Tutor HuntSubjects

Serena

Serena
Serena
Tutor
Kensington, London
Home Town: Kensington
Member Since: 04/12/2020
Last Login: 79 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 3 hours

My Qualifications

BA
University College London (University of London)
Psychology (Hons) with Mathematics and Marketing
1st Class  (2020)
International Baccalaureate
UNHS
High School Diploma
A* (GPA: 3.9/4.0)  (2018)
Other
ACS Hillingdon International School
ACT
30 (93rd percentile)  (2018)
A Level
ACS Hillingdon International School
Biology
A*  (2017)
A Level
ACS Hillingdon International School
Chemistry
A*  (2017)
A Level
ACS Hillingdon International School
English
A*  (2017)
A Level
ACS Hillingdon International School
Further Maths
A*  (2017)
Other
UNHS
UKCAT, Medical School Entrance Exam
2920 (90th percentile)  (2017)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Serena
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 45.00 to 75.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Eleven Plus£55£55----
English£50£50£60£65£75£75
Entrance Exams£55£55£65£70£75£75
General Studies£50£50£60£65--
Maths£50£50£60£65£75£75
Phonics£45£45----
Psychology--£60£65£75£75
Ucat---£75£75£75

Information about Serena

COVID-19 update: I am only conducting online tutoring sessions via Zoom. I use the online collaborative whiteboard, screen sharing and video amenities of Zoom.

I am a highly experienced online, academic tutor with numerous years of active experience privately tutoring children, teenagers and university students. Over the course of several years, I have privately tutored over 100 students one-to-one with each of them showing significant progress, as well as, thoroughly enjoying the lessons. I have also conducted many preparation classes at various private schools.

As a Psychology student at University in London, I have gained an understanding of children`s varying learning styles, and how to mould my teaching strategies to best suit each individual child`s strengths and style. I am also in the process of completing a Level 3 Award in Education and Training. Throughout my educational career I have obtained top A+ grades, and plan to attend medical school in the future. I am very academic-orientated, and hold education as a top priority.

With over five years experience, I have tutored countless students at primary, middle and high school level, and am also an official academic-writing and maths tutor for University students. I am extremely familiar with KS1-KS4 curriculum/syllabus. Whether you require assistance alongside homeschooling, "target tutoring" to strengthen your child`s weaker areas or someone to work through your child`s schoolwork with them, I can definitely help! I also assist with boosting children`s self-confidence, so their true abilities can shine through. I specialise in Maths, English, Reading and Writing tutoring, however, provided the appropriate materials and syllabus I can successfully tutor in any subject.

I offer 1:1 tutoring in:
• KS1-KS4 / Primary-Secondary School (including Reception)
• 4+/ 7+/ 11+/ 13+ Entrance Exam preparation
• GCSE (Mathematics, English and Science)
• A-Level (Mathematics, English, Psychology, Biology, Chemistry, Business)
• Homework assistance
• Phonics and reading intervention
• University level (Foundation, Undergraduate)

Willing to travel: 50 miles

Experience: I am currently online tutoring (via Zoom) over 30 students aged 3 to 16 years old. My tutees have shown significant improvement in their grades. One of my most recent tutees, went from achieving F grades to B+ grades within a matter of weeks. Although, online tutoring is deemed an `untraditional` method of tutoring, I personally think it renders much, if not more, academic improvement than face-to-face sessions! It also eliminates the hassle associated with travel time and costs, and allows your child to learn in the comfort and familiarity of their own home. All subjects can be taught via online tutoring, including handwriting and speech!

I aim to make my tutoring sessions as interactive, fun and enjoyable as possible, to ensure my tutees are engaged the entire time; this includes, the use of various colours when illustrating on my digital whiteboard, playing relevant educational games at the end of every session and incorporating creative aspects into the sessions (art projects, journaling, fictional writing, posters, etc). Journaling at the end of each lesson allows my students to reflect on what they`ve learnt and identify specific areas they need to improve on; this creates a sense of motivation to achieve their goals. Whether it is a virtual clap after each correct answer or a personalised certificate acknowledging their hard work, I ALWAYS take time to reward my students and appreciate their effort! These are methods I use to boost confidence and self-belief within my students.

In terms of lesson plan, I create individual, personalised schedules for each of my tutees. I do much preparation/planning prior to each session, which requires great time and effort. This ensures they are progressing in the "target areas" and are on track. Therefore, my lesson plans are all completely unique and geared towards each individual student; this allows for maximum success. You can provide me with schoolwork to work through with your child, or I can find/create year-appropriate curriculum (worksheets, activities). Either way, your child will further their learnings.

I also have extensive experience with Special Needs (SEN) children; these include, Autism, ADHD, dyslexia, dyspraxia and Fragile-X.

In terms of University-level tutoring, I currently am and have privately tutored over 20 university students in their respective courses, with each of them achieving at least a B+ in their final exams. As a top A-grade student, I provide the following services to university students: assignment reviewing/proofreading/editing, explaining complex concepts in-depth, academic writing workshops, referencing workshops and providing guidance and feedback. I also work through my students’ assignments/presentations step-by-step with them to ensure we produce the best possible product. I specialise in Psychology, Business, Marketing, Mathematics, Education and Childhood courses. However, I can assist in any courses’ assignments to improving academic-style.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Serena
Serena

Nearby Locations

Earls CourtGloucester RoadHigh Street KensingtonEarls Court English TutorsEarls Court Maths TutorsGloucester Road English TutorsGloucester Road Maths TutorsHigh Street Kensington English TutorsHigh Street Kensington Maths Tutors