Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsCooking Lessons

James (Tutor in London)

James
James
Tutor
London, London
Home Town: London
Member Since: 07/09/2015
Last Login: 3 years ago
Response Rate: 65%
Expected Response: < 23 hours
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

MA
The University of Edinburgh
Social Anthropology
2:1  (2009)
A Level
Rugby School
English
A  (2005)
A Level
Rugby School
History
A  (2005)
A Level
Rugby School
Geography
A  (2005)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
How references rated James
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 15.00 to 35.00 per hour
Information about James

I’m a 29 year old Londoner, currently pursuing a long-held dream and re-training as a fine furniture maker.
Initially I will spend two years retraining at a specialist school in Stratford, East London and am looking to tutor outside school hours to fund my studies. Once trained I hope to continue tutoring whilst i establish myself and hopefully a new furniture business.

I have been lucky enough to benefit from an excellent education first at Rugby School and then continuing at Edinburgh University. Both of these institutions have helped me become an academically versatile, well rounded and engaging person.

I do not yet have any experience as a private tutor, however, i do have good experience as working with children as a sports coach, birthday party coordinator and in more formal education. I always found great satisfaction and success building a rapport with students and seeing them learn and develop.

I am hard working, personable and punctual.

I also work part time with a company called Big Buddy, who provide a Mannying service to children, usually boys, lacking a male influence in their lives. This often involves co-ordinating and helping with homework and also includes down time playing games, cooking, hanging out and building genuine friendships.

Availability: My school hours are 9:00 to 4:30 - so realistically i can be available from about 5-5:30 (depending on location). I am also keen to work weekends and holidays, which are closely matched to most school holidays.

I am available to start immediately.

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: In addition to my work wit Big Buddy, as mentioned above, I have experience in more formal education surroundings. During my final 2 years at school I spent one day a week as a teaching assistant in a local primary school. The role was focussed around providing basic assistance in the classroom, with more targeted attention for those in need. i also ran the school library with a small group of volunteers from our classes.
At the same time, i spent another afternoon each week coaching sports at a prep school. I focussed on Rugby, Hockey and Cricket - principally providing support, I also would give more focussed, one on one coaching for particularly promising young cricketers.

More recently (in 2010) i worked full time sports coach at a kids sports club. I took sessions of up to 20 kids, coaching to ages between 4 and 13 in various sports.
At weekends, we would also coordinate kids parties, providing the entertainment for large groups.
I would also run free drop in sessions in some of Hammersmith & Fulham`s most deprived neighbourhoods, for kids of all ages.

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

CanonburyDalston JunctionDalston KingslandHaggerstonCanonbury Biology TutorsCanonbury Chemistry TutorsCanonbury English TutorsCanonbury Geography TutorsCanonbury History TutorsCanonbury Physics TutorsDalston Junction Biology TutorsDalston Junction Chemistry TutorsDalston Junction English TutorsDalston Junction Geography TutorsDalston Junction History TutorsDalston Junction Physics TutorsDalston Kingsland Biology TutorsDalston Kingsland Chemistry TutorsDalston Kingsland English Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.422 seconds
twitter    facebook