Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Mira (Tutor in London)

Mira
Mira
Tutor
London, London
Home Town: London
Member Since: 26/05/2009
Last Login: 47 days ago
Response Rate: 35%
Expected Response: < 19 hours
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

Masters
Middlesex University
Philosophy and Contemporary Critica...
Pass  (2008)
BA
The University of Warwick
English and American Literature
2:1  (2005)
A Level
Wimbledon High School
English
A  (2002)
A Level
Wimbledon High School
History of Art
A  (2002)
A Level
Wimbledon High School
Theatre Studies
A  (2002)
AS LEVEL
Wimbledon High School
Psychology
B  (2001)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
We have verified this users DBS
How references rated Mira
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Mira

Hello,

I have been tutoring for 13 years, both freelance and with agencies. I have worked with over 100 children and young people in situations ranging from one-on-one private tuition in the student’s home, to 2 month residential stays with families, from working with small groups of children in primary schools, to home schooling excluded students and seeing them through whole syllabi.

Over this time I have worked with students from varying backgrounds/needs meaning that I also have experience with dyslexia, dyspraxia, ADHD and other special educational needs. I have recently completed a dyslexia awareness training course. Having worked with students from the ages of 5 through to 21 I am comfortable and confident with any aged students and any situation.

I have plenty of experience with entrance exams to public, private and state schools in and around London (from 7+ up) and my students have successfully entered the following schools: Dulwich College and Prep, City of London, GDST schools, Feltonfleet, James Allen’s Girls’ School (and JAPS), Alleyn’s, Colet Court, St Paul’s Boys and Girls, Westminster Choir School, King’s College, Westminster among others. 100% of my older students have passed their GCSEs and A-Levels with A* to B grades and, if entering university, been accepted at the place of their choice.

My sessions are always developed in correlation with the student’s needs and their parents’/guardians’ requirements. Depending on the aim of tuition I can offer: rigorous sessions with set homework, long term exam prep, systematic pre-exam cramming, focussing on particularly problematic areas or, longer term support resulting in more open, student-led and exploratory sessions. I pride myself on always being able to adapt to a student’s needs in any particular session, while keeping in mind the broader trajectory.

I have a flexible, open and friendly approach and am responsive and sensitive to the student’s needs and temperament ensuring they feel comfortable asking any questions.

I am also a fluent Arabic speaker and speak reasonable Spanish.

Thank you for reading!

Availability: Monday after school.

Wednesday evenings.

Daytimes possible during the week.

Travelling outside of London is not impossible though rates for travel time would have to be negotiated.

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: 13 years as a private tutor
Taught 100+ students between 5-21
Numeracy, Literary, Science primary
History, RS GCSE
English Literature and Language, Drama, Creative Writing to A Level and above
Essay writing and dissertation advice and guidance
Proofreading and editorial work

DBS (CRB) Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

Forest HillForest Hill English TutorsForest Hill Maths Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.266 seconds
twitter    facebook