Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsSpanish Tutors

Martha (Tutor in Yorkshire)

Martha
Martha
Tutor
Yorkshire
Feedback Score:
+3
Member Since: 07/03/2016
Last Login: 9 months ago
Response Rate: 5%
Expected Response: < 2 days
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

BA
Newcastle University
Spanish, Portuguese and Latin Ameri...
First Class  (2015)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
How references rated Martha
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Italian£15.00£15.00£15.00---
Portuguese£15.00£15.00£15.00£15.00£15.00£15.00
Spanish£15.00£15.00£15.00£15.00£15.00£15.00
Information about Martha

With a First-Class degree in Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies from Newcastle University, I hold years of experience teaching foreign languages both as a MFL teacher and as a home tutor to students ranging from toddlers to adults.

Having lived and taught in Spain, Italy, Costa Rica and Brazil, my fluency in these languages is not only based on theoretical frameworks but is also informed by an understanding of how they come to life in everyday, colloquial contexts.

I have also worked with a governmental organisation to promote language learning across the UK, possessing a real passion for my subject and a strong belief in fun, interactive teaching which encourages this same enthusiasm in my students.

I am available to tutor students of any age and level in Spanish/Italian/Portuguese.

First lesson only £10!
*If I am traveling to meet the student prices will increase to cover transport costs.
*Discounts apply for classes with more than one student.

Teaching style:

I adapt my teaching style depending on the student`s specific needs and the way in which they learn best. However, I always aim to make classes fun, incorporating more formal methods such as textbooks, grammar and worksheets with more interactive activities such as games, music and references to popular culture that enable students to place languages in the context of their own lives, ultimately ensuring that in enjoying the lessons students unconsciously learn more in the process.

I have previously taught lessons focusing on particular skills that students have wanted to perfect, such as oral practice, essay writing or languages in the context of the workplace. Depending on what you would like to learn I can tailor the class in this way to suit your individual needs.

Availability: Very flexible regarding availability, including day/evenings as well as weekends.

Willing to travel: 15 miles

Experience: 2017 - present: Teach private students aged 6-60(!) years Spanish and Portuguese.

2016-2017: Taught English to both children and adults with New Learning Academy in San José, Costa Rica.

2011 - 2016: Visited primary/secondary schools as an ambassador for Routes into Languages North East, teaching sessions on Spanish, Portuguese and Quechua.

Sept - Dec 2015: Taught English as a foreign language to students aged 8-16 years at a number of schools in Lombardia, Italy. Also provided classes for adults and children as a private tutor.

Aug 2013 - Feb 2014: Private English tutor for 8 families in Murcia, Spain. Focused on making the lessons not only informative but fun, including crafts and games as well as more structured activities such as worksheets and grammar.

Feb - July 2014: Volunteered at two NGOs teaching English to children in a favela (slum) in Rio de Janeiro. Also taught private English classes for 10 adults across the city ranging from beginner to advanced level.

June - Aug 2013: Au pair for a family in Valladolid, Spain with an emphasis on teaching their two children English in a stimulating home environment.

Sept 2012 - May 2013: Volunteered independently teaching after-school classes in art to Y9-Y11 students at a local school in Newcastle.

Contact this Tutor
More Photos (5)

 This user has a total of 5 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .

Feedback For Martha (3)
We have a total of 3 review(s) for Martha.

Maisie (Miss)
09/02/2018

5/5 Rating

Martha is very friendly, approachable and punctual. She helped me understand things I had been having trouble with for years and I ended up getting a higher grade than I was even aiming for.


Barry (Mr)
27/11/2017

5/5 Rating

Highly recommended. Martha immediately put me at ease and she makes learning the language both interesting and very enjoyable.


Andrew (Mr)
24/05/2016

5/5 Rating

Martha provides just what we need. She comes to the house. She is flexible with regard to time. She is enthusiastic and imaginative with regard to teaching, and adjusts to our needs.
We enjoy the lessons and are entirely satisfied.
Andrew and Jo


© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.235 seconds
twitter    facebook