Tutor HuntSubjectsHistory Tutors

Max

Max
Max
Tutor
St Albans, Hertfordshire
Feedback Score:
+6
Member Since: 17/04/2019
Last Login: 4 days ago
Response Rate: 25%
Expected Response: < 12 hours

My Qualifications

Masters
Royal Academy of Music
Musical Theatre
Distinction  (2020)
Degree
Oxford University
History BA (Hons)
2.1  (2018)
A Level
St Albans School
History
A*  (2015)
A Level
St Albans School
Geography
A*  (2015)
A Level
St Albans School
Philosophy
A  (2015)
A Level
St Albans School
Government and Politics
A  (2015)
IGCSE
St Albans School
Maths
A*  (2013)
IGCSE
St Albans School
English
A*  (2013)
GCSE
St Albans School
French
A*  (2013)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Max
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 25.00 to 37.50 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelAdult Learner
Acting£30----
Eleven Plus£32£32---
English£32£25£30--
Geography£25£25£30£30-
History£25£25£37.50£37.50£37.50
Maths£32----
Philosophy--£37.50£37.50-
Politics---£37.50-
Religious Studies-£25£30£37.50-
Sat£25£25---
Singing£30----

Information about Max

Hi, I`m Max and I`m a University of Oxford History BA graduate, and Royal Academy of Music MA graduate in Musical Theatre. I have a keen interest in humanity subjects, and as a recent student myself, love tutoring to people younger than me who are going through the same process I did only a few years ago. My aim is to raise grades and aspirations of my students, and impart my passion of the subjects I teach onto them. I am also able to tutor the Oxford History Admissions Test, give Oxbridge interview advice, and give guidance on interviews and personal statements for all universities. As well as academia, I am a keen mentor to those with a passion for singing and acting.

My interests are wide and ecclectic, and range from acting and singing with an emphasis on Musical Theatre, to watching and playing football (West Ham crazy). I have made a couple screen appearances since graduating from Drama School, been in a BBC radio play and a play at the White Bear Theatre in London. I try and sing every day as part of my professional acting career, but promise not to do it whilst tutoring! Sports-wise I also enjoy running, swimming, cycling, boxing, and skiing. I play 7-aside football every Wednesday evening, and used to compete at a sub-national level in slalom skiing. I also pursue other interests, such as an ongoing attempt to go on a cathedral tour of England and see every cathedral this country possesses.

Availability: My availability is very flexible and can usually cater to the needs of my students.

Willing to travel: 15 miles

Experience: I have tutored for over 2 years and have logged over 300 hours of sessions. I have helped multiple students secure entry at top grammar and private schools after taking the 11+, I have ensured GCSE grades have gone from 4s and 5s to 9s, and I have helped sixth formers consistently get A*s allowing them to attend their chosen universities. I have also worked with children in an educational capacity on numerous occasions.

In Summer 2018 I worked for Oxbridge Educational Summer School, which involved working with teenagers aged between 13 and 18, organising their afternoon activities and helping out with their studies.

In February 2019 in my capacity as an actor, I work-shopped musical, dramatic, and literary techniques at an English speaking International School in Madrid to children from school-years 4 to 8, alongside an immersive performance.

I have also worked for a ski company called Powder Byrne, where I ski guided and instructed adults, and also gave feedback on their children`s skiing.


DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Max (6)

We have a total of 6 review(s) for Max.

Yan (Dr)
02/05/2021

5/5 Rating

Max is a terrific teacher! His tutoring is very well structured and with clear objectives tailored for the student. Max is also very patient and fun, my son adores him! Highly recommend!


Joseph (Mr)
22/03/2021

5/5 Rating

Amazing tutor, would highly recommend to all students. He was dedicated to each lesson we had and always wanted me to strive to my greatest capabilities.


Petar (Dr)
03/03/2021

5/5 Rating

Max is a wonderful tutor. He started working with my nine-year-old daughter and managed to establish good relations with her. My daughter likes his lessons and finds the lesson educational and bit fun. She really enjoys working with Max and I think she`s getting more confident.


Toby (Mr)
29/11/2020

5/5 Rating

Max is great. He has a really nice, encouraging and positive style and our son really enjoys the sessions. He reflects on his student`s progress and keeps the session moving, spotting things that need development and keeps it challenging. Lower rating for the site because it cuts out half of the text from tutors` messages which was a bit annoying at the start.


Sudha (Ms)
14/10/2020

5/5 Rating

Excellent tutor


Lilian (Miss)
07/10/2020

5/5 Rating

We have only had a few sessions but my 8 year old daughter enjoys learning with Max. He has a way of making her tutorial sessions fun but also incredibly helpful.


Nearby Locations

HarpendenKimptonWheathampsteadHarpenden English TutorsHarpenden Geography TutorsHarpenden History TutorsHarpenden Maths TutorsHarpenden Politics TutorsHarpenden Singing TutorsKimpton English TutorsKimpton Geography TutorsKimpton History TutorsKimpton Maths TutorsKimpton Politics TutorsKimpton Singing TutorsWheathampstead English TutorsWheathampstead Maths Tutors