Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Sharon

Sharon
Sharon
Tutor
Warwickshire
Feedback Score:
+17
Member Since: 21/01/2010
Last Login: 1 day ago
Response Rate: 80%
Expected Response: < 1 day

My Qualifications

Diploma
Another Place Counselling Training
Level 4 Diploma in Therapeutic Counselling
Awarded  (2016)
Professional
Napier Community Primary and Nursery Acade...
Higher Level Teaching Assistant Status
Achieved  (2009)
BSc
Keele University
Philosophy and Psychology
2:1  (2006)



 (0)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified

PrimaryKS3GCSEA-Level
Basic Skills£59---
Eleven Plus£59---
English£59---
Entrance Exams£59---
Maths£59---
Phonics£59---
Sat£59---

Information about Sharon

Know me:

Hi! I’m Sharon. I’ve lived in Stratford upon Avon, where I’ve made my home with my partner and two small boys, for more than ten years. I feel very settled here. I am drawn to being outside, whether in a National Trust garden, walking around the neighbourhood or going to town. I also really enjoy flowers, particularly if I’ve grown them from seed myself! After taking time off tutoring to look after my own children, I`m now looking forward to returning to support more children with their studies.

Know my tutoring:

I am naturally calm and gentle in my manner, helping children feel at ease and enabling positive relationships to be built. Families find me friendly, reliable and professional.

I have found it hugely satisfying to observe many of the children I have worked with grow in confidence and make significant academic progress.

Tutoring is most rewarding for me when my tutees also enjoy their learning; so it’s important that I think carefully about my lesson plans, focus on the individual and find ways to keep them motivated!

I work collaboratively with each child, encouraging feedback, listening and giving space for them to demonstrate and explain their processes.

Reflecting on progress from lessons helps me to plan future sessions, but I work flexibly with what emerges to allow me to best support the child. I offer feedback, which may be verbal and/ or written, on lesson content, progress and next steps.

I understand that if you’re thinking about working with a tutor, you will probably have queries and questions. I welcome enquiries, so please do get in touch. I look forward to hearing from you!



Availability: Thursday and Friday: afternoon/ evening

Saturday: afternoon / evening

Sunday: morning/ afternoon/ evening


Willing to travel: 3 miles

Experience: I’ve now been tutoring for more than fourteen years. When I started, I was also employed in a primary school, and I’ve since thrived in various roles within classrooms. I’ve drawn on skills, banks of ideas and resources gained while participating in a PGCE (teacher training) course and in my classroom based roles, to provide effective support to my tutees. I’ve tutored face-to-face and online.

As a higher level teaching assistant, I taught whole classes, small groups and individuals, recording and feeding back progress to class teachers. I have used miscue analyses to plan reading interventions for individuals.

I gained expertise in a specialised method for teaching spellings in a pre-preparatory school. At this time, I was also responsible for teaching my own phonics booster lessons, which resulted in notable pupil progress.

Many of my tutees have benefitted from the practice Eleven Plus and SATs test sessions that I have run in person and online. During these, I invigilated and kept timings; and I marked and returned papers with feedback. I have also written my own test papers, which have enabled me to assess children`s progress and identify next steps for learning, and I have had many learning resources published by a well-known educational publisher.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Sharon (17)

We have a total of 17 review(s) for Sharon.

Jennifer (Miss)
18/12/2022

5/5 Rating

Sharon was helping my 10yo prepare for independent school entrance exams. She is a highly organised, calm and encouraging tutor with a lovely manner. My son thoroughly enjoyed his lessons and learnt a great deal. Sharon tailored her lessons to my son`s needs rather than rigidly sticking to her lesson plan. She encouraged my son to explain the reasoning behind his answers. As a teacher of 21 years I can highly recommend this tutor.


Jennifer (Ms)
13/11/2022

5/5 Rating

Sharon is lovely, very gentle and encouraging. Really built my sons confidence for his 11+ test


Gail (Mrs)
09/11/2020

5/5 Rating

Sharon is organised, professional and has a great rapport with children.


Nearby Locations

LoxleyShipston-on-stourStratford Upon AvonStratford-upon-avonLoxley English TutorsLoxley Maths TutorsShipston-on-stour English TutorsShipston-on-stour Maths TutorsStratford-upon-avon English TutorsStratford-upon-avon Maths TutorsStratford Upon Avon English TutorsStratford Upon Avon Maths Tutors