Tutor HuntSubjectsItalian Lessons

Susie

Susie
Susie
Tutor
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Feedback Score:
+17
Member Since: 05/02/2014
Last Login: 32 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 2 hours

My Qualifications

TEFL/ TESOL
GLT/ ACTDEC
150 hour TEFL Master Course
A  (2014)
BA
The Open University
BA (Hons) MLS (Open) Modern Language Studies with Frenc...
1st  (2013)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Susie
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 30.00 to 40.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelAdult Learner
Efl----£40
French--£40£40£40
Ielts----£40
Italian----£30
Spanish--£40£40£40
Tefl----£40

Information about Susie

Hi, I’m Susie and I deliver personal, professional one-to-one and group tuition for adults online via Skype and Zoom for English (English as a Second Language), French, Spanish and Italian. I have been teaching for over seven years and this is my full-time job. I am passionate about languages and I absolutely love sharing my joy for languages with others! Whether you want to brush up on your holiday phrases, pass an exam or move abroad, I can help.

Regardless of your language level (or lack thereof!), I will coach you to reach your potential and maximise your results, while having a great time learning. As a former student of the Open University, I fully understand the challenges of studying solo and of juggling work, study and personal life. I like to think of myself as a personal trainer for languages; I will be your guide, show you how to achieve great results, but I can’t do the work for you. You get out what you put in; being able to set aside time to study or incorporate your learning into your daily life will be just as important as your lessons.

I offer the first 1-hour lesson completely free of charge and obligation. This time will allow us to get to know each other, discover your current level or start from scratch if we need to, as well as create a learning plan tailored to your skillset and interests. It’s never a problem to adapt our plan to cater for Specific Learning Differences or personal preferences, so please do share your learning preferences with me; you can have confidence that I am never, ever going to laugh or be disappointed in your level.

My experience has taught me that confidence is by far the biggest obstacle on the road to learning a language, not aptitude, as you may think or may have been told in the past. I will be there to support you every step of the way on the journey, so you can stop worrying right now about not being good enough. Stop comparing yourself to others; you are unique and the only thing you need to focus on is your own journey.

I have a wealth of experience in exam preparation, in particular for IELTS & Cambridge FCE & CAE exams for English and GCSE & A-level for French & Spanish. Most of my sessions over the years have been delivering tuition to one or two students at a time, however I have run sessions for groups of up to 15 adults. Included within the price, you will receive exclusive access to all of our online teaching materials – accessible during your lessons and 24/7 for self-study to support your learning. I am a full-time tutor, so I offer very flexible hours for my tutoring services and I always endeavour to reply to all enquiries/ correspondance as soon as possible. I work as an independent tutor, as I like to guarantee you consistency, reliability and commitment to you.

Subjects taught:

- French & Spanish: KS3, GCSE, iGCSE, A-level (Spanish only) and adult tuition (beginner & intermediate).
- English as a Second Language (ESL/ ESOL students): All levels, including preparation for the following exams: Cambridge FCE, CAE, PET, IELTS General Training and Academic, PTE academic and ESOL access exams levels 1-3.

Since 2020, I have been teaching beginner Italian. I have a competent level of Italian, including a strong understanding of the grammar, which I use with my Italian friends and when travelling in Italy. If you are looking for beginner Italian for personal interest, conversation, casual use and travel, I can definitely help. I do not have any official qualifications in Italian, however my background in romance languages (Italian is a Latin-based language which, broadly speaking, I find to have a very similar vocabulary to Spanish with the grammar of French!) and my methodical nature means I would ensure that every lesson is thoroughly planned and carefully checked; I would never teach you anything I am unsure of, as this can be greatly detrimental. I am not available to help with exam preparation for Italian or to teach more advanced levels. My lack of qualifications in this subject and the fact that I am not fluent are the reasons that Italian lessons are offered at a lower rate per hour than my other subjects.

Availability: Monday - Thursday 9am-9pm
Friday- 9-3pm

In your initial email, including the following information will speed up our correspondence time:
- Your motivations for learning
- Whether you wish to attend the lessons alone or share with a friend/ family member
- Your current level in the language, or whether you are a complete beginner
- Whether you prefer to use Skype or Zoom
- Your availability - which days and times you are available for lessons

Willing to travel: 30 miles

Experience: My qualifications:
Open University (2013) - 1st Class BA (Hons) Modern Language Studies
Open University (2012) - Diploma in French (Other)
Open University (2012) - Diploma in Spanish (Other)
150-hour TEFL/ ESL master course, accredited by ACTDEC
Understanding IELTS, British Council (6-week course)
Understanding language, University of Southampton (4-week course)
Cultural studies & modern languages, University of Bristol (4-week course)
Dyslexia & foreign language teaching, Lancaster University (4-week course)

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

More Photos (2)

  This user has a total of 2 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .

Feedback For Susie (17)

We have a total of 17 review(s) for Susie.

Mark (Mr)
03/04/2020

5/5 Rating

Fantastic teacher, would highly recommend!!


David (Mr)
26/11/2017

5/5 Rating

Susie is very organised, competent and likeable. We are convinced that our Spanish will improve considerably with her assistence

Tutors Response :

Thanks David! I`m really enjoying working with you both. :)


Cicily (Miss)
06/11/2017

5/5 Rating

Susie is a wonderful Tutor, very professional and we are extremely impressed with her teaching.
thank you for getting Susie for my daughter.
cicily.

Tutors Response :

Thank you so much, it`s easy when I`m working with such a lovely family. I love teaching Cathy!


Suhel (Mr)
16/02/2017

5/5 Rating

Excellent knowledge, spots on mistakes you never aware of.

Thnx Susie

Tutors Response :

Thanks Suhel! :-)


Ian (Mr)
07/06/2016

5/5 Rating

Susie is an excellent tutor. In the short time my wife and I have been having Spanish lessons she has identified the right balance between theory and practical and we are certain Susie will get us where we need to be with the language for when we move to Spain next year. Susie also gives Spanish lessons to our 9 year old son. She is very natural with him and put him at ease straight away. He looks forward to his lessons each week.

Tutors Response :

Muchas gracias Ian!


Sophia (Miss)
26/05/2016

5/5 Rating

Excellent tutor with clear structure, great resources and very encouraging!

Tutors Response :

Muchas gracias!
Thanks for your kind feedback!


Ian (Mr)
26/02/2016

5/5 Rating

My 13 year old nephew and I are taking Spanish lessons with Susie and it`s been a great experience so far, she`s well organised and makes learning a fun experience. I`d highly recommend her to anyone taking up a language!

Tutors Response :

Muchas gracias Ian! :-)


Rob (Mr)
12/12/2015

5/5 Rating

Excellent tutor early days but I enjoy each lesson
Susie is very easy to listen to and always has well prepared lessons.thanks Susie. Rob

Tutors Response :

Gracias Rob :-)


anthony (Mr)
01/11/2015

5/5 Rating

Made us feel relaxed and worked at a pace suitable to us.


Alex (Miss)
22/10/2015

5/5 Rating

Susie is great because she tailors her lessons to what you want to learn and the pace at which you pick things up. She always has a good mix of activities planned and is very flexible. Highly recommended!

Tutors Response :

Thanks Alex, always a pleasure teaching you. :-)


Sarah (Mrs)
19/10/2015

5/5 Rating

Susie is passionate about French and teaching it, her enthusiasm is infectious. She connects well with my 15yr old daughter and has gone out of her way to give her extra tuition prior to an exam.

Tutors Response :

Merci Sarah, I`m so happy that I have been able to contribute to her success :D Thanks for your feedback!


Richard (Mr)
27/09/2015

5/5 Rating

Susie is a charming and very bright lady.
She is very well organised and prepared. I am very much looking forward to continuing my language learning with her and feel confident she will be able to help my rather old brain absorb sufficient information for me to eventually converse in Spanish

Tutors Response :

Muchas gracias Richard eres muy simpático :)


Tobie (Mr)
23/07/2015

5/5 Rating

Susie es estupendo! I have quadrupled the amount of Spanish know in a few months. She is a lovley person and is extremely passionate about what she teaches.
She is as keen to teach as you are to learn and is very flexible with her hours.
Susie is the best!

Tutors Response :

Muchas gracias Tobie!


steven (Mr)
17/03/2015

5/5 Rating

Very friendly and approachable,relaxed and patient a great tutor looking forward to more lessons

Tutors Response :

Thanks for your feedback Steve, really appreciate it :)


Anna (Mrs)
30/11/2014

5/5 Rating

Susie is the best teacher I have ever had! She is a true professional and always very-well prepared for our lessons.


Mercedez (Miss)
17/11/2014

5/5 Rating

I`ve been having lessons with Susie for some time now and I`m really happy with her tutoring. She makes me feel at ease and is very patient. She clearly has a passion for languages and it`s very obvious in her work. I`d recommend Susie to any level, I will be getting my kids to have lessons with her soon too.


mark (Mr)
13/11/2014

5/5 Rating

only early with this tutor but i must say i am so pleased i found susie. she is an inspiration to my daughter. i would recommend her . thanks


Nearby Locations

CodicoteCotteredDatchworthDigswellKnebworthMill EndStevenageTewinWalkernWatton At StoneWelwynWestonCodicote French TutorsCodicote Spanish TutorsCottered French TutorsCottered Spanish TutorsDatchworth French TutorsDatchworth Spanish TutorsDigswell French TutorsDigswell Spanish TutorsKnebworth French TutorsKnebworth Spanish TutorsStevenage French TutorsStevenage Spanish TutorsTewin French TutorsTewin Spanish TutorsWalkern French Tutors