Tutor HuntSubjectsEFL Lessons

Alex

Alex
Alex
Tutor
London, London
Home Town: London
Member Since: 06/07/2020
Last Login: 3 months ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 1 hour

My Qualifications

PGCE
University of Sussex
Secondary MFL
Pass  (2018)
MA
University of Westminster
Translation
Merit  (2015)
BA
University of Birmingham
Modern Languages TEFL
2:1  (2013)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Alex
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Efl£37.50£37.50£37.50£37.50£37.50£37.50
French£37.50£37.50£37.50--£37.50
Italian£37.50£37.50£37.50£37.50£37.50£37.50
Portuguese£37.50£37.50£37.50--£37.50
Spanish£37.50£37.50£37.50£37.50£37.50£37.50

Information about Alex

I`m a Spanish/British bilingual teacher. I was brought up in different cultures, and with both English and Spanish being used at home since before I could speak.

I am often asked what my strongest language out of English and Spanish is, or whether I feel more British or more Spanish. My answer is always the same - I am a `double native`, meaning that neither of them are a stronger than the other one. I think and dream in both, and I feel just as British as I do Spanish. Since I was a teenager, I have been fascinated by languages, and I am now also fluent in Italian, and have a good level of French and Portuguese.

I was born in Asturias, in northern Spain, the son of an English father and Spanish mother, and it was perhaps that bilingual, bi­cultural upbringing that laid the foundations for my development and future aspirations. My education has taken me from Asturias to Madrid, to central Chile, to Iquique in the Atacama Desert and back to Bilbao in Spain, before starting my undergraduate studies in Birmingham. During my course in MFL (Spanish and Italian) + TEFL, I spent a year (Erasmus programme) in Siena, Italy, where I perfected my Italian (evidenced in a distinction in Oral Italian in my BA certificate).

After my BA, I did an MA in Translation and Interpreting at the University of minster (London), during which I earned the opportunity to participate in a 2 week interpreting internship at the United Nations Human Rights Council, in Geneva.

I worked in translation for 3 years, before starting my PGCE course at the University of Sussex. Since then, I have been working as a Teacher of Spanish/MFL in schools in Brighton and London.

I am also a musician and a house plant enthusiast!

Availability: Mon - Sun
10am - 18pm

MFL + English/TEFL tutoring

TEFL: All levels
Spanish: All levels
Italian: Up to (and including) A level
French + Portuguese: GCSE

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: 2006-2009: Personal tutor for 2 primary school students (English and Maths). Bilbao, Spain.

2007-2010: Teacher Assisstant at American School of Bilbao Summer School. Bilbao, Spain.

2012-2013: English Language tutor at Aston Villa FC. Birmingham, UK.

Oct 2017 - Feb 2018: Teacher (trainee) of Spanish and French at Gildredge House Free School. Eastbourne, UK.

Feb - May 2018: Teacher (trainee) of Spanish and French at Varndean School. Brighton, UK.

July - August 2018: EFL teacher at Bloomsbury International. London, UK.

Sept 2018 - July 2019: Teacher of Spanish and French (naternity cover) at Hornsey School for Girls. London, UK.

August - Sept 2019: EFL teacher at The English Studio. London, UK.

Oct - Dec 2019: Teacher of Spanish (maternity cover) at Southbank International School. London, UK.

Jan 2019 - (present): Teacher of Spanish (permanent) at Mossbourne Academy Victoria Park. London, UK.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Alex
Alex

Nearby Locations

Denmark HillLoughborough JunctionDenmark Hill French TutorsDenmark Hill Spanish TutorsLoughborough Junction French TutorsLoughborough Junction Spanish Tutors