Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Kay

Kay
Kay
Tutor
Calne, Wiltshire
Feedback Score:
+15
Member Since: 18/03/2013
Last Login: 15 days ago
Response Rate: 90%
Expected Response: < 13 hours

My Qualifications

Other
EPPING FOREST COLLEGE
CITY AND GUILDS :CERTIFICATE IN TEACHING ADULT LEARNERS...
PASS  (2007)
Professional
Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music
Advanced Level in Music Performance in Piano
7  (2006)
Professional
Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music
Advanced Level in Music Literacy- Theory of Music
6  (2006)
Professional
The Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music
Intermediate Level in Music Performance- Singing
5  (2005)
BA
University of Hertfordshire
History
2:2  (1999)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Kay
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 28.00 to 33.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelAdult LearnerExpertTeacher
Eleven Plus£28------
English£28£28£28£33£28--
Guitar Acoustic------£30
History£28£28£28----
Maths£28------
Music£30£30£30-£30--
Music Theory-----£30-
Piano------£30
Singing------£30

Information about Kay

My name is Kay, and I am a highly experienced tutor in the following subjects & levels:
1) English at A level, GCSE , KS3, KS2 and KS1.
2) Maths at KS2 and KS1.
3) 13+, 11+ and 7+ entrance exam preparation.
4) History at A level, GCSE and KS3
5) Piano at all levels from Grade 1 to Grade 5.
6) Singing from Grade 1 to Grade 5.
7) Guitar from Grade 1 to Grade 3.

I have 17 years` tuition experience in total in these subjects and levels.
In English, I am an experienced at all levels up to A level . At A level, I teach English Literature, and I have a broad knowledge of most Prose and Poetry texts.
I am also fully up to date with the new 9-1 National Curriculum for KS3/ GCSE English & History.
In my KS3/ GCSE English tuition, I work on develоping key writing skills- eg sentence structure, sentence variety, punctuаtiоn, spelling, vоcаbulаry аnd hаndwriting.
In addition to this, I am experienced at teaching the new skills required for the GCSE 9-1 English Curriculum, including teaching GCSE students how to use persuasive techniques such as AFORESTPIE, and PEE. Once the student has grasped how to use these techniques, I coach them to apply these skills in tackling exam paper questions. I also train them how to plan their answers for exam questions, and how to link their paragraphs within their answers. I have also recently gained a position coaching KS3/ GCSE English students on a 1 to 1 basis, at a local Secondary school (starting in January for 2 evenings per week).
As well as being experienced teaching higher achieving students, I am also experienced teaching children with a variety of Learning Disabilities, such as Dyslexia, Dyspraxia, ADHD, ADD, Autism and Emotionally Challenged students.
Furthermore, I have 21 written references from parents, for students of various abilities.
I am also very experienced teaching English & Maths at all Primary levels. In English, I use National Curriculum Resources to teach students the basics, such as Sentence Structure,Sentence Variety, Punctuation, Grammar , Vocabulary and Spelling, as well as Phonics for younger students. In Maths, I am experienced teaching key areas such as Number Bonds, Counting Up & Down, Time, Money, Fractions , Decimals , Percentages , Area & Perimeter etc.
Furthermore, I have an English-related degree (in History which included some English modules within the degree), and I have a Level 1 City & Guilds Teaching Certificate.
I also have a proven track record of improving students` grades. For example, I improved one GCSE English student recently from a predicted E grade to a B grade in just 4 months` tuition! I also improved another student from predicted C grades in English Language & Literature to an A grade in English Language, and an A* in English Literature in just 8 months` tuition. I only use National Curriculum Resources for all my tuitions.
I am also a Music Tutor- offering lessons in Piano, Guitar, Music Theory and Singing. I am professionally trained as a Piano Player and Singer, as well as being self-taught on the Guitar. I am currently teaching Piano / Keyboard / Guitar across 2 different local schools - one a Primary School, the other a Secondary School. In total, I have 9 years` experience teaching these Music activities, as well as around 1 and a half years` experience teaching Piano/ Keyboard/ Guitar in schools.
I am also a Professional Recording Artist, and I am about to release my first E.P.
Overall, I am a firm believer in making students feel at ease in the lessons, and in offering plenty of encouragement during the tuitions, which helps me to get the very best out of my students.
I can either travel to the students or they can come to me.

Availability: I am available for tuition on any weekday- both daytime and evenings- as well as on Saturdays any time.

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: I have been tutoring for 17 years in the following subjects and levels:

English at Primary, KS3, GCSE and A level.
Maths at Primary level.
7+, 11+ and 13+ entrance exam preparation.
I have also taught History at KS3, GCSE and A level during this period.
In addition, I teach Piano (up to Grade 5), Guitar (up to Grade 3) and Singing (up to Grade 5).

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Kay (15)

We have a total of 15 review(s) for Kay.

Philip (Mr)
30/10/2020

5/5 Rating

My son was struggling with both English Language & Literature and needed help if he was to pass his GCSE exams. I found Kay’s contact details via Tutor Hunt and for about 10 months from June 2019 to April 2020 (only ended by Lockdown) Kay tutored my son for 1 hour per week. My son’s predicted levels improved from only a level 4 in English Language & Literature to a level 6 for both subjects with help & tuition from Kay.


Mandy (Mrs)
29/08/2019

5/5 Rating

First session went well. Nice lady, very focused - just what we need!


Anna (Mrs)
18/08/2019

5/5 Rating

Kay has good interaction with my 5 year old son, gives him confidence and has lots of patience. She is always professional. I would recommend.


Pauline (Miss)
29/04/2019

4/5 Rating

worked at a good pace and made sure the work was understood. kay was very helpful and adapted to our need,s she tried to be as flexible as she could with lesson times


Clare (Mrs)
23/03/2019

5/5 Rating

Kay has been tutoring my son for his English Lit GCSE. Kay is patient and professional and is really helping him to understand the texts he is studying and what will be expected of him in the Exam.


Paul (Mr)
27/02/2019

5/5 Rating

Kay is proving to be a great help for my son Thomas and helping him prepare for his English GCSE - Thanks Kay!


Oliver (Mr)
30/10/2018

4/5 Rating

Very helpful


Gillian (Mrs)
30/07/2018

5/5 Rating

A great tutor, organised and methodical Kay is knowledgeable and practical and our daughter is finding her tutoring very helpful


Theresa (Mrs)
13/02/2018

5/5 Rating

Efficient, accommodating and my son can see how the individual tutoring is helping him.


Jenny ()
15/12/2017

4/5 Rating

Our daughter wanted to be a nurse and was bright enough to be accepted into sixth form for A levels, but still had to get pass GSCE English. Having had 4 failed attempts, first with the school, Sixth form and collage night school, we turned to Tutor Hunt and found Kay. In just 2 months of tuition, Kay managed to improve our daughter’s grade to get the all important pass, enabling her to go on to study as a nurse at university. When it came to our son, we decided not to take any chances relying on the school to get him through his English GCSE and also had Kay tutor him for the 6 months leading up to the exam. I am happy to say that he successfully passed his GCSE first time round with a solid C grade. Thank you Kay.


Sharon (Mrs)
04/07/2017

5/5 Rating

very pleased and my daughter has a more understanding of what is going on and is being taught to her very clearly. thank you Kay, even though she has only had a few session.


Sheba (Mrs)
30/06/2017

5/5 Rating

She is very good in understanding the students and teach them in their ability.can able to discuss and if students need any improvement she will advise for that.


Mark (Mr)
29/03/2016

5/5 Rating

Kay is extremely friendly and my daughter at ease very quickly. She is very patient and full of encouragement - very pleased we chose her!


Becca (Mrs)
01/01/2016

5/5 Rating

I initially contacted Kay as my daughter had been diagnosed with dyslexia and needed some additional help with all areas.
Kay is very friendly and calm and my daughter instantly relaxed in her company.
Eliza has been going to Kay once a week for 6 months and looks forward to going and during this time we and school have noticed a real improvement in all areas. She particularly struggled with Maths and learning her tables was a real problem but Kay is helping with these.
I would whole heartedly recommend Kay as a tutor. She is very flexible and will offer to come to you if cannot make it to her location and due to my varying working hours I have had to change the time of Eliza`s lesson on several occasions and she will always try and accommodate this where she cans.


HELEN (Mrs)
28/08/2015

5/5 Rating

We needed some English tuition for our son to help him pass his English IGCSE. It was a bit short notice as he needed it in order to get a uni place, so he only had 3 months to study for the exams.Kay was great,she helped him with his technique,confidence,and focus,also his understanding of the subject.She also set him past papers to do to monitor his progress.
Chris was predicted a C grade, but he actually came out with a B, and got his uni place.thank you Kay!


Nearby Locations

BrinkworthCalneChippenhamDevizesKington LangleyLynehamMalmesburyMelkshamStudleyWootton BassettLyneham English TutorsLyneham History TutorsLyneham Maths TutorsBrinkworth English TutorsBrinkworth History TutorsBrinkworth Maths TutorsCalne English TutorsCalne History TutorsCalne Maths TutorsChippenham English TutorsChippenham History TutorsChippenham Maths TutorsDevizes English TutorsDevizes History TutorsDevizes Maths Tutors