Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors


Stroud, Gloucestershire
Feedback Score:
Member Since: 09/12/2017
Last Login: 43 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 2 hours

My Qualifications

The University of Essex
Child, adolescent and family well-being
N/A  (2018)
Canterbury Christ Church University
Primary education with QTS
N/A  (1994)
The University of Sheffield
2:2  (1987)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Rachel

Eleven Plus£40---

Information about Rachel

I am a very child-centred educationalist, with a background in music and drama as well as many years of experience teaching in primary schools.
Alongside working as a teacher I am presently training as a child psychotherapist.

Availability: I have limited availability from Sept 2021.

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: I have been a primary school teacher for 23 years, working in a wide variety of different primary schools - urban and rural. Most of my experience has been years 3 - 6, although I have worked with reception and up. I have also done some work with children with special needs.
I have worked as an English specialist and as a maths lead with in schools that I have taught in.
I have taught children in preparation for the current SATs tests and I have 3 years of experience tutoring and preparing children for the 11+.

Contact this Tutor


After School

Feedback For Rachel (10)

We have a total of 10 review(s) for Rachel.

Heidi (Mrs)

5/5 Rating

Rachel is an excellent tutor. Very engaging, calm and kind. My son has had only a few lessons now, but is happy to go and comes home keen to do his homework. I would recommend Rachel to any parent looking for an 11+ tutor.

Robyn (Mrs)

5/5 Rating

Rachel has been completely warm and welcoming, exactly the warmth and reassurance my son needs. We`re only starting our process with Rachel but feel so grateful to have found her, she really gets my son and he is responding enthusiastically and confidentially to starting this journey over the course of the coming year!

Tutors Response :

Thank you Robyn, I`m really enjoying teaching your son and getting to know him.

Ann (Mrs)

5/5 Rating

Rachel was lovely. My child loves her lesson, said it was clear and very easy to follow, most importantly Rachel made the lesson very interesting and the lesson time flow by.

Siobhan (Ms)

5/5 Rating

Rachel is very patient with my twins and is working well with them towards 11+, they seem very happy working with her.

Carmel (Mrs)

5/5 Rating

My daughter has recently started with Rachel and only had a couple of lessons, but so far so good. My daughter loves her lessons, Rachel makes the hour lesson fun and engaging

Katie (Mrs)

5/5 Rating

Lovely lady who my daughter is enjoying having Maths and English help with. Highly recommend.

Jacqueline (Mrs)

5/5 Rating

We were fortunate to find Rachel mid-way through our daughters 11+ studies. Rachel has a very calming and focused approach to getting the best out of her students. Rachel`s focus on the Math element of the 11+ really help our daughter and challenged her to release her capabilities. With Rachel`s help, our daughter successfully passed the 11+, with very strong results.

Alison (Miss)

5/5 Rating

Rachel was a fantastic find on this site! Never used a site like this before and was abit worried about paying the fee incase it wasn`t legit....but so pleased I did. My son really likes going to his tutor session and I feel like he his in very safe hands. Always keeps me up dated on his progress in person and via email.I would highly recommend both Rachel and the site.

Debbie (Mrs)

5/5 Rating

Rachel has been tutoring my son for several weeks to help with the year 6 sats test and my son has enjoyed the sessions and has got more confident, so we would recommend. Sadly, we have decided to stop tuition as we are boycotting the year 6 sats test.

Chris (Mrs)

5/5 Rating

My son has had a few sessions with Rachel for 11+ English. I am happy with the way Rachel is teaching him. He is not enthusiastic to go, but he responds well to her approach and seems to enjoy the tutorials once he is there. She sets him a realistic amount of homework to do for the next session and seems to have identified his areas of weakness. We have booked in with her for a regular weekly session. All good!

Nearby Locations

ChalfordDursleyFrampton On SevernGloucesterGloucestershireHorsleyNailsworthPainswickStandishStroudTetburyWhitminsterWotton Under EdgeChalford English TutorsChalford Maths TutorsDursley English TutorsDursley Maths TutorsFrampton On Severn English TutorsFrampton On Severn Maths TutorsGloucester English TutorsGloucester Maths TutorsGloucestershire English TutorsGloucestershire Maths TutorsHorsley English TutorsHorsley Maths TutorsNailsworth English TutorsNailsworth Maths TutorsPainswick English Tutors