Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors


Addlestone, Surrey
Feedback Score:
Member Since: 05/05/2016
Last Login: 1 day ago
Response Rate: 90%
Expected Response: < 3 hours

My Qualifications

Thames Valley University
Society of Editors & Proof Readers
Credit  (1994)
A Level
Also NUJ-backed Editorial course
C  (1976)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Andrew

Information about Andrew

Hi there,

Many thanks for visiting my profile.

(Firstly, a note about "The Virus" and "Lockdown", and about online tutoring.

Since the Lockdown began, most of my students (whom I visited at their homes) suspended lessons and were disinclined to continue "online", with the exception of one who has made the transition very smoothly. I was also teaching small groups in a weekend school, and this had to close down; I was introduced to "Zoom" and gave lessons online, but in no time the students numbers declined due to their parents losing their jobs and incomes, and this operation ceased for the time being.

I`m aware that although many of you have opted for online tutoring as home visits are not feasible or not permitted, the intention is for a tutor to visit your home before long. I am more than happy to help your child(ren) on an online basis with no long-term commitment, until you can find a local tutor who can visit your home. But I`ve discovered that online tutoring works quite well, actually: I`m helping a "mildly autistic" student with algebra, and the student who has transferred from "home visits", and has "special needs" is managing well. So don`t dismiss online tutoring completely - I`ve been pleasantly surprised myself (as a self-confessed "technophobe"!) how straightforward everything is.

Secondly, please note that I have experience of teaching small groups online. This means that if you spoke to your child`s friends` parents, or your neighbours, you might well find some interest in group sessions/lessons. This can reduce the cost per child considerably. If interested, please don`t hesitate to ask for details!)

I currently tutor students in their homes in a wide range of subjects. I also teach groups (SATs, 11-Plus preparation) in a weekend school.

I`m a friendly, supportive and patient person, considered by many to be "a natural teacher". My preference is to complement the student`s studies at school as opposed to following a separate agenda which they might find confusing. However, I`m quite receptive to parents` suggestions.

* Principal subjects offered are Primary English (up to GCSE) and Maths (up to KS2)
* SATs, 11-Plus and School Entrance Examination preparation
* Geography and History (up to KS3) also offered, plus Elementary Latin and Elementary French
* Literacy lessons offered at all levels, inc. adult
* No long-term bookings necessary - weekly, fortnightly and "ad hoc" lessons available
* Joint lessons for siblings/friends/small groups possible: please ask for details

Recently coached two students in English and Maths for their SATs examinations. One scored 120/120 in English and 116/120 in Maths; I`m not aware of the other student`s precise score, but both sets of parents contacted me afterwards to ask me to assist their children with their Secondary School preparation. My list of positive testimonials continues to expand, with additions expected imminently.

Despite not having "Special Needs" training, I have assisted students with cerebral palsy, dyslexia and autism, as well as those being "home-schooled", with a degree of success. In some cases I have been recruited after another tutor has left due to a lack of rapport between student and tutor.

I derive particular satisfaction from helping students who are nervous or struggling with certain subjects. As long as they want to improve, I`m confident that I can help them!

NB The attached photo actually dates back to the 80s, but it`s one of my favourites!

Availability: This will vary according to number of students being taught at any time. Please don`t hesitate to enquire about current availability.

Please note that I continue working during school holidays.

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: Currently teaching home-schooled students as part of Government`s National Tutoring Programme ("Catch-up" scheme). Generally have most of the afternoon/evening free, plus weekends.

I`ve been tutoring for over five years now, and have already acquired a number of positive testimonials from parents. I would have a few more, but a few parents who promised to write a testimonial failed to do so, citing lack of IT knowledge!

Since taking up tutoring, I`ve broadened my subject range, and have also taught an ever-widening number of nationalities. I now work for a small weekend school, teaching small groups, in addition to my own students during the week.

In the summer of 2020 I was approved to teach students online in schools in India and china, having just completedpleted a TEFL/TESOL course (teaching English to foreign students) with a Distinction.

Non-teaching experience/qualifications:

Former Member of Society of Editors and Institute of Statisticians.
Have worked as book editor with publishers Harper Collins, and had articles published worldwide in Encyclopaedia Britannica.

Have also worked as Statistician on Saudi Arabia`s trade figures and as Market Analyst in soft drinks & fruit juice markets.

I also correct schoolteachers` errors in my students` work(!) and highlight errors in books for academic publishers.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor


After School

Feedback For Andrew (14)

We have a total of 14 review(s) for Andrew.

Mani (Dr)

5/5 Rating

Andrew is attentive and extremely helpful. Our daughter has settled well with him.

Kate (Mrs)

5/5 Rating

Andrew is a highly qualified tutor who has an in depth knowledge of maths and the work required for school entrance exams.

Tutors Response :

Very many thanks for the feedback!

Best wishes to all at Christmas, and good luck to Ethan in Somerset next month!

Andrew Bramwell

Anastasia (Miss)

5/5 Rating

Andrew is always on time, and communicates well with my 9 year old son. He is helping him with Latin and French

Faisal (Mr)

5/5 Rating

I highly recommend Andrew. My children loves his way of teaching.

Shahbana (Mrs)

5/5 Rating

Good efficient reliable punctual.....
Teaching method is very relaxed....
Regular assessments undertaken by children to see their achievements
Would recommend richard for both history n geography

Xavier (Mr)

5/5 Rating

Good tutor. Andrew helped my son to progress.

Margaret (Mrs)

4/5 Rating

Very good, certainly broke the ice with one shy girl who seems to picking up well

James (Mr)

4/5 Rating

Andrew tutored both our children who found his style educational and enjoyable. I would have no hesitation in recommending Andrew!

Victoria (Ms)

5/5 Rating

Very nice tutor, extremely reliable and had lots of patience.

Ming (Miss)

5/5 Rating

Andrew is a very patient and competent teacher. Both of the children enjoyed his teaching. I recommend Andrew to anyone who wants to improve their English. Thank you Andrew!

Amanda (Ms)

5/5 Rating

Great tutor, very patient and helpful.


4/5 Rating

Andrew was very patient and explained everything slowly so my daughter could catch up

Larissa (Ms)

5/5 Rating

Andrew is tutoring English to my 10 year old daughter. He is friendly, reliable and has been a great help so far. Andrew is very calm and explains everything clearly. My daughter has really enjoyed the weekly one-hour sessions and always looks forward to the next visit.

Tracey (Mrs)

5/5 Rating

My son has been having Andrew to help with English. We are very pleased with the tutoring he has provided. He always works continually for the full hour and he is polite and respectful in our home. My son really likes him too and feels comfortable with him.

Nearby Locations

AddlestoneByfleetChertseyNew HawOckhamPyrfordWest ByfleetWeybridgeWokingWoodhamByfleet English TutorsByfleet Maths TutorsChertsey English TutorsChertsey Maths TutorsNew Haw English TutorsNew Haw Maths TutorsOckham English TutorsOckham French TutorsOckham Geography TutorsOckham History TutorsOckham Maths TutorsPyrford English TutorsPyrford French TutorsPyrford Geography TutorsPyrford History Tutors