Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Njeri

Njeri
Njeri
Tutor
___, none
Home Town: ___
Member Since: 01/04/2020
Last Login: 6 months ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data

My Qualifications

BSc
The University of Warwick
Mathematics
2019

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Njeri
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 25.00 to 35.00 per hour

Information about Njeri

Hi! I`m Njeri, a University of Warwick Maths graduate who loves helping students to understand and enjoy their subject material as well as improve their grades.

Helping people and being of service to others are values that are important to me. I view using my skills to make a positive difference to people`s lives as a meaningful way to live mine. I believe that getting an education is important as it gives people the means to learn about and understand the world around them as well as expanding their options for the future. I have tutored previously, helping family, friends and students from my school to achieve better results.

As well as tutoring, I enjoy volunteering. I have been a Summer Reading Challenge Volunteer encouraging kids to get into and enjoy reading; a Volunteer at my local library, working together with the staff to improve the library experience for the public; and a Volunteer Mathematics Teacher in South Africa with the Warwick in Africa charity, helping disadvantaged students from poor communities to be more confident, engage in their studies and improve their maths. All of these roles have given me the opportunity to meet people from all walks of life and understand how to cater to the varying needs of others.

From my previous roles, I have gained experience planning and delivering lessons, working with my students and tutees to identify and improve on their weaknesses, and adapting my style of delivery to the individual needs of my students. I take a patient, caring and encouraging approach with my students, which I believe helps them to feel comfortable, understood and engaged in the subject material. This approach has brought great results, including improving the average maths test scores of a class I taught by 22% in 3 weeks and helping a previously failing student regain her confidence and achieve an A in AS Maths. My goal is not only to enable my students to achieve higher results, but also to enjoy the process of getting there. Helping my students to improve their skills and seeing them grow both academically and personally has been very rewarding for me.

During the first lesson with me, I discuss with my tutee (and their parent(s) if requested) about where they are and how they are currently doing in their studies, to get a picture of their needs and how I can best help them. From there, I plan lessons accordingly to tackle the areas my tutee needs help with the most, so that we can lay a strong foundation in their subject from which we can build on.

I don`t yet have a DBS check from Tutor Hunt, but I do have a DBS certificate from my role as a library volunteer, from November 2016.

Availability: I am available to do online tuition only for now, although I will be able to do in-person tutoring once the Covid-19 crisis passes. I have a flexible schedule, so message me to arrange a time.

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: - BSc Mathematics with Honours, University of Warwick
- A-Levels: Maths (A*), Further Maths (A*), Physics (A*) Chemistry (A)
- 11A*s, 2As at GCSE
- 1 year previous experience tutoring
- Volunteer Mathematics Teacher for the Warwick in Africa charity

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Njeri
Njeri

Nearby Locations

AlrewasArmitageBarton-under-needwoodDoveridgeLichfieldTutburyUttoxeterDoveridge Biology TutorsDoveridge Chemistry TutorsDoveridge English TutorsDoveridge Maths TutorsDoveridge Physics TutorsAlrewas Biology TutorsAlrewas Chemistry TutorsAlrewas English TutorsAlrewas Maths TutorsAlrewas Physics TutorsArmitage Biology TutorsArmitage Chemistry TutorsArmitage English TutorsArmitage Maths TutorsArmitage Physics Tutors