Tutor HuntSubjectsAstronomy Tutors

Holly

Holly
Holly
Tutor
London, London
Feedback Score:
+2
Member Since: 15/12/2020
Last Login: 2 days ago
Response Rate: 95%
Expected Response: < 47 minutes

My Qualifications

MSci
University of Glasgow
Astronomy and Physics
1st class hon.  (2016)
A Level
Keswick School
Maths
A*  (2011)
A Level
Keswick School
Physics
A  (2011)
A Level
Keswick School
Further Maths
B  (2011)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Holly
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Holly

Hello there! I`m Holly, Astrophysics graduate with a 1st class Masters Degree from The University of Glasgow. I`ve tutoring on a part time basis for around 8 years most of my previous tutoring has been in person, however I am now online as well.

The subjects I tutor are Physics, Maths, Astronomy, Chemistry and Biology.
Physics, Maths and Astronomy I tutor all levels from ks1 to A level and occasionally the 1st year of university.
I tutor Chemistry and Biology up to GCSE level.

When tutoring I work best with individual students, but I am happy to tutor (for example) 2 siblings if they are working on the same subject. There is no fixed structure to the way I run my sessions as I have found everyone learns differently. I myself understand this very well as I have been diagnosed with dyslexia. One thing I have noticed, is that no matter how good the intentions of the student are, there will come a time where they simply cannot carry on concentrating though fatigue. Recognising this moment and allowing them to take a quick break or changing your teaching style is incredibly important. Trying to push through simply results in frustration for both the student and the tutor.

I genuinely care about each and every one of my students succeeding, to this end I am more than happy to provide a summary of what we spoke about during our session as well as some questions to try if required. I also find it helpful for parents/guardians to have a general idea of the subjects covered as well as how their child is progressing so I provide a short report of each session designed to keep parents in the loop.

Availability: Until tier 4 is lifted in London I am available at any time.
Once I am back at work with my other job I will be available every evening after 6pm, all day at the weekends as well as 2 days a week.

Willing to travel: 20 miles

Experience: I first started tutoring nine years ago when taking my A-levels. Due to some unfortunate circumstances our maths department was severely understaffed with only 1 teacher to 90 A-level Maths students. To ensure everyone got the support they needed I, as a further maths student, helped out with teaching as well as going from class to class to answer any questions the teacher did not have time to deal with.

Once in University I became a regular private tutor teaching Maths, Physics, Chemistry, Astronomy and occasionally Programming and Biology. My students at the time ranged in age from 13 to 17. As a summer project I re-wrote our introduction to MATLAB programming course to improve and update it for the next years students.

Upon graduating I found myself starting a PhD at the Max Plank Institute for Solar System Science, during my time here I taught a tutorial homework group for a group of 18 Masters students taking the course "Introduction to Astrophysics". During this time I worked extra hours with two members of the group who were far behind as they had entered the Masters program from a different degree. With a lot of work and support they both manged to pass their exams.

Ultimately after 18 months I decided the full time Academic life was not for me. Since leaving my PhD I have volunteered with The Dolphin Research Project in Montenegro and fulfilled a life long dream of becoming a Climbing instructor. Now, after riding my Motorbike to Mongolia from London and back, I am a semi-regular speaker at travel events where I do my best to share my experience of putting yourself out there and achieving whatever it is you set out to do.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Holly (2)

We have a total of 2 review(s) for Holly.

Alex (Mr)
15/04/2021

5/5 Rating

Holly is absolutely fantastic! I cannot recommend Holly enough, and after just the first lesson, I already felt more confident. Goes above and beyond and is always available for me to ask questions 24/7. Holly is warm and made me feel comfortable right from the offset. The best tuition i have ever received. Holly knows her stuff inside and out; would be a great fit for anyone.

Tutors Response :

Thank you Alex, I`m so glad I`ve been able to help.


Deborah (Mrs)
23/01/2021

5/5 Rating

Holly is is helping my daughter with KS3 science and maths and always finds a way to explain topics that my daughter can understand. Lessons are always thoughtfully prepared and feedback is clear and helpful. She provides the right level of support and encouragement and my daughter is making great progress and becoming more confident in these subjects. Highly recommended!

Tutors Response :

Thank you for your feedback Deborah. It`s absolutely great to hear how well your Daughter is doing and it is a joy to see how much her confidence has increased.


Nearby Locations

BrixtonHerne HillLoughborough JunctionBrixton Biology TutorsBrixton Chemistry TutorsBrixton Maths TutorsBrixton Physics TutorsHerne Hill Biology TutorsHerne Hill Chemistry TutorsHerne Hill Maths TutorsHerne Hill Physics TutorsLoughborough Junction Biology TutorsLoughborough Junction Chemistry TutorsLoughborough Junction Maths TutorsLoughborough Junction Physics Tutors