Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Kerry

Kerry
Kerry
Tutor
Nottinghamshire
Home Town:
Member Since: 27/06/2018
Last Login: 80 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 21 minutes

My Qualifications

BSc
The Open University
BSc (Hons) Computing and IT
Currently Studying  (2018)
MA
The University of Essex
MA Computational Linguistics
Distinction  (2004)
BA
University of East Anglia (UEA)
BA (Hons) Modern Languages
2:1  (2000)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Kerry
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Kerry

Maths and other logical subjects such as languages and IT have always fascinated me and my enthusiasm for the subjects is what led me to start teaching them.

I have been a tutor for about 20 years and first started tutoring when I spent a year in Germany as part of my BA languages degree. I taught English in a grammar school and the pupils ranged in age from 10 to 18.

After completing my degree, I did some more private tutoring and also taught English and IT skills as part of the voluntary work I did with a group of refugees.

Since 2008 I have been a part-time private tutor in Nottingham.

My approach to tutoring is relaxed and informal as in my experience this makes lessons more enjoyable and facilitates learning. I also incorporate materials relating to subjects that my students are interested in and I vary my teaching methods to suit each student. I am very patient and will explain a subject in as many ways as necessary until the student understands.

In lessons I generally start off using exercises from workbooks that cover a wide range of topics. I then determine the subject areas the student had the most difficulty with in the exercises and do some work focused on those. During future lessons I`ll revisit these topics to check how much information the student has retained and will go over it again if necessary.

I`m happy to travel up to 5 miles to a student`s house but will need to charge a bit more for journeys of over 3 miles to account for the extra travelling time and petrol required.

I also tutor online but I haven`t signed up for Tutorhunt`s online service as that would mean having to add £10 to my hourly rate in order to cover Tutorhunt`s 25% commission. There is no commission if in-person lessons are booked. Instead, there is a one-off finder`s fee.

Availability: I`m available during the daytime and in the evenings. Please contact me for up-to-date availability.

Willing to travel: 3 miles

Experience: 20+ years working as a tutor.
Experience of working with both children and adults.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Kerry
Kerry

Nearby Locations

CotgraveMapperleySt Ann'sThorneywoodWoodthorpeCotgrave German TutorsCotgrave Maths TutorsMapperley Maths TutorsSt Ann's Maths TutorsThorneywood Maths TutorsWoodthorpe Maths Tutors