Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Alison

Alison
Alison
Tutor
Northwich, Cheshire
Feedback Score:
+4
Member Since: 03/01/2018
Last Login: 4 days ago
Response Rate: 95%
Expected Response: < 2 hours

My Qualifications

PGCE
Edge Hill University
PGCE Primary
Pass  (1999)
BA
The University of Manchester
BA Joint honours Performing arts, business, IT
2 i  (1998)
GCSE
Tameside college of technology
English language
A  (1995)
GCSE
Tameside college
Maths
C  (1995)
GCSE
Tameside
English literature
A  (1995)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Alison
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 25.00 to 30.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-Level
English£30---
Maths£30---
Piano£25---

Information about Alison

I live in Northwich and have two grown up sons. One is an electrician and one is a professor. I relocated from North Manchester and now live in Anderton, Northwich, Cheshire. I have been a specialist reading, writing and maths teacher and have taught for 20 years. I part of thema National Tutor Programme.

I enjoy walking my dog, playing the piano, reading and socialising. (when out of restrictions :-( )

Availability: I`m free most days in the half term holidays, some evenings and mornings at the weekend.

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: I have been recruited to be part of the new National Tutor Programme which has been set up in response the catch up scheme due to covid.

I have been teaching in KS1 and KS2 for 20 years. I boosted children for both key stage of SATS and also for grammar school. For the past 6 years I have been an early reading, writing and maths specialist. I trained as a Reading Recovery teacher for 7 years and a Numbers Count teacher for 6 years. I have led interventions and phonics.

I have been playing the piano off and on since a child. I have experienced some good and bad piano tutors, which has made me realise that it is so important to get a good teacher. I can provide a good foundation before grade level.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Alison (4)

We have a total of 4 review(s) for Alison.

Harsh (Mr)
27/07/2021

5/5 Rating

A super tutor, extremely observant and puts in a lot of effort. She ensures that her teaching methods are aligned to my child`s understanding level. My child`s reading and oracy skills have improved significantly after a few sessions with Alison. Also Alison provides a detailed feedback after each session which helps parents understand what areas a child needed help with. For anyone looking for an English Tutor I would highly recommend Alison mam.


Sujoy (Mr)
18/04/2021

5/5 Rating

I think Alison is an amazing teacher, she makes our lesson fun and helps me whenever I`m in need. When starting a lesson, we always start and finish with a game. No matter what we play she makes it enjoyable and really easy to learn.


Kirsty (Miss)
15/04/2021

5/5 Rating

Alison tutors my 9 year old daughters who have been struggling with Maths for some time and not grasping some basic concepts which were holding them back. They were not on course to reach their are related expectations but more importantly they seemed to lack confidence at home and at school and would give up easily if something appeared to be too hard. Maths had become something of a battle for us as a family which caused a lot of stress. In only a few weeks they have become more confident with their own ability and now approach their lessons at school and homework with a much more positive frame of mind. The school have also fed back that they have seen a big improvement in their ability. Alison is always prepared and organised and delivers online fun and engaging sessions. It can be tricky at times doing it remotely but Alison adapts to the situation really well and always seems to have a back up plan should something not work out as planned. She recognised early on the needs of the girls using her assessment skills and delivered the sessions according to their individual needs. Alison provides excellent feedback to parents following the sessions, both verbally and with pictures of the work the children have done. I believe she has built good rapport with my daughters and they speak very positively of her and look forward to their lessons twice a week. I couldn`t recommend Alison highly enough. Thank you Kirsty


Sharne (Mrs)
20/02/2021

5/5 Rating

Alison stepped in to cover the Feb half-term with our 6yo and 8yo and they have loved their online sessions (English and Math). A fabulous support over lockdown, would certainly recommend.


Nearby Locations

BarntonCuddingtonHartfordMiddlewichNorthwichRudheathTarporleyWeaverhamWhitegateBarnton English TutorsBarnton Maths TutorsCuddington English TutorsCuddington Maths TutorsHartford English TutorsHartford Maths TutorsMiddlewich English TutorsMiddlewich Maths TutorsNorthwich English TutorsNorthwich Maths TutorsRudheath English TutorsRudheath Maths TutorsTarporley English TutorsTarporley Maths TutorsWeaverham English Tutors