Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Kit

Kit
Kit
Tutor
Wigan, Lancashire
Feedback Score:
+18
Member Since: 30/08/2014
Last Login: 3 hours ago
Response Rate: 75%
Expected Response: < 15 hours

My Qualifications

PGCE
Edge Hill University
Secondary Mathematics
Pass  (2020)
BA
Edge Hill University
English Literature
1st  (2014)
AS Level
The British School, Paris
History
C  (2011)
A Level
The Brooksbank School
English
A  (2010)
A Level
The Brooksbank School
Maths
E  (2010)
AS Level
The Brooksbank School
Chemistry
A  (2009)
AS Level
The Brooksbank School
Biology
C  (2009)
AS Level
The Brooksbank School
Physics
C  (2009)
Other


 (0)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified

Information about Kit

Hi, I`m Kit!

I am a specialist secondary maths teacher (PGCE and QTS) with an English Literature degree, with over 9 years of experience tutoring in Maths and English from ages 5 years to Adult.

I am currently studying part-time for an MA in 19th Century Studies to pursue my own interests in this area as I truly believe that learning isn`t restricted to just our school years.

Past parents have confessed that they chose me from my profile because I seem a bit "wacky" and they think that I would get on with their child. I do bring a lot of personality to my sessions and pride myself on being able to work incredibly well with even the most anxious and quiet student.

Availability: I have some evening availability on Thursdays and Fridays.

I also have daytime availability for both home-educated students and adult learners, with slots just having opened up on a Monday, Thursday and Friday during the day following a much-loved student moving on to pastures new!

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: I have experience working with students from a variety of backgrounds, including those with additional needs.

I have worked as a full-time secondary mathematics teacher in a large school in Salford.

I have Primary school age experience from Reception up to Year 6, with in-depth knowledge of the new National Curriculum, especially the new SATs.

I also have a lot of KS3 and GCSE experience. One of my biggest success stories with GCSEs was getting one student, whose first language was not English, to achieve a grade C in her Maths GCSE despite achieving a U grade on her December mock.

A lot of my work has been with students with English as an Additional Language, ADHD, Autism Spectrum disorder, dyslexia, and adult learners returning to learning. I have also worked with students who have long-term health conditions that mean they may sometimes miss school and are in need of that extra support.

I have in the region of 1000 hours tuition experience, so there are very few things I`ve not come up against, and currently around half of my students have come through recommendations (so my students/ parents are all happy! - even a Year 6 student`s school teacher has recommended me recently).

The main thing that my clients (especially primary level) say is that they can see an increase in their child`s confidence and attitude towards learning.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

More Photos (1)

  This user has a total of 1 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .

Feedback For Kit (18)

We have a total of 19 review(s) for Kit.

Amanda (Miss)
26/08/2022

5/5 Rating

Kate has done a brilliant job of helping me to better understand maths so much so after failing for a few years of trying to pass G.C.S.E Maths I have now got the level 4 I needed. If there was a topic of maths I struggled to get my head around Kate would show and explain to me a few different ways it could be solved, she would give me step by step notes on a topic I really struggled with along with any websites like corbett maths or Dr frost that might help me understand the problem better, from her doing this a lot of topics I would not know where to start with in exams in the past I was now able to break down and do either parts of or all of the question Kate is a very professional, friendly and knowledgeable person and I would highley recommend her to anyone that needs help with Maths of any age


Anna (Miss)
10/06/2022

3/5 Rating

Ultimately mediocre cost benefit.

Tutors Response :

Hi Anna - I`m sorry this is your experience. One of the things that drove your cost to lesson ratio up so high was the non-attendance of lessons and late cancellation fees. My advice if you are going to use Tutor Hunt again is to be mindful of the cancellation policy and ensure that you are making contact as early as possible in these instances to avoid these fees. I do wish you all the best in your time at college next year.


Helen (Mrs)
23/03/2022

5/5 Rating

Kate has been supporting our daughter with KS3 maths since September and my daughter is finding it really helpful to consolidate learning and explore areas where there are gaps or she doesn’t quite understand what was taught in the classroom. Her confidence is increasing. Kate is enthusiastic about the subject and has a friendly and supportive teaching style.


Graham (Mr)
12/03/2022

5/5 Rating

My daughter doesn`t like humans as a general rule. However she has absolutely loved her tutor. She has improved immeasurably in her learning due to her. Five golden stars!


Mel (Mrs)
18/02/2022

5/5 Rating

Very happy with the maths tutoring from Kate. She has developed a great relationship with my daughter , putting her at ease. My daughter confidence in Maths has improved and I know with the extra support from Kate, my daughter will reach her maths goal!


Jane (Mrs)
16/02/2022

5/5 Rating

Kate is a fantastic tutor and has already increased our daughters confidence after only a few lessons. We are grateful to have found someone so patient, caring and fun who was willing to provide face to face tutoring. We would highly recommend Kate and the Tutor hunt site.


Terry (Mr)
16/02/2022

5/5 Rating

Kate was always punctual and very helpful. Unfortunately a clash of time tables meant we couldn`t continue with the tutoring. Highly recommended.


Richard (Mr)
26/01/2022

5/5 Rating

Kate is an excellent tutor. She is patient, really good at explaining and goes the extra mile to make it clear. I particularly like the use of annotation on the shared screen.


Shengnai (Miss)
10/11/2021

5/5 Rating

Find English literature a lot easier now


Jennifer (Mrs)
23/06/2021

5/5 Rating

Kate makes you feel at ease. My 14 year old connects well with Kate and is feeling more confident with each session


Chris (Ms)
14/03/2021

5/5 Rating

Kate is professional and thorough. She has an in depth understanding of Maths and knows how to make it accessible to my daughter using worked examples or working through questions in tandem


John (Mr)
22/02/2021

5/5 Rating

Katie has really brought my very quiet daughter out of her shell. In the short time that they have worked together, I have noticed a big increase in my daughters confidence with maths and she genuinely enjoys her sessions with Katie. We were looking to develop a long term relationship with a tutor for my daughter and Im really pleased that we chose Katie and she was able to fit my daughter in for lessons.


Stephanie (Mrs)
13/06/2019

5/5 Rating

Katie has been coming to help my 16-year-old son with his Maths for just over a month. She is lovely, patient and has great ways of helping him understand things. I would definitely recommend her!


Juliet (Mrs)
15/04/2019

5/5 Rating

My daughter has improved


Elaine (Mrs)
04/08/2018

5/5 Rating

The site is really easy to use and made it quick and easy to find a suitable tutor for our son. Our son (ages 10) really enjoys his time with Katie and they get on well. He likes the maths games best. He thinks they are a perfect match. It has only been 4 weeks but it is looking promising so far! I would definitely recommend Katie.


Susan (Mrs)
30/10/2017

5/5 Rating

My daughter took to Katie instantly, very friendly,very punctual and a really first class tutor


Kim (Miss)
27/10/2017

5/5 Rating

Very happy with Katie, always on time and prepared, engages well with my daughter and covers relevant topics


Amanda (Mrs)
27/05/2017

5/5 Rating

Katie was brilliant. Came when she said she would and was friendly and professional. She made my Daughter feel at ease and helped her to give her confidence to sit the exam last week. Would definitely recommend!!


Tracy (Mrs)
16/03/2017

4/5 Rating

After only a few hours tutoring, Katie has boosted Lauren`s confidence tenfold. And the improvement is showing.


Nearby Locations

AbramAdlingtonAshton-in-makerfieldAspullBlackrodCoppullGolborneHaydockHindleyHindley GreenHorwichLowtonPlatt BridgeShevingtonWiganAdlington English TutorsAdlington Maths TutorsGolborne English TutorsGolborne Maths TutorsAshton-in-makerfield English TutorsAshton-in-makerfield Maths TutorsAspull English TutorsAspull Maths TutorsHindley Green English TutorsHindley Green Maths TutorsLowton English TutorsLowton Maths TutorsPlatt Bridge English TutorsPlatt Bridge Maths TutorsAbram English Tutors