Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Laura

Laura
Laura
Tutor
London
Feedback Score:
+9
Member Since: 18/12/2017
Last Login: 1 hour ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 4 hours

My Qualifications

BEd
Mount Saint Vincent University
Bachelor of Primary Education
A  (2015)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Laura
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Laura

** 01/07/2022 PLEASE NOTE THAT I AM SOLELY ONLINE ONLY AND NOT MAKING HOME VISITS AT THIS TIME, but am happy to offer a trial online session to see if you think it will work for you.

Hi :)

My name is Laura and I`m a 39 year old primary school teacher, originally from Canada. I`ve lived and taught in London now for the past 7 years and I love it!

I`m very personable and friendly, I love kids and have a knack for making learning fun and engaging (even for the most reluctant learner).

I set a high standard of success for my students but always try to maintain a calming fun environment that does not feel stressful, or feel like another session of school after an already long day of learning.

Availability: I have limited availability currently. But please ask and hopefully we can work something out :)


Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: I have 6 years of university, and two degrees - including a Bachelor of Education.

As previously mentioned, I am a working teacher in the UK system with extensive knowledge of the curriculum and the current methods of learning in both Maths and English. As a tutor, this is invaluable, due to the ever changing and evolving curriculum. It means that I will always be aware of what methods your child should be learning for each subject, and at each stage of learning. My aim is always to ensure that every child can understand what they have learned in the sessions and apply it to their work in the classroom as seamlessly and effectively as possible. Building up their confidence, creating a positive relationship with learning and allowing them to make the gains necessary for success.

I have extensive knowledge on many SE private schools in both curriculum expectation levels as well as entrance exam levels and requirements.

As a previous year 6 teacher, I know what is required to not only prep for SATS in both maths (including reasoning) and English (Spelling and Grammar), but also what is required for the children leaving year 6 and heading to secondary school (be it private, Grammar or otherwise).


Please contact me if your child:

- Attends Private or Prep school and is expected to maintain a high level of understanding and execution.
- Is preparing for entrance into private or prep school and/or in-school examinations
- 7+, 8+, 11+
- Will be taking YEAR 2 SATS or YEAR 6 SATS
- Would benefit from one to one academic support to get them to the expected level of their year group.
- Excels academically and would benefit from being challenged and gaining a deeper understanding of concepts.
- Is a reluctant learner and requires an alternative method of teaching that works for their needs.

No matter the academic needs of your child, I`m confident we can get there together!

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

More Photos (1)

  This user has a total of 1 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .

Feedback For Laura (9)

We have a total of 9 review(s) for Laura.

Charlene (Miss)
03/04/2022

5/5 Rating

Great tutor, my daughter ms confidence over the last few weeks has grown massively. Laura is able to explain the work easily and she keeps it fun and engaging


Daisy (Mrs)
20/01/2022

4/5 Rating

We have been really pleased with the help Laura has given our 9 year old son who lacks confidence in maths. Laura carefully assessed his capabilities and approached the task of developing his skills in a methodical way, helping him move forward whilst simultaneously establishing a good rapport with him and creating a relaxed atmosphere. We have been pleased with the progress he has made working with Laura.


Chiara (Mrs)
13/12/2021

5/5 Rating

Laura is a brilliant Maths tutor, able to engage her students making Maths an interesting subject to study. My daughter improved substantially and in a relative short time. All my gratitude


Laura (Ms)
16/11/2021

5/5 Rating

Very experienced and kind tutor who makes lessons fun but challenging.


Amanda (Mrs)
06/11/2021

5/5 Rating

My daughter loves working with Laura, who always makes sessions engaging and fun. Her confidence and knowledge have been boosted over her sessions, and the results are showing in her schoolwork. Laura is also great at communication with parents.

Tutors Response :

Thank you for your kind words Amanda. Amelie is a joy to work with :)


Nancy (Mrs)
05/03/2021

5/5 Rating

Laura has built up a fantastic rapport with our son, which is impressive given lessons are currently over zoom. Our son was reluctant at first and struggles with confidence in school work but Laura has been so encouraging and he looks forward to their lessons, she is the perfect balance of firmness, encouragement and kindness which my son responds to very well. His school teacher remarked in his recent school report that his maths has improved hugely and I thank Laura for this, l highly recommend Laura and look forward to continuing to work with her.


Shahid (Mr)
21/07/2020

5/5 Rating

Laura has been tutoring our son for almost a year. She is just exceptional - very organised; very structured in her approach; has extremely efficient way of tutoring keeping it also very human with a little fun at the end of each session. She is also very good at communicating with us parents and where things are and where we can help and is very resourceful in recommending practice books, websites, activities, books etc


Alice (Mrs)
11/01/2020

5/5 Rating

Laura is fantastic. She uses a lot of different tools to get my little one to sit down and concentrate. Since we started lessons, my little one’s math has improved a lot.


Laurie (Miss)
14/10/2019

5/5 Rating

Laura is tutoring both my children 6yrs and 8yrs. They both are loving their lessons with Laura, she is fun and makes learning interesting for them. I would highly recommend.


Nearby Locations

BlackheathGreenwichHither GreenLeeMaze HillBlackheath English TutorsBlackheath Maths TutorsGreenwich English TutorsGreenwich Maths TutorsHither Green English TutorsHither Green Maths TutorsLee English TutorsLee Maths Tutors