Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Jo (Tutor in London)

Jo
Jo
Tutor
London, London
Home Town: London
Member Since: 13/06/2012
Last Login: 7 years ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

• TEFL certificate

• BA Hons, History, 1st class honours. Sussex University,

• A Levels: English A, Psychology A (Result in the top 5 marks in the UK), History A

•GCSEs: Art A , History A , Spanish A , English lit A, English lang A, French A, Science B, Science B, Maths B.

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-Level
Efl£15.00£15.00£15.00-
English£15.00£15.00£15.00-
History£15.00£15.00£15.00£15.00
Special Needs£15.00£15.00--
Information about Jo

• Primary tutor (all subjects)
• TEFL tutor
• History and English Literature tutor up to A level

I hold a first class degree in History and am currently working as a teaching assistant. I am confident in my ability to provide exceptional support at primary level in all subjects. I have experience working 1:1 with students of every ability, and leading reading and maths interventions. I am starting a primary PGCE in September. I am more than happy to combine tutoring with child care/ sole charge responsibilities and have child minding experience. I also have extensive experience with SEN, having worked as a primary/ secondary SEN teaching assistant, and also as key worker with an outreach service.

I am also an experienced and confident TEFL teacher, having spent 1 year teaching English abroad to students aged 17-21, and tutoring students aged 8-16.

I have a strong academic background, having achieved a first class degree, and As at A level in English literature, History and Psychology. I feel confident tutoring in any of these subjects up to A level (or indeed all subjects at Primary level). I will always do my own homework to ensure I have the specific subject knowledge that the student requires in order for me to be able to advance their learning. I am flexible and happy to work with the student to develop a successful programme in order to achieve specific goals/ learning objectives.

Please don`t hesitate to get in touch if you are looking for someone with not only exceptional academic background and tutoring experience, but who is also a great motivator and role model. Having studied the psychology of learning in depth, I strongly believe that improving students` self esteem is the key to success, and I always keep this philosophy at the heart of my tutoring practice.

Availability: I am happy to tutor at home or elsewhere. I am available after school on weekdays (I am working as a teaching assistant in East London), and am flexible at weekends. I am available full time during the Summer holidays.

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: • TEFL – 8 months teaching 17-21 year olds English as a foreign language abroad.
• 8 months one-on-one tutoring 8-16 year olds in English as a foreign language abroad.
• I have worked as a Primary teaching assistant, and have led reading and maths interventions.
• I am currently working as an SEN teaching assistant, and have 1 year’s experience as a key worker with SEN. Experience with autism, EBD, ADHD, aspergers, downs syndrome, dyslexia. Familiar with Makaton, positive handling techniques.
• 3 years part time child minding for twin boys aged 3 months at start of employment.

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

Dalston JunctionHaggerstonHoxtonDalston Junction English TutorsDalston Junction History TutorsHaggerston English TutorsHaggerston History TutorsHoxton English TutorsHoxton History Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.266 seconds
twitter    facebook