Tutor HuntSubjectsHistory Tutors

Florence

Florence
Florence
Tutor
London, London
Feedback Score:
+5
Member Since: 20/02/2020
Last Login: 86 days ago
Response Rate: 85%
Expected Response: < 17 hours

My Qualifications

PhD
Queen Mary, University of London
History
NR  (2019)
MPhil
University of Cambridge
Modern European History
First  (2014)
MA
Sciences Po
History
First  (2013)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Florence
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 48.00 to 72.00 per hour
GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
French£48£60-£66
History£48£60£72-

Information about Florence

I love teaching and seeing my students become more confident and comfortable with their knowledge and abilities.

I have taught the following examboards:
- GCSE French: AQA, Edexcel, WJEC
- A-Level French: AQA, Edexcel, CIE
And I have helped adult students prepare for the DELF and TCF exams.

Willing to travel: 15 miles

Experience: ° What is my tutoring experience?

I have been tutoring on and off since 2013. I was lucky enough to work with a diverse range of students, age- and character-wise. I am as comfortable tutoring young children to improve their self-confidence or their focus as I am helping teenagers find the best way to organise their ideas on paper or present them in public. I am now also teaching adult learners, adapting my lessons to their short- and long-term goals, be they official exams, general fluency, or better writing.

° What is my teaching style?

I strongly believe the student should be at the centre of the tutor’s attention and planning every step of the way. Every tutee is different, and I will always spend the first hour discussing what their expectations are, what has worked best for them until then, and what they are struggling with. If their attention span is short, I will make sure to both work with it by adapting my lessons and work to improve it over time. If exam anxiety prevents them from achieving the results they could, I will include regular mock exams.
I want my tutees to feel at ease and stress-free during our lessons, and making our time together safe and comfortable is crucial to me.

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

More Photos (1)

  This user has a total of 1 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .

Feedback For Florence (5)

We have a total of 7 review(s) for Florence.

Karleen (Mrs)
17/01/2022

1/5 Rating

Florence appeared to be a very organised tutor for the few months we utilised her service. In January she altered from not being available to tutor my child on the date agreed to a few days later indicating she could not tutor her at all . This is a child a week from GCSE mock exams. So on the basis of this I would not recommend anyone to Florence .


Jane (Mrs)
03/07/2021

5/5 Rating

Really quick helpful resource


Michal (Mrs)
11/03/2021

5/5 Rating

Very good


Phoebe (Dr)
07/03/2021

5/5 Rating

Florence`s tutoring is very helpful, always friendly, adapted to the needs, calm and informative. I would definitely recommend Florence.


33 Hatherop (Mrs)
09/01/2021

5/5 Rating

Florence is a very thoughtful, approachable and incredibly knowledgeable tutor. Not only does she have very impressive academic credentials and breadth of knowledge, she is also able to relate to the struggles my daughter is facing with the subject. She has responded with some really helpful and practical advice about approaches to revision that I think may be helpful with other subjects. We’re really grateful we have found her.


Sofia (Mrs)
11/12/2020

5/5 Rating

Excellent French tutor. Very kind and patient with my son. Incredibly flexible and highly valued. I can not recommend her highly enough.


Maria Dolores (Mr)
03/09/2020

5/5 Rating

Sebastian, who is 11 years old, enjoys the lessons with Florence and is learning French very well. Florence works on his pronunciation, grammar, vocabulary, speach and writing and is good at reviewing things with him until he learns them well enough to use them. Florence is the kind of teacher that stimulates students. It is clear that in addition to being friendly she is using her high education to teach. We highly recommend her.


Nearby Locations

Alexandra PalaceHaringeyHarringayHertsmereHornseyManor HouseWood GreenHaringey History TutorsHarringay French TutorsHarringay History TutorsHertsmere History TutorsHornsey French TutorsHornsey History TutorsManor House History Tutors