondsey Maths TutorsBermondsey Physics TutorsBethnal Green Biology TutorsBethnal Green Chemistry TutorsBethnal Green Economics TutorsBethnal Green English Tutors