Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Giacomo (Tutor in Birmingham)

Giacomo
Giacomo
Tutor
Birmingham,
Home Town: Birmingham
Member Since: 03/11/2018
Last Login: 12 months ago
Response Rate: 50%
Expected Response: < 3 hours
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

MA
The University of Warwick
English
Distinction  (2014)
BA
University of Cambridge
English
Double First  (2012)
CELTA
Trinity College London
Cert TESOL (CELTA equivalent)
Pass  (2009)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
How references rated Giacomo
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 15.00 to 20.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Efl£20.00£20.00---£20.00
English£15.00£15.00£20.00£20.00£20.00£15.00
Entrance Exams£20.00£20.00--£20.00-
French£15.00£15.00£20.00£20.00--
Maths£15.00£15.00£20.00---
Information about Giacomo

I have recently moved to Birmingham after finishing a PhD on contemporary experimental theatre at the University of Cambridge. I am living as part of Hodge Hill Church`s "Common Ground" community, supporting a range of community and outreach projects for local people of all ages (for which I have been DBS-checked).

Moving here has marked a break after nine years of university studies: before the PhD, I read an undergraduate degree in English from Cambridge, I spent a year at Harvard University as a Kennedy Memorial Scholar, and did a Masters focusing on drama and American poetry at the University of Warwick. I look forward to tutoring as a way to continue sharing the knowledge I`ve gained and my passion for it!

Availability: Available all day on Saturdays, and a range of weekday evenings from 5pm to 9pm. Some availability during the day on weekdays.

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: Alongside my PhD, I taught Cambridge undergraduates in a variety of settings including one-to-one `supervisions`, classes of three to eight students and larger seminars. My main teaching focus was contemporary literature and theatre, but I also taught Shakespeare, a range of nineteenth- and twentieth-century novels and an introduction to Italian poetry for non-Italian speakers.

I am a qualified EFL teacher, and have taught General English classes to adults and children at a range of levels for Oxford House College, London, as well as on a voluntary basis in school, university and refuge settings. One-to-one tutoring in EFL has been a particular joy and strength: when qualifying, I gained full marks for the Student Profile coursework, which involved designing and delivering a bespoke course based on a student`s needs.

Between 2010 and 2012, I tutored primary and secondary school students with a particular focus on English and more general 11+/GCSE exam preparation. Offering inclusive alternatives to existing educational structures has always been important to me: as an undergraduate, I was my college`s elected Access Officer and organised a range of programmes to encourage entry to Oxbridge and Russell Group universities from students from non-traditional backgrounds; more recently, I have taught on summer schools organised by Teach First and the Sutton Trust for these purposes.

Contact this Tutor
More Photos (4)

 This user has a total of 4 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .


Nearby Locations

Castle BromwichCastle ValeFazeleyHampton In ArdenHodgehillTamworthFazeley English TutorsFazeley French TutorsFazeley Maths TutorsTamworth English TutorsTamworth French TutorsTamworth Maths TutorsCastle Bromwich English TutorsCastle Bromwich Maths TutorsCastle Vale English TutorsCastle Vale Maths TutorsHampton In Arden English TutorsHampton In Arden French TutorsHampton In Arden Maths TutorsHodgehill English TutorsHodgehill Maths Tutors
© 2005-2020 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.219 seconds
twitter    facebook