Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Alison

Alison
Alison
Tutor
Cheshire
Feedback Score:
+9
Member Since: 28/10/2008
Last Login: 1 day ago
Response Rate: 90%
Expected Response: < 11 hours

My Qualifications

PhD
Cardiff University

awarded  (2014)
PhD
Cardiff University

awarded  (2014)
MSc
The University of Liverpool
Surface, Interface Science (Physics, Chemistry)
Pass  (2014)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Alison
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 45.00 to 56.25 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelAdult Learner
Biology-£50£45£50£50
Chemistry-£50£45£50£50
Eleven Plus£50£50---
Further Maths--£50--
General Science-£50£50--
Maths£50£50£45£56.25£50
Physical Education--£50--
Physics-£50£50£56.25-

Information about Alison

BSc, MSc, PhD qualified Maths, Science Tutor

Over 15yrs experience tutoring in Maths and Science (Biology, Chemistry, Physics) at all levels and of basic skills (English, maths and verbal reasoning) to lower secondary level.

Friendly, approachable and patient with an adaptable/ flexible tutoring style catering for individual student needs. Help to build confidence and subject knowledge and advice on revising, exam technique and past paper question practice for those doing key exams.

Many past/current students would provide a personal recommendation and report that their confidence and grades have improved as a result of the tuition. Many past clients have re-used my services for younger siblings, which speaks volumes.

I have experience teaching, lecturing and providing 1-2-1 tuition at all levels and hold a valid DBS (enhanced) check. If you have any questions about tutoring or availability please feel welcome to ask.

Subjects offered:

Entrance test, 11+ preparation. English, Maths, Verbal reasoning.
Grammar or private school entry

Maths - primary maths tuition (yr 4 - yr 6), including eleven plus (11+), entrance test maths preparation, secondary maths, GCSE, iGCSE maths, Level 2 Further Maths (AQA), Level 3 OCR FSMQ, additional maths and A level maths (year 1 (12) only at present).

Science - GCSE & iGCSE science, combined science

Biology - KS3, GCSE, iGCSE, A level

Chemistry- Key Stage 3 (KS3), GCSE, iGCSE, A level

Physics - KS3 SATs, GCSE, iGCSE

Availability: I tutor all days, including weekends and am also available daytime. Prime, after school, slots between 3.30 and 7pm on weekdays, tend to fill up quickly but please ask about current availability.

Close to exam seasons my availability becomes very limited - daytimes are more flexible, weekends may have one or two possible spaces.

Cancellation/last minute slots are available on a fcfs basis

Enquiries always welcome

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: Over 15 yrs experience of 1-1 private tutoring in maths and sciences at all levels and for most exam boards.

In addition to tutoring I have previous experience of teaching and lecturing at both college and university and also of providing training courses for teachers and teaching assistants.

Many past/current students would provide a personal recommendation and report that their confidence and grades have improved as a result of the tuition. Many past clients have re-used my services for younger siblings, which speaks volumes.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

More Photos (1)

  This user has a total of 1 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .

Feedback For Alison (9)

We have a total of 9 review(s) for Alison.

Debbie (Mrs)
22/11/2019

5/5 Rating

Dr. Alison was a big help for my son during his last year of A-Levels in 2017. His results were above and beyond what he hoped for! We can highly recommend Dr. Alison as a tutor!


Paul (Mr)
12/10/2018

5/5 Rating

My daughter likes the help and encouragement she receives from Alison.


lauren (Mrs)
02/03/2018

5/5 Rating

Alison is a great Tutor.


Graham (Mr)
01/11/2017

5/5 Rating

Great help. A* achieved.


Amelia (Miss)
26/02/2017

5/5 Rating

Would recommend.


frankie (Miss)
20/10/2016

5/5 Rating

Great tutor, improved my gcse grade from a D to and A in 5 months


Elinor (Mrs)
09/09/2015

5/5 Rating

My son was predicted a C in Physics and achieved an A in his GCSE examinations! Needless to say we are continuing with Alison at A-Level. He has told me on numerous occasions that she explains the tricky concepts very well! Many thanks Alison.


Esme (Ms)
31/12/2013

5/5 Rating

I have benefited from the session we had and look forward to more.


Anoushka (Miss)
22/01/2013

5/5 Rating

Hello,
My name is Anoushka Mehan. I am a pupil at Manchester High School and I am struggling with Physcis, doing IGCSE. I was wondering if you could tutor me, and contact me by my email, which is on my profile as soon as you can please as if you can do it, I would like to start straight away! thank you xx


Nearby Locations

Alderley EdgeChelfordGoostreyHandforthHeald GreenNether AlderleyOver PeoverWestonWilmslowAlderley Edge Biology TutorsAlderley Edge Chemistry TutorsAlderley Edge Maths TutorsAlderley Edge Physics TutorsChelford Biology TutorsChelford Chemistry TutorsChelford Maths TutorsChelford Physics TutorsGoostrey Biology TutorsGoostrey Chemistry TutorsGoostrey Maths TutorsGoostrey Physics TutorsHandforth Biology TutorsHandforth Chemistry TutorsHandforth Maths Tutors