Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Emily (Tutor in Swindon)

Emily
Emily
Tutor
Swindon, Wiltshire
Feedback Score:
+1
Member Since: 10/03/2013
Last Login: 34 days ago
Response Rate: 55%
Expected Response: < 3 hours

My Qualifications

BA
University of Brighton
Primary Education 3-7 with QTS
2:1  (2010)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Emily
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Emily

** I have one space available after school **

***I have 1 space left for evening 1-1 tuition 6:30-7:30pm during the week***

**** Group tuition is available for primary and secondary. Small groups of no more than 3 students ****

***** I am now taking bookings for Autumn Term 2 2018 *****


I am a qualified Primary School Teacher and Special Educational Needs Coordinator (SENCO). I am also studying towards my Masters Degree alongside my current teaching job. I am a trained Tennis and Swimming Coach. I hold a enhanced CRB/DBS check and have a full Paediatric First Aid Qualification.

I have been tutoring for a number of years from the ages of 4 to 16.
I have helped pupils with
- English as an additional language,
- Preparing for Entrance Exams and Scholarships
- Learning difficulties which have either been assessed or not.
- Additional work to increase their academic grade.
- Boosting confidence/motivation.
- Home Education

I am a Home Education tutor working with families to strike the right balance of academic work and preparation for exams.

The following are references from some of my pupils parents, names have been removed for confidentiality.

"I approached Emily to tutor my daughter due to her special needs expertise as well as her teaching experience as my daughter, X, is partially deaf and is struggling at school especially with literacy.

Initially, I was greatly impressed with how well Emily understood the problems X was having. Since we started the lessons, I can really see the improvement in X’s reading, writing, spelling, and punctuation. As well as these improvements, Emily’s skill has shown through the improvements in X’s confidence and enthusiasm. Before working with Emily, X was reluctant to read and even more reluctant to write. Since starting lessons with Emily, X has begun to read and even write a little at home without prompting. X looks forward to the lessons, which are clearly well planned and structured to encourage X to learn while keeping her interested and engaged. I am so pleased that we found Emily to tutor X".

JF 28th August 2013

"We had recently moved to the UK and my son needed additional help with his language and literacy in English. Since we began lessons X is now really looking forward to working with Emily and doing his homework. I am very happy that Emily is coming round to help X"

ZT 16th March 2014

“We are so pleased we asked Emily to tutor my son. He’s been having English and Maths lessons in preparation for his SATs next year. His teacher has noticed his improvement and he seems enthused to learn with her”.

BH 11th November 2015

“Emily has been brilliant helping my daughter improve in English for her entrance exams. Lessons have been fun with a clear learning focus with homework set weekly. We are feeling really positive about her exams, thank you Emily”.

RB 26th July 2016

“I have been extremely happy with Emily. She has shown a very kind, gentle and encouraging approach to my 10 year old son. Her lessons are very well structured and she obviously takes a lot of time in planning them to his particular needs. I would thoroughly recommend her”.

SM 1st February 2017

"Emily was recommended to us and I am so pleased for it. We decided Home Education was best for our daughter and Emily has helped us strike the right balance between academic work and other activities"

AM 27th January 2018

Availability: * Group lessons available to combat wait times for 1-1 lessons. Small groups with similar ages pupils.

I am available daytime during the week for Home Ed students and evenings for pupils attending school.

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: I have taught in different schools around Sussex and Wiltshire and have experience teaching from Reception to Year 6. I have taught and prepared pupils for their SATs in years 2 and 6. I have extensive knowledge and experience of teaching the primary curriculum from KS1 to KS2.

Being a qualified SENCO has also enabled me to deliver the curriculum to suit a variety of learners to meet their individual learning style. I also have experience of a vast range of Special Educational Needs.

I strive to ensure my lessons and activities are engaging and memorable. I believe that children learn best when they are actively involved and at the centre of their learning. I ensure that learning is meaningful and relevant to the individual child. I believe it important to promote confidence and self esteem, skills which pupils can apply independently in their schooling experience.

I began tutoring Home Educated children after I became a SENDCo and saw how the school system doesn`t always suit every child. I am very understanding of the diverse needs of HE students and their families and work with them to devise a curriculum which is differentiated and relatable to the child as an individual.

I currently tutor 10 students, most of which have found me on this website or word-of-mouth. As such I have a waiting list of around 6 weeks but this can be subject to change.

If you would like to start quickly I am currently offering group lessons, as well as 1-1, in order to accommodate more students. These are charged at a reduced rate. Groups are no more than 3 students of similar age and ability. Since starting these groups I have seen the benefits of peer learning and is another useful way to gain 1-1 tuition.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

More Photos (1)

  This user has a total of 1 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .

Feedback For Emily (1)

We have a total of 3 review(s) for Emily.

Henrietta (Mrs)
13/11/2019

5/5 Rating

Emily has been great with my 8 year old son who has Autism and is a high achiever. Emily had a positive first impression on my son. He looks forward to their lessons and he feels Emily understands his needs. Emily has taken the time to discuss my son`s needs and read through relevant reports to enable her support and meet his learning needs. Emily is a great tutor.


Dion (Mr)
13/02/2019

2/5 Rating

Emily terminated my son tuition by giving me ONLY ONE WEEK notice. It was devastating to my son and I felt let down and helpless. The abrupt decision has affected my son.


Rachel (Mrs)
10/01/2019

5/5 Rating

Emily is fantastic. She is patience, knowledgeable and our daughter really loves the one to one tuition.

Emily is really helping her preparation for the 11+ and we would also be happy to look at extending her tuition beyond her exams in the future as she takes on new challenges.


Nearby Locations

Ashton KeynesBarnsleyCrickladeFairfordHighworthKempsfordLechladeSouth CerneySwindonWootton BassettWroughtonFairford English TutorsFairford Maths TutorsKempsford English TutorsKempsford Maths TutorsLechlade English TutorsLechlade Maths TutorsSouth Cerney English TutorsSouth Cerney Maths TutorsBarnsley English TutorsBarnsley Maths TutorsAshton Keynes English TutorsAshton Keynes Maths TutorsCricklade English TutorsCricklade Maths TutorsHighworth English Tutors