Tutor HuntSubjectsChemistry Tutors

Nicola

Nicola
Nicola
Tutor
Kent
Feedback Score:
+7
Member Since: 17/08/2015
Last Login: 3 months ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 46 minutes

My Qualifications

PGCE
Cardiff University
Chemistry
Not Applicable  (1983)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Nicola
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Nicola

Even while I was at school, I enjoyed helping other students with their work, and always planned to become a teacher. I completed a Chemistry degree, then a Post Graduate Certificate in Education and began my teaching career with what was then Inner London Education Authority.
I taught General Science to GCSE and Chemistry to A Level, developed resources and materials, and worked as an examination board moderator.
After a break for family reasons, I worked in a Primary school, mainly as a teaching assistant but also covering for teaching staff when needed. This included working with individual students, small groups and whole classes, managing library sessions and overseeing maths problem-solving for KS2. I even taught music and swimming.
I tutored for two years in the London Borough of Bromley, where I worked mainly with students preparing for the 11 plus and other entrance examinations. I also tutored students for whom English was a second language, and general "catch-up" help in Maths, English and Science at KS2 and KS3.
Now based in Deal, I have tutored Maths and Sciences to GCSE and English, Maths and Science at KS2 and KS3.

Availability: Currently I am fully booked for after-school sessions, and taking bookings for September 2019-2020.

During the school holidays, I am available during the day on Mondays to Wednesdays.

Currently I am offering tuition via Zoom for existing students, and can extend this to new students for Kent test or GCSE maths.

Willing to travel: 3 miles

Experience: I have a BSc (Hons) in Chemistry from Manchester University and a Post-Graduate Certificate in Education from University College, Cardiff.
I have ten years secondary school teaching experience and four years primary experience (including both teaching and support).
Tutoring experience includes preparation for Entrance Examinations and Eleven Plus selection tests, general help with Key Stage 2 Maths and English, and Science and Maths at Key Stage 3 and 4.
I have also experience teaching the Life in the UK part of the requirements for settling in the UK and British Citizenship.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Nicola (7)

We have a total of 7 review(s) for Nicola.

Jo (Ms)
18/05/2020

5/5 Rating

Nicola tutored my daughter for Maths and General Science GCSE. Nicola is an excellent teacher. Organised, clear and friendly. She encouraged learning and unravelled the topics, making sure that each one was securely understood before moving onto the next. Would highly recommend - she’s brilliant.


Neill (Mr)
17/07/2018

5/5 Rating

Nicola has been working with my son, George, for several months now preparing him for 11+ and she is an absolutely first class tutor. We`ll also be booking Nicola to tutor my daughter for her 11+

George`s academic confidence has grown immeasurably, and his recent school report was absolutely outstanding which I directly attribute to Nicola working with George.

On a personal level George absolutely loves working with Nicola, and looks forward to his weekly lesson.

My wife and I couldn`t be happier, and want to thank Nicola for all the help & guidance she has given George, he now feels confident & ready to attack his forthcoming 11+ exams.

I wouldn`t hesitate to recommend Nicola, she has been an absolute godsend and taken the sting out of any worries we had regarding preparing our children for their 11+ exams.


Dan ()
20/03/2017

5/5 Rating

Great


Claire ()
10/07/2016

5/5 Rating

I am really pleased with how Nicola is supporting my child. Nicola is relaxed, supportive and I can already see confidence for my child is increasing.


Calli (Mrs)
11/03/2016

5/5 Rating

My son has been seeing his tutor for three weeks now and I am very happy with what she has achieved so far in this short space of time. She really listened to my concerns and the type of help that I felt my son would benefit from and she has structured his time and the type of work given to meet all his needs. Thank you


Claudia (Miss)
07/03/2016

5/5 Rating

Very helpful


ali (Mr)
13/12/2015

5/5 Rating

Nicola came to teach my daughter for 11+.I am very pleased with the way she was teaching her. In the end of the lesson she goes through the subjects with me so I could have an idea what she was trying to teach my daughter. Her teaching and communication is very good, and she certainly has a lot of experience. I would recommend her as an excellent tutor.


Nearby Locations

BirchingtonBroadstairsDealDoverEastryKingsdownMargateNewingtonRamsgateRiverSandwichWalmerBirchington Biology TutorsBirchington Chemistry TutorsBirchington English TutorsBirchington Maths TutorsBirchington Physics TutorsBroadstairs Biology TutorsBroadstairs Chemistry TutorsBroadstairs English TutorsBroadstairs Maths TutorsBroadstairs Physics TutorsDeal Biology TutorsDeal Chemistry TutorsDeal English TutorsDeal Maths TutorsDeal Physics Tutors