Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsSpanish Tutors

Florence (Tutor in London)

Florence
Florence
Tutor
London, London
Feedback Score:
+5
Member Since: 19/09/2015
Last Login: 10 hours ago
Response Rate: 95%
Expected Response: < 3 hours

Qualifications

QTS
GTC England
QTS
QTS  (2018)
BA
University of Bristol
French and Italian
2:1  (2013)
A Level
St Albans Girls School
French
A  (2009)
A Level
St Albans Girls School
English Literature
A  (2009)
A Level
St Albans Girls School
German
A  (2009)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelAdult Learner
Early Years£50.00----
Efl£50.00£50.00--£50.00
Eleven Plus£50.00----
English£50.00£50.00---
French£50.00£50.00£50.00--
Italian£50.00£50.00£50.00£50.00£50.00
Maths£50.00----
Spanish£50.00£50.00£50.00£50.00£50.00
Information about Florence

I am a reliable tutor with a PGCE from the UCL Institute of Education, ranked best in the world for education, and eight years of teaching experience that includes work in both schools and private homes in England and abroad. I have taught all ages from three year olds to adults and in many different countries. I am enthusiastic, hard working, caring and have a strong knowledge of the UK curriculum.

I speak five languages and am passionate about the benefits of language learning. Last year I was a student ambassador for the Association for Language Learning (ALL) and as part of my teacher training scholarship attended APPG meetings at the House of Lords to discuss language related issues.

As well as languages I teach a range of primary subjects and entrance exam preparation.

Availability: Weekdays from 4.30pm and weekends

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Willing to travel: 2 miles

Experience: Teacher Roles:

February 2018 to May 2018 The Warren School, UK
• Student MFL (Spanish) teacher

October 2017 to February 2018 The Royal Docks Community School, UK
• Student MFL (French and Spanish) teacher

Teaching Assistant Roles:

December 2016 to May 2017 Pimlico Academy, UK
• Assisting in a Year 10 Spanish class once a week
• Providing support for individual pupils, particularly lower ability

October 2014 to June 2015 CEIP Gabriela Mistral, Madrid, Spain
• Taught children aged 8-10 in English, Natural Science and Social Science classes
• Role included leading discussions on a wide range of topics, preparing the children for the Cambridge English PET and KET speaking exams, giving support to individual children and preparing grammar worksheets
• Helped the children learn English through a wide range of activities, for example, preparing children for an oratory contest, organising a Halloween workshop and teaching dances

September 2013 to June 2014 CEIP Bautista Lledó, Benidorm, Spain
• Taught children aged 3-6 in English classes
• Used the Jolly Phonics method to teach children to read and write, led story telling sessions, made story book related worksheets
• Role also included giving insight into English culture, for example, the history of Guy Fawkes day, and assisting on excursions to the zoo and farm.

October 2011 to February 2012 Wikids Primary School, Paris, France
• Taught English two days a week to children aged 4-8
• Led discussions and interpreted for an Australian pupil, ensuring that she kept up during class
• Responsible for care duties such as nap time and serving meals at lunch time
• Helped the children aged 4-6 learn to read and write in both English and French

February 2009 to March 2009 Bischof Dr Christian Schreiber Schüle, Frankfurt, Germany
• Helped teach English to a class of 10 and 11-year-olds
• Main tasks included supporting individual children and reading stories to the class

Private Tuition Roles:

October 2016 to date UK
• Teaching Year 9 and GCSE Spanish

October 2016 to date UK
• Working as a governess for three children aged 4 to 9 years
• Main focus is helping the 4-year-old learn to read and write
• Teaching the 8-year-old and 9-year-old French

September 2016 to date UK
• Tutoring a 9-year-old boy and a 5-year-old girl Maths and English

August to September 2016 Switzerland
• Tutored a 7-year-old and a 9-year-old English, Maths and Science (UK syllabus) in their holiday home
• Involved preparing the 7-year-old for his 8+ Maths and English exams

October to May 2016 UK and via Skype
• Prepared my 15-year-old brother for his GCSE French and Maths exams

March to April 2016 Miami, USA
• Worked as a governess for a Russian family in their holiday home
• Main focus was home-schooling a 6-year-old (Maths, English and Science, UK syllabus)
• Also taught English to 3-year-old twins

December 2015 to January 2016 UK
• Worked as a governess for three children aged 4, 9 and 11
• Main focus was preparing the 9-year-old, who struggled with reading and spelling as a result of her dyslexia, for her 10+ entrance exams (Maths, English and Verbal Reasoning)
• Helped the 11 and 9-year-olds with homework
• Helped the 4-year-old learn to read
• Care duties included school collection, keeping their bedrooms organised and preparing them for bed

October 2015 Monaco
• Taught Maths, English and French to an 8-year-old and a 10-year-old
• Included care duties such as school collection, day trips and preparing the boys for bed

October 2011 to February 2012 Maupard Fiduciaire accountancy company, Paris, France
• Taught four hours of English classes a week to the staff, which involved preparing my own grammar exercises and using a business vocabulary related software

September 2007 to April 2009 Kumon Maths and English tuition group, UK
• Assisted children aged 3 to 17 with literacy and numeracy skills and marked their work

Feedback For Florence (5)
We have a total of 5 review(s) for Florence.

Natalia (Mrs)
25/07/2019

5/5 Rating

Very nice tutor, lovely to work with


Jo (Ms)
27/06/2019

5/5 Rating

Florence tutored my daughter for GCSE Italian. Florence is an excellent tutor. She is engaging and enthusiastic about her subject. She arrived on time and proved to be flexible if we had to re-arrange any classes.
My daughter was predicted a 5 but with Florence’s help she was achieving 8s in recent past papers.


Shazmah (Ms)
25/06/2019

5/5 Rating

Really pleased with Florence. My daughter connected with her immediately and she really enjoys and looks forward to her sessions. Florence is very calm and patient and explains things really clearly.


Craig (Mr)
08/08/2017

4/5 Rating

Florence teaches English Language & Mathematics to my daughter on a weekly basis.

I have found Florence to be friendly and approachable. My daughter enjoys learning with her and there has been a notable improvement in my daughter’s abilities in the areas in which Florence has provided tuition.

Florence is flexible in her approach to teaching my daughter. Although I originally asked Florence to teach general English reading and writing skills, I have on several occasions asked her to teach specific areas in Maths and English to complement what my daughter has been working on at school. She has been able to meet these requests without difficulty. I also asked Florence to set homework to accompany what she has been teaching, which she has also done.


Sam (Mr)
22/02/2016

4/5 Rating

Friendly well prepared tutor.


Nearby Locations

Tooting BecWandsworth CommonTooting Bec English TutorsTooting Bec French TutorsTooting Bec Maths TutorsTooting Bec Spanish TutorsWandsworth Common English TutorsWandsworth Common French TutorsWandsworth Common Maths TutorsWandsworth Common Spanish Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.391 seconds
twitter    facebook