Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Alan (Tutor in London)

Alan
Alan
Tutor
London, London
Home Town: London
Member Since: 20/05/2014
Last Login: 3 years ago
Response Rate: 80%
Expected Response: < 9 days
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

MA
Goldsmiths, University of London
Scriptwriting
1st  (2013)
BA
Dublin City University
Journalism
2:1  (2007)
A Level
Lanesboro Community Co...
Maths
A  (2003)
A Level
Lanesboro Community Co...
English
A  (2003)
A Level
Lanesboro Community Co...
Physics
B  (2003)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
How references rated Alan
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 40.00 to 50.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSELecturer
Adobe Photoshop--£40.00-
Creative Writing---£50.00
Eleven Plus£40.00---
English£40.00£40.00£45.00-
Maths£40.00£40.00£45.00-
Information about Alan

I am a tutor, lecturer, teaching assistant and writer who has been based in London for the past three years. Originally from Ireland, I studied an undergraduate degree in Journalism, before working in online advertising and then moving to the UK to study a Masters degree in scri ptwriting.

I have worked with children of all ages in various capacities for most of my life. Growing up in a home where my mother worked in childcare, I became acclimatised to working with kids, and have worked as a volunteer abroad with street children, as a tutor in disadvantaged communities, and as an SEN teaching assistant in various schools across London.

I am an established writer, working in radio, short film and theatre, while also being a scri pt reader and scri pt editor for various companies - and currently lecture at University of Brighton as part of their film-making programme.

I have also A-Level equivalent qualifications in Maths, Physics and Applied Maths, so have a love of the sciences that I enjoy getting to use on a day-to-day basis as part of my tutoring.

Availability: My availability is generally quite flexible depending on the jobs I have taken on at any given time, though I tend not to work weekends. However, these can all be negotiated with a potential client.

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: I am currently working as a tutor in English, Maths, Drama and 11+ preparation in various schools and homes across London, and have been doing so for the past year.

My GCSE English preparation has involved working one-to-one with students at homes and in schools, as well as running intensive courses over holiday times or in the lead-up to exams. These have been with groups of up to ten students. My undergraduate degree in journalism and postgraduate in scri ptwriting have given me the factual and fictional skills required to tutor across the subject, while my ongoing work as a writer means I can help develop students` creative writing skills.

I have run similar GCSE Maths intensive courses, as well as working one to one with students. I have also worked with younger students in KS2 to guide them through earlier sections of the curriculum, and worked with students who for various reasons have not been in school and need a full grounding in the foundations of the Maths course.

My background as a writer also means I am skilled in Drama tutoring, while I have run 11+ intensive courses and worked one-to-one with students preparing for many of the major private schools across London.

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

All SaintsBlackwallCanary WharfEast IndiaLangdon ParkSouth QuayTower HamletsAll Saints English TutorsAll Saints Maths TutorsBlackwall English TutorsBlackwall Maths TutorsCanary Wharf English TutorsCanary Wharf Maths TutorsEast India English TutorsEast India Maths TutorsLangdon Park English TutorsLangdon Park Maths TutorsSouth Quay English TutorsSouth Quay Maths TutorsTower Hamlets English TutorsTower Hamlets Maths Tutors
© 2005-2020 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.313 seconds
twitter    facebook