Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Caroline (Tutor in London)

Caroline
Caroline
Tutor
London, London N4
Home Town: London
Member Since: 05/01/2009
Last Login: 42 days ago
Response Rate: 85%
Expected Response: < 41 minutes

Qualifications

MA
Kings College London
English Literature
Distinction  (1996)
BA
University College London (Universi...
English Literature
2:1  (1992)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-Level
English---£40.00
Maths--£40.00-
Information about Caroline

I discovered tutoring some twenty years ago whilst working towards my PhD. I realised then that the one to one experience suited me, this because I am a good listener and respond very quickly to the needs of my pupils. It delights me when my pupils do well, almost more than my own academic successes and over the time my pupils have indeed made me proud. Of course it is exciting to have pupils who excel, winning scholarships and going off to Oxbridge, which many of my pupils have done, but I can honestly say that some of my pupils more modest successes have touched me more, simply because for dyslexic pupils for instance, the journey is difficult and the courage and fortitude needed just to pass the GCSE is remarkable.

Unusually I am able to teach both Maths and English to A`level but am happy to teach all ages at any level. Because of my experience of teaching younger children for the common entrance, I have some pupils who have been with me throughout their education, from eight to eighteen! Currently I have three students who are studying Maths A`level with me. All three have been with me for a number of years.

I am familiar with the new GCSE system, and have worked through with my pupils the particular challenges these exams set. But I think one of the keys to my success is in encouraging my pupils to love the subjects they are studying. I want the lessons to be fun, and I want them to catch the bug off me of a love of literature and mathematics.

Availability: evenings and weekends

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: I have been tutoring since 1997. I started home tutoring an eleven year old who was home tutored. I taught her up to her fifteenth year when she went abroad. She took and passed five GCSEs and completed her Maths AS level, gaining a B. From there I continued to tutor on average ten pupils a year for common entrance and GCSEs, both supporting pupils in the private and state sector.

Currently I have three A`level Maths students, three GCSE English students, seven Maths GCSE students, and one primary school student preparing for 11 plus.

I am happy teaching all ages and levels.

More Photos (1)

 This user has a total of 1 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .

Feedback For Caroline (0)
We have a total of review(s) for Caroline.

Haluk (Mr)
13/06/2018

3/5 Rating

Good teacher but not very punctual


Nearby Locations

Crouch HillCrouch Hill English TutorsCrouch Hill Maths Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.188 seconds
twitter    facebook