Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Claire

Claire
Claire
Tutor
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Feedback Score:
+2
Member Since: 26/07/2018
Last Login: 44 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 1 hour

My Qualifications

MSc
Birkbeck, University of London
Education, Power and Social Change
Distinction  (2019)
International Baccalaureate
International Baccalaureate Organisation
Teaching Environmental Systems and Societies (ESS) (Cat...
NA  (2016)
Other
University of Oxford Department of Continuing Education...
Archaeology in Practice
NA  (2016)
International Baccalaureate
International Baccalaureate Organisation
Managing the Extended Essay (Cat. 3)
NA  (2015)
International Baccalaureate
International Baccalaureate Organisation
Teaching History (Cat. 1)
NA  (2014)
Professional
National College for Leadership of Schools and Children...
Leading from the Middle (renamed: National Professional...
NA  (2011)
PGCE
University of Leicester
PGCE (Secondary)
QTS  (2004)
PGCert
University of Leicester
Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)
NA  (2004)
BSc
University of Leicester
Computer Science (Supplementary)
1:2  (2003)
BSc
University of Leicester
Geography
2:1  (2003)
Other
Institute of Leadership and Management
Introductory Certificate in First Line Management
NA  (2003)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Claire
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 49.00 to 120.00 per hour
GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Basic Skills£49£55£55£55
Career Development--£120£55
English£49£55£55£55
Environmental Science£49£55-£55
Extended Project Qualification-£55--
General Science£49---
Geography£49£55£55£55
History£49£55-£55
Humanities£49£55-£55
Ib Diploma-£55--
Law--£120£120

Information about Claire

*** NOW TAKING BOOKINGS FOR 2020/ 2021 ***

Qualified Teacher | Principal Examiner | Senior Moderator | NEA (coursework) Authenticator | Education Consultant | Enhanced DBS | ~20 years experience.

Small Groups from £20 p.h.
One-to-one tuition from £49 p.h.

As a Teacher and (Senior) Examiner, I am a well-qualified, experienced and knowledgeable teacher and I`ve been tutoring privately for almost 20 years. I have my own education consultancy business, based in Cambridge, but I work with clients from all across the UK and worldwide.

Professional Affiliations: I`m a Member of the Society of Education Consultants (SEC), the Chartered College of Teaching (CCT) and The Tutors Association (TTA).

Although I have left full-time teaching, I still stay very much involved with various educational institutions and charitable organisations. I am a Founding Director on the board for an International School in India, a `parent host` for international students, and a Senior Moderator and Assessor for a national assessment centre (covering various GCSE and A-Level subjects).

Despite my own learning disabilities, I have consistently achieved the highest grades in my education, from a collection of As and A*s at GCSE and A-Level (many years ago now!) to grades of `Distinction` at university. In 2020, I`ve just started another course (an Advanced Diploma in Local History), studying part time at the University of Oxford.

I live in Bedfordshire but work in both Cambridge and London during the week (Cambridge on Fridays and London on Wednesdays). I have two dogs and two cats, and enjoy volunteering in my local community.

I aim to bring out the best in every learner and so I always personalise every lesson to the individual student. I have a direct and honest, yet supportive and friendly approach to teaching. As an experienced teacher and examiner, I know what is needed to pass assessments. However, naturing a love for learning is my priority, and aim to encourage enthusiasm and enjoyment in my tutoring sessions.

Availability: London - Wednesdays
Cambridge - Fridays

Online - I am available mostly in the daytime, with occasional evening slots.

Due to demand, I am no longer able to travel to the student unless in exceptional circumstances; this then allows me to offer my services to more students.

The first `free` session is for long-term clients only; this provides an opportunity to meet face-to-face, discuss specific needs and expectations, and plan for the lessons ahead. It usually lasts around 20-30 minutes.

Willing to travel: 50 miles

Experience: Tutoring Experience:
20 years tutoring experience - multiple subjects at GCSE, IB/ A-Level and undergraduate level
15 years teaching experience, in the UK and abroad - multiple subjects at GCSE, IB/ A-Level
Successful record of results (feel free to ask!)

Subjects I have taught in schools include:
- IB Geography (HL), History (HL), Environmental Systems and Societies (SL)
- A-Level Geography, History, English Literature, Politics
- GCSE (and iGCSE) Geography, History, English Language, English Literature, Maths, RE, Citizenship, Science

Qualified Teacher Status/ PGCE.
Additional Professional Qualifications for: Leadership and Management, TESOL (Teaching English as a Secondary or Other Language) at postgraduate level and Teaching History, Teaching ESS (Environmental Science - IB). Teaching History (IB).

I can also offer excellent advice for general Study Skills or coursework, having held Management Positions as SEN lead, Extended Essay Coordinator, Gifted and Talented Coordinator, etc. as well as an examiner for the IB.
I am also able to offer coursework authentication for A-Level Geography, History or English Literature (also Computer Science, through the company)

Other recent work, experience and awards:

* Authenticator, Assessor and Senior Moderator: Following the cancellation of GCSE and A-Level exams, I was brought in to act as an Assessor and Senior Moderator for GCSE, iGCSE, AS and A-Level CAGs for a nationwide assessment centre; this project meant that around 5000 private candidates were able to receive grades.

* Project Manager and Lead Author: Working for a well-known publisher, I project managed the creation of 10 A-Level and 3 iGCSE online courses and textbooks. I subcontracted over 20 teachers/ authors and personally wrote content for the A-Level English Lit., History and iGCSE Business courses. I also edited A-Level Biology.

* Education Consultant: Involvement in a cross-party committee, discussing the role of independent education in the UK, which advises the government on policy.

* Workshop Leader: Running in-school and virtual workshops for teachers (INSET) and students.

* TES Teaching Awards: Shortlisted for ‘Most Creative School’ (with a team of 8-10 other teachers).

DBS (CRB) Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

More Photos (3)

  This user has a total of 3 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .

Feedback For Claire (2)

We have a total of 2 review(s) for Claire.

Sylvia (Mrs)
23/01/2020

5/5 Rating

Claire is an amazing tutor/mentor. She’s professional, extremely well organised and inspirational. Also, she’s got a lovely, friendly personality, which makes her very approachable. Our son felt very comfortable and ‘at ease’ in her company, like he’s known her forever. Claire brings out the best in her tutees, as she motivates them and makes sure they are ready and well prepared for anything that comes their way. We were lucky to have her help.


Emmah (Mrs)
20/12/2019

5/5 Rating

Claire is fantastic and struck up an immediate rapport with my son - thank you Claire!


Nearby Locations

BassingbournCambourneColneElsworthGodmanchesterHolywellHuntingdonOverPapworth EverardPottonSwaveseyUpper CambournePotton English TutorsPotton Geography TutorsPotton History TutorsBassingbourn English TutorsBassingbourn Geography TutorsBassingbourn History TutorsCambourne English TutorsCambourne Geography TutorsCambourne History TutorsColne English TutorsColne Geography TutorsColne History TutorsElsworth English TutorsElsworth Geography TutorsElsworth History Tutors