Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Camilla (Tutor in London)

Camilla
Camilla
Tutor
London
Home Town:
Member Since: 26/08/2015
Last Login: 3 months ago
Response Rate: 25%
Expected Response: < 13 days
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

CELTA
Language Link
CELTA
Pass  (2011)
MSc
Institute of Education, University...
Psychology
1st  (2009)
BA
University of Leeds
Sociology
2:1  (2006)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked

Information about Camilla

I am a trained psychologist at MSc level, and I am also a professional English language teacher of adults, teenagers, and children with experience in the UK, Germany, South Africa and Poland. Research-based Masters and experience at WAVE Trust and Kid`s Co. I have extensive experience in teaching business English, including writing CVs and cover letters, interview techniques and writing and giving presentations. My time teaching in South Africa was immensely rewarding because I was enabling young people from many different African countries to improve their English so that they could attend university and take another step towards achieving their goals.
I am well-spoken and well-read and, thanks to my years of teaching in different countries, I am well versed in many different cultures, and how to integrate children from different countries into the classroom. In my most recent position I was teaching my children to read and write in English (my students come from Poland, Korea, Israel, China and Holland), using phonics and the Oxford Reading Tree books, tracking their progress through the stages. I also worked closely with the Primary Year Behaviour Coordinator to tackle issues such as bullying and disruptive behaviour. I am in close contact with all 36 sets of parents (for I was form Teacher to 12 children, and I teach Literacy and Social Studies to 2 additional classes of 12), keeping them well informed of their child’s progress and any concerns I might have regarding their behaviour and/or progress (such as early signs of dyslexia and/or dyscalculia).
Most recently, I worked as an assistant psychologist in an SEN school; I worked directly with our service users on a daily basis; I researched, developed and delivered interventions (e.g. Cognitive Behavioural Interventions, Anger Management, Anxiety Management and Emotional Literacy programmes), I mentored and carried out classroom observations so as to better encourage and facilitate the social, emotional, physical and academic development of individuals with autism, Asperger’s syndrome and associated co-morbid diagnoses and learning difficulties. I also supported education staff in developing and maintaining a stimulating learning environment.

Availability: Weekdays and evenings

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: I tutor Sociology, Psychology, English Language and English Literature; I am well-read in sociological and psychological theories both past and present. I tutor all age groups; Early Years literacy, SATs preparation, 10+ and 11+, GCSE, AS and A Levels and undergraduate. I also teach English as a second language, to both children and adults, and I have extensive experience teaching Business English, including writing and giving presentations, composing cover letters and writing CVs. My experience working with SEN enables me to work effectively with those who require home tuition.

Contact this Tutor
More Photos (1)

 This user has a total of 1 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .


Nearby Locations

Battersea ParkClaphamQueenstown RoadBattersea Park English TutorsClapham English TutorsQueenstown Road English Tutors
© 2005-2020 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.289 seconds
twitter    facebook