Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Lucy (Tutor in Richmond)

Lucy
Lucy
Tutor
Richmond, Surrey
Home Town: Richmond
Member Since: 06/09/2010
Last Login: 9 years ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

2:1 BA Joint Honours English and French
A levels (French A, English A, History of Art B)
9 GCSEs - 3 A*s, 5 As, 1 B

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegree
English£10.00£10.00£10.00£10.00£10.00
French£10.00£10.00£10.00£10.00£10.00
Information about Lucy

I have just graduated from Nottingham University where I received a 2:1 in English and French as a joint honours degree. I lived in France for a year meaning that I am at a fluent level of French, and so would love to help with spoken as well as written French. I am passionate about literature and would love the opportunity to encourage younger students with both French and English literature, as well as helping with exam preparation or just day-to-day progress. I really enjoy working with children but would be happy to teach any age group, and I have experience with teaching 15-22 year olds, as well as tutoring the children I looked after in France, aged 8, 11 and 13.

Availability: Any time weekends or weekdays

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: On my year abroad (third year of university) I taught for seven months in a secondary school in France, teaching English as a foreign language. The students were aged from 15 to 22, and had a complete range of ability with English. I mostly taught small groups of around four or five students, but I also had a couple of larger classes, and the biggest was a group of 16. I was left to do my own preparation and was given complete responsibility over what I taught most of my classes, meaning that I gained a lot of experience of what material would suit different levels of capability, and also how to construct an engaging lesson that would encourage the students to participate and work harder at their English. I also voluntarily taught a smaller group of gifted students who needed extra tutoring for their entrance exams for university, as they wished to enter one of the Grandes Ecoles, which is the equivalent of Oxbridge in France. This was much more personal one-on-one teaching, preparing them for their oral examination by helping with presentations, as well as a more detailed fine-tuning of their English, for example working on their pronunciation. After my contract ended in April, I worked as an au pair in Paris for two months, looking after three boys aged 8, 11 and 13, and gave English tutoring to the two elder boys. I also helped the youngest with his French homework, such as reading practice.

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

GunnersburyKewKew BridgeKew GardensGunnersbury English TutorsGunnersbury French TutorsKew English TutorsKew French TutorsKew Bridge English TutorsKew Bridge French TutorsKew Gardens English TutorsKew Gardens French Tutors
© 2005-2020 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.141 seconds
twitter    facebook