Tutor HuntSubjectsRussian Tutors

Oliver

Oliver
Oliver
Tutor
London, London
Home Town: London
Member Since: 02/02/2021
Last Login: 52 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 38 minutes

My Qualifications

BA
University of Leeds
Russian
First Class  (2017)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Oliver
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 50.00 to 62.50 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
English£50£50£50£50£50£62.50
Personal Statements---£50£50£62.50
Russian£50£50£50£50£50£62.50

Information about Oliver

I am experienced professional tutor, having taught for over five years. I have a variety of experience working with both children and adults in the UK and in Russia. My approach is to create an informal and relaxed atmosphere where students feel comfortable enough to show their personality. This helps them make mistakes, recognise these errors and thus make improvements: I find constructive self-criticism to be an extremely successful method of helping students to achieve their potential. I create bespoke lesson plans before each lesson in collaboration with students and, where appropriate, parents in order to enable the best possible development and make the most of students` potential.

I am available for online tutoring in Russian, French, English, History and Geography. I am also available to assist with 11+ preparation, as well as assisting university applications, editing personal statements and proofreading academic essays.

I am in the process of applying for a PhD focusing on urban space in post-Soviet Russia at University College London. I have nearly completed my Master of Research in East European Studies, also at University College London, writing a 20 000-word dissertation on contemporary Russian literature as part of this degree. I graduated from the University of Leeds with a First Class degree in Russian, where I received an award for the highest overall grade in the graduate class of 2017.

In my spare time I am an avid lover of baking (my new lockdown hobby), cricket (watching and playing, although the latter very badly…) and reading (not just Russian literature!).

Availability: Flexible - please feel free to enquire for further availability.

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: Russian
I have tutored GCSE and A Level Russian, with particular focus on grammatical complexities (particularly from the native English point of view) and assisting preparation for the Independent Research Project at A Level. I also have experience with Beginners Russian, teaching the alphabet and basic grammatical constructions, including verb conjugation, gender and cases.

English as a Second Language (ESL)
Having spent significant time in Russia, I have a lot of experience tutoring English to the native Russian speaker in a variety of contexts: one-to-one and group, as well as both beginner and advanced . I also taught English at the Russian Classical School, Ekaterinburg, designing lessons that contained a mixture of vocabulary and grammatical exercises, and fun activities (tongue twisters, language games, singing along to Beatles songs etc.). I have also taught GCSE ESL, working particularly on pronunciation and grammatical uncertainties that have arisen during students’ other lessons, and in everyday life.

English
I have tutored A Level English Literature, focusing on detailed textual analysis in poetry and drama. In GCSE English Language and Literature I have covered all aspects of the syllabus, including creative writing, language and textual analysis as well as spelling, punctuation and grammar. At both levels, I focus on the building blocks of essay writing, use various techniques to develop arguments, thus improving answers to exam-style essay questions.

11+
English: particular focus on comprehension and creative writing, where possible avoiding a plan which is too ‘past paper heavy’.
Maths: I use past papers to discover which topics a student needs additional support with, and construct my sessions according to this.
Verbal and Non-verbal Reasoning: encouraging methodical and systematic approaches to problem solving questions.
Other 11+ tests: I have experience assisting in preparation for the ISEB test, using online programmes such as Atom Learning to allow students to get accustomed to the digital format of this test, as well as the ISEE test.

Interviews and proofreading
I have assisted in interview preparation for secondary school, sixth form and university, focusing on presentation skills and practicing interview questions in order to build students’ confidence. I am also able to assist with proofreading and editing academic essays and personal statements.

I also have experience tutoring students with dyslexia.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Oliver
Oliver

Nearby Locations

AldgateAldgate EastFenchurch StreetLiverpool StreetMonumentOld StreetSpitalfieldsTower GatewayTower HillAldgate English TutorsAldgate East English TutorsFenchurch Street English TutorsLiverpool Street English TutorsMonument English TutorsOld Street English TutorsSpitalfields English TutorsTower Gateway English TutorsTower Hill English Tutors