Tutor HuntSubjectsGeography Tutors

Michael

Michael
Michael
Tutor
Somerset
Feedback Score:
+8
Member Since: 17/11/2011
Last Login: 2 days ago
Response Rate: 85%
Expected Response: < 5 hours

My Qualifications

Masters
University of the West of England, Bristol
Urban Planning
Merit  (2018)
BA
Royal Holloway, University of London
European Studies (Spanish)
2:1  (2014)
A Level
Queen Elizabeth`s Hospital
Geography
A  (2010)
A Level
Queen Elizabeth`s Hospital
Spanish
A  (2010)
A Level
Queen Elizabeth`s Hospital
French
B  (2010)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Michael
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 46.00 to 54.00 per hour
KS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Geography£46£46£46--
Spanish£46£46£46£54£46

Information about Michael

Geography, Spanish and Business tutor with 11 years of tutoring experience. To complement these subjects I have lived in Madrid where I became fluent in Spanish. I am a member of the Royal Geographical Society in London as well as a prospective member of The Tutors Association. Alongside this, I am engaged in entrepreneurship and online business, offering a modern view to Business Studies.

I have a BA (Hons) degree in European Studies from Royal Holloway, University of London, encompassing the subjects of European International Relations, Geography, Spanish and Business Management. I have most recently completed an MSc in Urban Planning at the University of the West of England.

I greatly enjoy tutoring and mentoring students at all levels from KS3 right up to undergraduate level and beyond.

I am also willing to help and advise on UCAS and university matters, as well as pathways that do not involve further formal education.

Willing to travel: 15 miles

Experience: I have tutored for eleven years in Geography, Spanish and Business. My experience is primarily with students from KS3 and upwards.

I also taught English as a foreign language in Spain and have been able to offer these expertise to foreigners living in the UK.

As well as personally tutoring, I have also been involved in public speaking and engaging students in subjects, especially Geography through my work at the Royal Geographical Society.

As an easy-going person, I like to build strong relationships with students, offering as much help and advice as possible, while also encouraging students to think for themselves.

I plan each lesson with a clear goal in mind, but keep lessons flexible and often alter my future lesson plans on how previous lessons have been.

Above all, I like to make learning fun, and empower the individual student to achieve what they want/need.

N.B. The rates I`ve displayed are averages and will vary depending on distance travelled. Please get in touch for more details, I look forward to hearing from you.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

More Photos (2)

  This user has a total of 2 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .

Feedback For Michael (8)

We have a total of 8 review(s) for Michael.

Joanna (Ms)
12/03/2022

5/5 Rating

Great tutor


Jana (Ms)
02/06/2021

5/5 Rating

Michael helped my daughter with her GCSE Spanish. At the beginning of the year she was convinced she would fail Spanish, but with Michael’s help, she received an A and B for her mock results. We are very happy and would highly recommend Michael.


Laura (Mrs)
26/03/2021

5/5 Rating

Excellent tutor, my daughter has improved a lot and is far more confident in her ability.


Sarah (Mrs)
06/07/2020

5/5 Rating

Mike has only recently started tutoring our 14 year old son and I have to say he has already helped massively in the confidence stakes. Our son is a typical teenage boy who would prefer to be on a sports pitch of any sort than at a desk but Mike has managed to engage with him very quickly and build a rapport. Our son has even said that he really enjoys his lessons with Mike and that he is really helping him. Naturally, given current circumstances, the tutoring is all virtual but is working very effectively. Great lesson planning in place to ensure that the works complements his school work but also pushes him appropriately. At this stage nothing but positive feedback for Mike.


Sara (Mrs)
27/12/2019

5/5 Rating

Well planned lessons for my 13 year old son. Communication with myself is very good. Developing a lovely bond together after 3 lessons. Would highly recommend.


Rachel (Mrs)
13/11/2019

5/5 Rating

Mike has made a massive difference to my son and his Spanish ability. My son is year 8 and was really not enjoying Spanish at school - until Mike started tutoring him. He now loves Spanish, understands it, and loves his tutorials with Mike. Mike is flexible and works on whatever my son is covering at school, or finding tricky. He goes back and checks his knowledge from previous lessons as well. I would recommend Mike as a Spanish tutor.


Rachel (Mrs)
08/04/2019

5/5 Rating

Lesson number 1 complete and Mike really seems to have grasped the brief and is getting on well.


Patrick (Mr)
08/11/2018

5/5 Rating

Mike has been a great tutor for my son who is studying A level geography. He has clarified issues and supported him as he progresses through different topics and provided a real focus for his studies giving him confidence too.


Nearby Locations

AshtonAxbridgeBanwellCheddarClevedonCongresburyMarkNailseaPortisheadShiphamWeston Super MareWeston-super-mareWinscombeWorleWringtonYattonNailsea Geography TutorsNailsea Spanish TutorsPortishead Spanish TutorsAxbridge Spanish TutorsBanwell Spanish TutorsCheddar Spanish TutorsClevedon Spanish TutorsShipham Spanish Tutors