Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsBiology Tutors

Gavin (Tutor in Dorset)

Gavin
Gavin
Tutor
Dorset
Feedback Score:
+24
Member Since: 17/08/2014
Last Login: 1 day ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 28 minutes
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

MA
The Open University
Social Policy and Criminology
Pass  (2007)
LDip
University of the West of England,...
Bar Vocational Course
Very Competent  (2007)
BA
Oxford University
Law
2:1  (2004)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
How references rated Gavin
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 26.00 to 30.00 per hour
Information about Gavin

** Tutorhunt charges over £20 to purchase a tutors details. This cannot be avoided. Please don’t organise tuition if you are not prepared to purchase a tutors details. **

Please be realistic in terms of what you think a tutor can do. We are here to support and on some occasions can organise replacement teaching for school. Please do not expect to change your performance in one lesson. If you have specific needs or wishes about what you expect, please discuss them first. Unfortunately I have a lot of students who let me down because they were expecting bespoke lessons but without telling me what they wanted. Everyone is different and it is not fair to expect us to know this in advance! Students really need to discuss it and manage their own needs, in much the same way that they will have to when they go to university or work.

Tutorhunt now sends messages on your behalf and I find this inappropriate as it is important that people should be looking at tutors profiles first to ensure the tutor matches their requirements. I get so many messages now and unfortunately rarely get responses as the student was not interested in the first place. Some students are over a hundred miles away. Tutors also get rated on speed of response. I no longer respond to automated messages so my response rate will appear poor. I will only respond to genuine messages, I am sorry.

I work as a tutor in an international college, covering maths and physics, as well as my original field of expertise which is social science.

I am an examiner with OCR for law and sociology A-Level.

Oxford graduate and MA of the Open University, Barrister LDip, work as human rights lawyer and a tutor. Currently working towards four degrees (in maths, geology, astrophysics and Egyptology) and two masters degrees (in criminal psychology and international human rights). Current research into animal welfare law in a domestic violence situation, and immigration detention. I am a trustee of two charities and do a lot of work in relation to animal rights with academic centres and the UK Parliament.

Extensive experience in tutoring maths, the sciences and law. Great record with student achievement. Also available for tutoring for adult education and staff development within businesses.

I have worked previously in customer services and the licensed trade for 20 years and have run my own pub, which is why I run on site training in this industry and the licensing exam.

Please note I did not know that there is a limit on how many people I can contact and I have exceeded that, so just because I do not send you a message doesn`t mean I think I can`t help! If I have viewed your ad it is probably because I think I can! So please do contact me, as then I can get back to you.

Please also note, you may not send me your contact details as per the rules of Tutor Hunt. You have to purchase my details first.

I have an extensive collection of past papers, reports and notes for use in tutoring, and have some practical equipment too.

Please note my degree is in law, but I have extensively studied the sciences. Since I have studied maths and geology at such a high level I have decided to formalise this and am currently sitting a maths and a geology degree.

I teach many subjects not because I am a Jack of all trades, master of none, but because I have invested a considerable amount of time on developing my knowledge in the sciences and social sciences.

Availability: Only 2 sessions remain for the 2019/2020 academic year.

I always try to find spaces for people, so please do ask.

I regret I cannot take on students from Glenmoor as that school runs compulsory extra revision after school and at weekends, and during Easter and half term during exams. This means students often have to cancel their sessions with me, and having set aside time for them, this means I lose out, and I cannot justify this any longer.

Generally students want me to reserve them a slot each week. In return, I ask that the slot be used for the majority of the academic year, as I cannot fill the slot otherwise. Alternatively I could offer ad hoc lessons, however there would be no guarantee that I would have a space in any given week. I also ask that cancellations with less than 24 hours be paid for.

Willing to travel: 50 miles

Experience: 13 years experience.

Contact this Tutor
Feedback For Gavin (24)
We have a total of 24 review(s) for Gavin.

Lamiaa (Mrs)
21/03/2019

4/5 Rating

My son had about 6 sessions, and he is happy 😊;; thanks Mr. Gavin


Clive (Mr)
18/02/2019

5/5 Rating

My son is only 2 sessions in with Gavin but he already feels more confident in his abilities. Gavin has been easy to deal with, relaxed, flexible in the approach with tutoring too. So far so good.


Kate (Ms)
03/02/2019

5/5 Rating

Gavin replies promptly to contact. My son values his teaching and feels that he is making progress with his Maths. It is really useful that Gavin can also help with physics and chemistry A level as well! I would recommend Gavin as a tutor.


Maria (Miss)
15/01/2019

5/5 Rating

Gavin is a great tutor, my son really enjoy his lessons, very recommended.


Georgia (Miss)
01/01/2019

5/5 Rating

Gavin is really helping me with chemistry at the moment. He is a box of knowledge with various different subjects!


Amethyst (Miss)
12/11/2018

5/5 Rating

Gavin was very helpful, because of him I was able to go into my exam with confidence.


Jacqueline (Mrs)
09/10/2018

5/5 Rating

Great tutor for A Level for my Son. He finds the lessons stimulating and informative.


Stella (Mrs)
08/09/2018

5/5 Rating

I am an adult studying A level law with Gavin.

Before I even enrolled with Gavin, I had a few questions which I sent him via this site. Gavin was quick to reply giving informative and helpful answers.
Gavin is personable and friendly and his knowledge of the law is very impressive. I am learning steadily and the hour goes by very quickly!
He is always on time and reliable and I would definitely recommend him.


Sofia (Mrs)
12/03/2018

5/5 Rating

Gavin is a personable tutor, he seems patient and communicates well with our son and us. It`s early days but so far so good!!


Hollie (Miss)
08/03/2018

5/5 Rating

Gavin was very helpful. He is friendly and has excellent legal knowledge. I would highly recommend his services.


Steve (Mr)
05/02/2018

5/5 Rating

Very professional and adaptable tutor, happy to recommend.


Caroline (Mrs)
28/12/2017

5/5 Rating

Gavin is an inspiring person and Tutor. He inspires confidence in his tutees.


Julie (Miss)
15/12/2017

5/5 Rating

We are very pleased with this Tutor. My daughter is learning well with him.


Peter (Mr)
15/10/2017

5/5 Rating

We have been using Gavin for one lesson a week for a month now, his tutoring is clear and engaging, my son has definitely benefited from these lessons.


Alistair (Mr)
06/10/2017

5/5 Rating

Very helpful and flexible in terms of how he provided help. Clearly knows his subjects very well and even more importantly, know how to explain them to someone else.


Sally (Ms)
10/01/2017

5/5 Rating

Gavin comes to us 1 x hour a week and tutors either my son (Yr8) or daughter (Yr11) - whoever needs his help most that week - in Maths, Physics, Chemistry or Biology - whatever is needed. He has been a great help to both children and is incredibly knowledge in all his subjects.


NINO (Ms)
07/12/2016

5/5 Rating

My 14 years old daughter is finding lessons very useful.

I can see a difference in her confidence and progress in Science and Law.

Gavin is really clear in all explanations and uses exam questions to help my daughter further.

Highly recommended.


Roberta (Dr)
21/11/2016

5/5 Rating

So far so good. Little early to say


Katy (Miss)
01/05/2016

5/5 Rating

Very knowledgeable and explains very well


Rowan (Mr)
17/12/2015

5/5 Rating

Gavin has really helped my daughter, not only in her knowledge of the syllabus but in building her confidence in the subject. He is reliable and friendly too, and I`d have no hesitation in recommending him.


Helen (Mrs)
29/08/2015

4/5 Rating

We have had 2 lessons so far and are happy to recommend Gavin.He is very communicative and explains points very well.


Rochelle (Mrs)
05/03/2015

5/5 Rating

Gavin is tutoring my 16 year old daughter through her igcse`s at home for five hours a week. This is the third week & I would say it`s going very well. He is patient, explains things well, he is clear & concise. This is definitely going to plan & my daughter is gaining confidence with the triple science & maths that he is teaching her.


Anna (Miss)
23/02/2015

5/5 Rating

The first lesson I had, I was learning without even realising it.


Katie (Miss)
16/02/2015

5/5 Rating

Gavin is a very good tutor. I would definitely recommend him.


Nearby Locations

BournemouthChristchurchRingwoodSouthbourneWest ParleyWintonBournemouth Biology TutorsBournemouth Chemistry TutorsBournemouth Geography TutorsBournemouth Law TutorsBournemouth Maths TutorsBournemouth Physics TutorsChristchurch Biology TutorsChristchurch Chemistry TutorsChristchurch Geography TutorsChristchurch Law TutorsChristchurch Maths TutorsChristchurch Physics TutorsSouthbourne Biology TutorsSouthbourne Chemistry TutorsSouthbourne Geography Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.344 seconds
twitter    facebook