Tutor HuntSubjectsChemistry Tutors

Matthew

Matthew
Matthew
Tutor
Orpington, Kent
Feedback Score:
+7
Member Since: 08/02/2022
Last Login: 2 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 3 hours

My Qualifications

MA
Heythrop College (University of London)
Pastoral Theology
Merit  (2014)
BSc
University College London (University of London)
Biochemistry
2:1  (2008)
A Level
The Cardinal Vaughan Memorial RC School
Biology
A  (2002)
A Level
The Cardinal Vaughan Memorial RC School
Chemistry
B  (2002)
A Level
The Cardinal Vaughan Memorial RC School
English Literature
B  (2002)
A Level
The Cardinal Vaughan Memorial RC School
Music
A  (2002)
A Level
The Cardinal Vaughan Memorial RC School
Physics
B  (2002)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Matthew
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 42.00 to 54.00 per hour

Information about Matthew

Education is my passion; my friends and colleagues tell me that I have a gift for teaching. Up until recently I was the CEO of an educational charity that operates in the UK and has partnered with organisations globally. I teach students of all ages, including primary and secondary levels as well as adult learners. I can tutor English, Maths, Science and Religious Studies, specialising in study skills and exam technique. I also offer Eleven Plus (selection eligibility test) tuition.

I am slightly mad about Welsh rugby and, although I enjoy playing the violin, I refuse to teach it! I discipline myself to alternate between fiction and non-fiction whenever I finish reading a book, and I relax by going for a 5k run in a local nature reserve. I have been blessed to explore a lot of the world through my work, so I have an appreciation of many international cultures, but I also have a keen interest in British history.

Availability: My diary is almost full - please contact me to discuss my availability for tuition in your home or online.

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: I spent 3 years as a private tutor between 2005-2008 while I studied for my undergraduate degree.

I worked for an educational charity for over a dozen years, during which I taught in a variety of settings using different formats:

- I have designed and delivered small group educational materials
- I have coordinated educational workshops aimed for young adults and for youths
- I am a confident public speaker, having delivered TED-style talks to audiences large and small
- I have lectured nationally and internationally, including in Turkey, Bulgaria, Germany, Italy, Russia and South Korea
- I have delivered training programmes via Zoom for a number of years, especially during the pandemic
- I have designed and delivered online educational classes for children aged as young as 4 and up to young adults
- I have mentored a number of teens and young adults on a one-to-one basis

I home educate my 8 children, the oldest of whom is currently 17.

I offer non-judgemental patience coupled with clear guidance. My approach adapts according to the needs of the student, but fundamentally I endeavour to inspire a love for learning as well as training students with the ability to pass the test. When the student is a child, I regularly update the parent or guardian on the progress made over the sessions.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Matthew (7)

We have a total of 7 review(s) for Matthew.

Liz (Mrs)
18/01/2023

5/5 Rating

Matthew is a fantastic tutor and I fully recommend him, particularly if your child does not find studying particularly easy. He taught my son GCSE biology in home schooling and made it interesting, engaging and fun, so my son never felt like he was in a lesson although he was learning lots. He has a lovely calm manner and a real sense of humour which meant that he took all the stress and pressure out of learning. If we need a tutor again we would definitely use him.


Nikky (Miss)
12/11/2022

5/5 Rating

So far , he has been super fantastic . I appreciate the fact that he puts her at ease by coming down to her level , but at the same time tutoring her effectively .My daughter has become more confident in her ability to tackle given questions.She certainly looks forward to lessons andI I can honestly say that I choose the best tutor for her.

Tutors Response :

Thank you, Nikky, for your kind words. Your daughter is a delight to teach. I look forward to continuing lessons with her this term.


Albina (Ms)
07/09/2022

5/5 Rating

Matthew has given his heart and soul to the lessons. My son has ADHD and has difficulty concentrating so Matthew wrote a text specifically tailored for my son to read about Sonic and Knuckles whom he likes with accompanying pictures. He really engaged my son and has a very positive cheerful approach. Was absolute pleasure to have Matthew as our tutor, I highly recommend him.

Tutors Response :

Thank you for your kind feedback, Albina. I wish Patrick all the best!


Abdul (Mr)
01/07/2022

5/5 Rating

My daughter has greatly benefitted from your tutoring. She is extremely confident in mathematics now, and has ultimately decided to take it for A-Level, having once doubted it. She can articulate and successfully complete difficult problems now, making fewer mistakes.

Tutors Response :

Thank you, Abdul, for your kind words. Good luck with the A levels!


Caz (Mrs)
14/06/2022

5/5 Rating

Very patient gave great feedback on development for my son. We would book Matthew again for exam prep once our son’s older


Damian (Mr)
19/05/2022

5/5 Rating

Matthew has been excellent with my son, his knowledge and structured learning has improved his confidence in Biology and Chemistry in preparation for his A-levels this summer.


Cristian (Mr)
22/03/2022

5/5 Rating

My daughter enjoyed lessons with Mr.Mathew. She felt already much better in her chemistry.

Tutors Response :

Thanks, Christian. Your daughter has been a pleasure to work with, and I`m really happy with the progress she has made in just a few weeks.


Nearby Locations

Albany ParkCrockenhillSidcupSt Mary CrayCrockenhill Biology TutorsCrockenhill Chemistry TutorsCrockenhill English TutorsCrockenhill Maths TutorsCrockenhill Physics TutorsSidcup Chemistry TutorsSidcup Maths TutorsSidcup Physics TutorsSt Mary Cray Maths Tutors