Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Rosie

Rosie
Rosie
Tutor
London, London
Feedback Score:
+7
Member Since: 24/06/2015
Last Login: 5 days ago
Response Rate: 40%
Expected Response: < 18 hours

My Qualifications

BA
Oxford University
Classics
2.1  (2019)
A Level
Surbiton High School
Philosophy
A  (2015)
A Level
Surbiton High School
Latin
A*  (2015)
A Level
Surbiton High School
English
A*  (2015)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Rosie
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: £25.00 to £37.50 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Ancient History£31.25£31.25£31.25£35£35£35
Basic Skills£31.25£31.25£31.25£35£35-
Classical Civilisation£31.25£31.25£31.25£35£35£35
Classics-£31.25£31.25£35--
Creative Writing-£31.25----
Early Years£31.25-----
Efl£31.25£31.25£31.25£37.50-£31.25
Eleven Plus£31.25£31.25----
English£31.25£31.25£31.25£35--
Greek--£35---
History£31.25£31.25£31.25---
Latin£25£31.25£31.25£31.25--
Law--£31.25£35--
Religious Studies£25£31.25£31.25---

Information about Rosie

I am an Oxford University graduate, where I studied Classics and English and obtained a high 2.1 grade.
I am a high-achiever in academia having already obtained 8 A*`s and 2 A`s at GCSE, and 3A* and 1A at A Level.

Tutoring in English: English is my favourite subject and I read widely, from Shakespeare and Milton to the modernists. Due to this, I am sure that I will already be familiar with the set texts that your child has been set. At GCSE I received full UMS for both English Literature and Language, and I also received 200/200 at AS. I have over 200 hours of experience tutoring English Literature and English Language.

Tutoring in Latin: I have been studying the language since I was 13 and since have become familiarised with all its intricacies. I am near fluent in terms of reading and translating Latin, having studied authors such as Ovid, Cicero and Virgil in the original language.



Availability: I am available:

Monday: 5.30-6.30pm

Tuesday: 5.30-6.30pm
Wednesday: 7.30-8.30pm
Thursday: 7-8pm
Friday: 5-6pm, 6-7pm, 7-8pm

Saturday: 10-11am, 2-3pm, 4-5pm, 5-6pm.
Sunday: 2-3pm, 4-5pm, 7-8pm

Willing to travel: 15 miles

Experience: - FREELANCE TUTOR
September 2014 – present

I began tutoring as an upper sixth student as part of a school scheme to help girls in younger years with their studies. I tutored two Year 8 students in elementary Latin on an ongoing basis throughout this year and helped make tutoring arrangements between other sixth form students and girls in lower year groups.

After completing my A Levels in 2015 I set up my own professional profile on the Tutorhunt website and in that summer taught 2 children in KS3 English and Latin respectively.

Whilst studying at Oxford University I continued to tutor local schoolchildren, and over the four years tutored 4 children between the ages of 11 and 17 in GCSE and A Level subjects, including English Literature and Ancient Greek. I found that tutoring the latter strongly consolidated my own understanding of the language which I learned ab initio in my first year of studies.

I have now taken up full-time tutoring since graduation and tutor 4 children in different subjects, namely English 11+, English KS3, English Literature GCSE and English Language GCSE. For example, currently I am teaching Shakespeare’s ‘Macbeth’ to a 15 year old student but also helping two Year 7 students with their comprehension and spelling.

Over the course of the last five years of private tutoring, interactions with parents and children alike have significantly improved my communication and interpersonal skills. My time management skills have also increased, as I work under pressure to meet the learning objectives of each student. Whilst at university, I also learned how to balance my own academic studies with tutoring.

__ TEACHER AT ALPHA STUDY CENTRE
January 2020 – March 2020

I was offered part-time work at this prestigious tuition centre for two months before the lockdown restrictions were imposed. I worked 12 hours a week, and my role included preparing a group of 10 primary school students for their 11+ exams, as well as teaching English as a foreign language one-on-one.

-Agency
September 2021 – present
I have been working for this prestigious, award-winning tutor agency providing tuition in Latin to two students. I am teaching one student A Level Latin single-handedly, as the subject is not offered at her college. I am teaching the second student Latin GCSE, and his grade has increased from a 3 to a 6.

- Agency
June 2019 - present

After graduation I was soon hired by a leading UK private tuition agency in Central London. The agency has employed me to teach 2 students in Latin at KS3 level and GCSE English. After the completion of every lesson, I complete a lesson report containing the lesson objectives and feedback on the lesson which is provided to the client. Since being employed by the agency, I have approached teaching in an increasingly professional manner.

- VOLUNTEER TEACHER
The Society for Environmental Exploration
Jun 2017 – Aug 2017

I taught English in a village located in rural Costa Rica (Osa Pennisula) on a daily basis to a group of 12 school children, between the ages 5-13, for a period of 12 weeks. This volunteer experience was challenging, as I had to teach a class of students of such varied ages, many of whom did not speak much English. I learned how to vary my teaching technique on my feet according to each child’s ability. I soon became passionate about teaching as I observed my students’ progress and increase in confidence.
I also taught local adults in the community fortnightly, which made this experience all the more versatile.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

More Photos (2)

  This user has a total of 2 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .

Feedback For Rosie (7)

We have a total of 7 review(s) for Rosie.

Lorraine (Mrs)
04/08/2021

5/5 Rating

Super enthusiastic, my son loves her lessons!


Simone (Mrs)
26/02/2021

5/5 Rating

An awesome tutor! My 12 year old daughter believes that Rosie has set a very high bar for tutoring - very organised, engaging, attentive and hugely helpful. As a parent, I have appreciated the regular, detailed feedback that Rosie provides re my daughter`s progress and the strategies she intends to implement to support identified knowledge gaps.


Justyna (Mrs)
25/02/2021

5/5 Rating

I am absolutely delighted with the way in which Rosie tutors. My daughter is always looking foreward to her lessons and enjoys doing homework as it was always customized to her so that she could get the best marks in her tests. Rosie is always optimistic and ready to help yet is still very professional in the way that she teaches.She goes out of her way to offer acivities in areas that my daughter enjoys the most. She is amazing, and we highly recommend her to anyone looking for a reliable and fun latin tutor.


Jessica (Mr)
22/02/2021

5/5 Rating

We have used Rosie for over a year now. My son is sitting for his English GCSE this year. We have found Rosie so helpful. She has been very thorough with all the work set and very encouraging to my son who finds this subject really difficult. Would definitely recommend her. Thanks Rosie


Siân (Dr)
09/06/2020

5/5 Rating

Rosie is very well organised in her teaching schedule and has been hosting Latin lessons online with my 12 year old son. She explains things simply and has a lovely manner. She has also been accommodating with changes in lesson times/days which is a huge help as I’m a key worker and life is currently a bit unpredictable. Would highly recommend Rosie!


Olayinka (Ms)
19/10/2019

5/5 Rating

Great tutor my two children snd they both look forward to their weekly sessions saying she explains topics in a way that they understand


Justine (Ms)
06/09/2015

5/5 Rating

Enthusiastic, knows how to relate to my son would recommend


Nearby Locations

BalhamBalham English TutorsBalham History Tutors