Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Matthew (Tutor in Northampton)

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Feedback Score:
Member Since: 01/01/2019
Last Login: 17 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 18 minutes


University of Leicester
Master of Arts in Leadership and Le...
With Merit  (2008)
University of Northampton
Bachelor of Education (Honours)
First Class  (1999)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
We have verified this users DBS
How references rated Matthew

Information about Matthew

I have been a teacher for the last 19 years. In 2008 I started my own business, Keystone Education, which specialises in creating games, puzzles and apps for children of primary school age. As the business grew, I finally stopped working in schools in the summer of 2018. However, I still love teaching and have been tutoring students on a one-to-one basis since I stopped working in schools.

Availability: I am available during the working week, after school and in the evenings up to seven o`clock.

Some sessions at weekends may also be possible - please contact me for details.

After School

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: As a teacher, I chose a wide variety of roles. For eleven years I worked as a class teacher in a small rural primary school (graded as outstanding by OFSTED) with just one other full-time teaching colleague. I was responsible for teaching all subjects throughout the primary years. I have excellent knowledge of the primary curriculum and have great experience of teaching English and maths to children of any age.

When I needed to reduce my hours to focus on the business I worked part-time in two schools for five years. Here, I worked specifically on maths, mainly with the Year Six children, to help them improve their confidence in the subject ready for secondary school and increase their SATs scores.

I have excellent knowledge of maths and have been tutoring several students for their GCSEs since I stopped working in schools, as well as an adult who needed to pass their teaching degree maths competency test.

My aim is always to make learning fun and engaging. My sessions are not just an extension of your child’s school work. We will play games, solve puzzles and make sure that your child is enthused about their learning.

Outside of work I like to keep fit and swim every morning. I also enjoy walking, which I combine with another hobby: birdwatching. I am a football fan, making regular visits to the Emirates Stadium to support Arsenal, and Sixfields to support Northampton Town.

I look forward to working with you, and your child, in the future.

DBS (CRB) Check: Yes

Feedback For Matthew (1)
We have a total of 1 review(s) for Matthew.

Victoria (Mrs)

5/5 Rating

We engaged Matthew to improve our 11 year old son’s handwriting. He has approached the task in a detailed and systematic way and we have noticed the difference – his teacher has also reported the “vast improvement”. We expanded his remit over time to SPAG and they now do some maths too. This is partly in preparation for SATS and partly to ensure a solid foundation for him to start secondary school.

Matthew is very reliable, punctual, professional and our son enjoys the lessons. We would definitely recommend him.

Nearby Locations

BoughtonBrixworthCreatonDustonHanslopeHartwellNorthamptonNorthamptonshirePitsfordRoadeSilverstoneTowcesterHanslope English TutorsHanslope Maths TutorsBoughton English TutorsBoughton Maths TutorsBrixworth English TutorsBrixworth Maths TutorsCreaton English TutorsCreaton Maths TutorsDuston English TutorsDuston Maths TutorsHartwell English TutorsHartwell Maths TutorsNorthampton English TutorsNorthampton Maths TutorsNorthamptonshire English Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.328 seconds
twitter    facebook