Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Jane

Jane
Jane
Tutor
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Feedback Score:
+4
Member Since: 03/01/2014
Last Login: 6 months ago
Response Rate: 50%
Expected Response: < 3 days

My Qualifications

PGCE
Oxford University
PGCE modern languages
Pass  (2004)
BA
Oxford University
Modern and Medieval Languages
Upper Second  (2003)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified

Rates summary: 31.25 to 37.50 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Eleven Plus£37.50-----
English£31.25£31.25£37.50---
French£31.25£31.25£37.50£37.50£37.50£37.50
Maths£31.25£31.25£37.50---

Information about Jane

Maths tuition GCSE weekday evenings via Zoom
11 plus tuition Sundays in person or via zoom

I tutor a range of subjects from my home just outside Cheltenham. This September though I will be prioritising secondary school maths students. I can offer online sessions or in person and for most students we can do a blend of the two.

I would like to offer maths sessions at 7:30pm Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursdays. These can be 30 or 60 minutes with the advantage of Online being that we can split 60 minutes into two 30 minute slots without the extra travel.

I am a fully qualified teacher with a solid academic background and sound subject knowledge. I hold an MA in Modern Languages and Linguistics and a Post Graduate Certificate in Education from Oxford University. I am self-employed as a private tutor and work from my home in Cheltenham, where I provide students with a comfortable learning environment where they are free to study at their own pace in a non-intimidating setting.

I am able to offer one-to-one tuition in a range of subjects but my primary focus is Eleven plus prep for Year Fives and GCSE maths for Years Ten and Eleven.

Availability: Weekdays and Sundays until 6pm
Weekday evenings 7:30pm-8:30pm

Summer holidays: various times on weekdays for one to one tuition

Spaces available in 11+ workshops and mock exams during the summer holidays

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: Teaching Experience:
I have more than ten years of experience as a private tutor, supporting students in a range of subjects and at a range of levels. My main experience is in preparing pupils for 11+ grammar school entrance and 11+ or 13+ common entrance and scholarship entrance exams for independent schools. I can provide support in all the required subjects, particularly English, Mathematics, Verbal and Non-Verbal reasoning, French, History, Geography and Religious Studies.

I tutor maths up to GCSE grade 6 ( equivalent of grade B) and have recently enjoyed much success in supporting students through their studies under the new syllabus. I have helped many college students through resits, offering a kind and understanding ear, boosting their confidence and getting their exam preparation back on track. I am experienced with meeting the complex needs of teenagers who often feel frustrated by the school system and feel overlooked in large classes. I am able to give them the one to one teaching that they need, allowing them to grasp mathematical concepts in their own style and ask as many questions and repeat explanations as they need.

I also teach foreign languages to adult learners, teaching French in the UK and having taught English as a foreign language when I lived in France. I am happy to help devise a tailor-made course depending on the needs of the individual be it for conversational/tourist language or more advanced or business usage.

I am also able to support sixth formers with university applications and interviews, particularly for arts subjects and Oxbridge.

PAST PUPIL ENTRANCE EXAM SUCCESSES: Westminster School, London (scholarship) James Allen`s Girls School, London (scholarship) Eton College Dulwich College City of London Boys School Royal Grammar School, Worcester King`s School, Worcester (scholarship) Dean Close School, Cheltenham Malvern College (scholarship) Alcester Grammar School Marling Grammar School, Pates Grammar School, Sir Thomas Rich`s Grammar School, Ribston Hall Grammar School, Gloucester High School for Girls

OXBRIDGE ENTRANCE SUCCESSES: Magdalen College, Oxford (Modern Languages) and University College, Oxford (Politics, Philosophy and Economics)

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Jane (4)

We have a total of 4 review(s) for Jane.

Bartosz (Mr)
21/10/2021

5/5 Rating

I can highly recommend Jane as a tutor.


Laura (Mrs)
27/06/2017

5/5 Rating

Jane was quick to respond to my request for an 11 + Tutor, efficient and friendly. My son has not started his tuition with her yet, he is meeting her in July, but I`m hoping she will be an inspiring tutor.


Laura (Mrs)
27/06/2017

5/5 Rating

Jane was quick to respond to my request for an 11 + Tutor, efficient and friendly. My son has not started his tuition with her yet, he is meeting her in July, but I`m hoping she will be an inspiring tutor.


Ruth (Mrs)
08/10/2016

5/5 Rating

Just amazing, so helpful has helped my daughter so much.


Nearby Locations

GloucesterHardwickeTewkesburyTwyningUpton Upon SevernGloucester English TutorsGloucester French TutorsGloucester Maths TutorsHardwicke English TutorsHardwicke French TutorsHardwicke Maths TutorsTewkesbury English TutorsTewkesbury French TutorsTewkesbury Maths TutorsTwyning English TutorsTwyning French TutorsTwyning Maths TutorsUpton Upon Severn English TutorsUpton Upon Severn Maths Tutors