Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Catherine

Catherine
Catherine
Tutor
Heswall, Merseyside
Home Town: Heswall
Member Since: 01/06/2019
Last Login: 1 day ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 2 hours

My Qualifications

MBA
Edge Hill University
Education
pass  (2014)
BEd
St Katherine`s College, Liverpool (now Hope University)
Primary Education
2.1 Hons  (1988)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Catherine
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Catherine

I was a teacher for over 30 years. I was also a deputy headteacher but unfortunately, due to a complication in spinal surgery, I am unable to commit to teaching currently but still have the passion to continue my chosen field, hence now tutoring.
I currently tutor a number of pupils, covering KS1 and KS2 English and maths.
My sessions are always interactive, with much engagement from the tutees. For example, one boy needed a focus on developing cursive handwriting, so this developed from writing in shaving foam and sand, ‘painting’ with wet brushes outside on the patio (inorder to develop large motor control) until he was ready to develop correct pencil grip and practise writing on paper.
My real passion is teaching maths, giving the children time to play with the numbers and develop an understanding of place value and what effect operations have on a number, then I believe they are less fearful of the subject and can develop a love of playing with numbers AND getting correct answers!
I really enjoy seeing my tutees confidence develop; this is achieved through using a variety of approaches: games, IT, completing tasks and speed tests. I use a wealth of materials to ensure the tutees have a good understanding of concepts and are able to apply reasoning to their work. I have access to a range of materials, including singapore maths, so I am able to support your child`s school curriculum.
I live in Heswall, where I live with my husband and 2 grown up children.

Availability: Tuesday to Friday

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: I was a primary school teacher for over 30 years. I taught from F1 to Year 6, though my preferred age range is KS2. I was a deputy headteacher for 7 years.
If your child is struggling to keep up with age-related curriculum then I can support him/her. I will use lots of practical activities to engage your child and ensure a deeper understanding.
I am also able to support those pupils who wish to gain a greater depth of understanding, especially those facing SATS.
I tutor both face to face in my home and online, so location is no issue. Over time I have developed my online teaching to mirror my face to face sessions, using lots of games and interaction.
I have a wealth of resources to tap into so can ensure that your child`s individual needs are catered for.
I am currently tutoring for the National Tutor Programme, both in schools and online.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Catherine
Catherine

Nearby Locations

BagilltCaldyFlintGreasbyHeswallHoylakeIrbyLittle NestonMeolsParkgatePensbyThingwallWirralLittle Neston English TutorsLittle Neston Maths TutorsParkgate English TutorsParkgate Maths TutorsFlint English TutorsFlint Maths TutorsBagillt English TutorsBagillt Maths TutorsCaldy English TutorsCaldy Maths TutorsGreasby English TutorsGreasby Maths TutorsHeswall English TutorsHeswall Maths TutorsHoylake English Tutors