Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Lily

Lily
Lily
Tutor
London
Feedback Score:
+1
Member Since: 11/05/2016
Last Login: 13 months ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data

My Qualifications

MA
University of Oxford
English (1900-Present)
Distinction  (2017)
BA
University of Oxford
English Language and Literature
First Class  (2015)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Lily
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 75.00 to 81.25 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Eleven Plus£75-----
English--£75£75-£81.25
Entrance Exams£75£75--£81.25-

Information about Lily

I grew up in Shrewsbury, a small town in Shropshire, with my family and a menagerie of animals. I attended Shrewsbury High School, the local GDST school, from 2005 until 2012, gaining 9 A*s and 1 A at GCSE. At A-Level, I studied English (A*), Religious Studies (A*), and German (A*), whilst also getting involved in lots of extra-curricular activities: media and critical thinking clubs, singing in chamber choir, and taking Speech and Drama assessments, achieving Gold Medal with Distinction. 

I went on to read English Language and Literature at the University of Oxford (Keble College), and loved the expansive nature of the course, covering texts from Anglo Saxon poetry to the Romantics. I was awarded a scholarship in my second and third years, and graduated with a double First. After a year working for my family’s antiques business, I returned to Oxford to complete a Masters course in English (1900-Present Day) at Lincoln College. There I specialised in Life Writing, Shakespeare and Spenser, and the writings of Virginia Woolf. In the summer of 2017, I graduated with a Distinction, and have been tutoring since then.

I am friendly, reliable, and hard-working. I would like to convey my love of English to students who may be struggling at school or in need of support during the revision period, or to those who simply want to explore the subject in more depth.

I can also offer support for students writing personal statements and preparing for university entrance exams and interviews.

Availability: To be arranged on an individual basis.

Willing to travel: 3 miles

Experience: I have experience working with a range of London-based and international students, from 6-year-olds to Masters students. I am particularly experienced with older students, however, with three years of experience assisting with essay-writing, literature, close-reading, coursework and dissertation editing, and preparation for exams and interviews.

Almost all of my students have all gone on to win places at prestigious day- and boarding-schools around the UK, including St Paul`s Girls` School, Whitgift, Sevenoaks, and St Edward`s, Oxford. I have also helped students to apply to Oxbridge and Russell Group universities.

One key advantage of one-on-one and online tutoring is its specificity: if a student wants more help in a certain area, I can tailor my lessons to suit that requirement. I work really hard to help students to engage with the material they are studying, and to build a supportive and productive relationship with each tutee to make this possible.

My genuine enthusiasm for my expert subject is another key part of my approach: learning can and should be exciting. An important part of this is variety: I employ a range of strategies in lessons, from traditional text-based discussions and exercises, to interactive writing tasks, games, and creative challenges. Above all, I take a student-centred approach to tutoring, and aim to make each lesson a valuable and enjoyable experience.

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Lily (1)

We have a total of 1 review(s) for Lily.

V (Mrs)
17/10/2018

4/5 Rating

Lily is incredibly patient and charming. My son always looks forward to her teaching sessions. She has made a great impact in his ability and his enthusiasm for wanting to learn. We are currently having Lily prepare my son for his 11+ next year. So far so good.


Nearby Locations

FurzedownNorburyStreathamStreatham CommonStreatham HillStreatham ValeFurzedown English TutorsNorbury English TutorsStreatham English TutorsStreatham Common English TutorsStreatham Hill English TutorsStreatham Vale English Tutors