Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsSpanish Tutors

Sophia (Tutor in St Leonard`s On Sea)

Sophia
Sophia
Tutor
St Leonard`s On Sea, Sussex
Feedback Score:
+4
Member Since: 12/07/2017
Last Login: 39 days ago
Response Rate: 65%
Expected Response: < 27 minutes
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

PGCE
Canterbury Christ Church University
PGCE 7-14 Spanish with French
Pass  (2011)
QTS
General Teaching Council for Englan...
Qualified Teacher Status
Pass  (2011)
BA
The University of Nottingham
BA Spanish an Portuguese
2:2  (2010)
TEFL
TEFL Barcelona
Teaching English as a foreign langu...
Pass  (2008)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
We have verified this users DBS
How references rated Sophia
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 30.00 to 35.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelAdult Learner
Efl£30.00£30.00--£30.00
Eleven Plus£35.00£35.00---
English£30.00----
French£35.00----
Maths£35.00----
Portuguese£35.00---£35.00
Spanish£35.00£35.00£35.00£35.00£35.00
Information about Sophia

In 2010 I graduated with a BA in Spanish and Portuguese from the University of Nottingham. After lots of Summer jobs working with young people and experience teaching English as a foreign language, I decided I would like to pursue a career in teaching. I undertook my PGCE and qualified in 2011. With experience working in both the primary and secondary settings I decided to become a full time primary school teacher. I taught in a two form entry primary school in London for 2-3 years where I gained valuable experience teaching a wide range of ages and abilities. I also had the opportunity to work with children with a wide range of learning needs both in my whole class setting and smaller focus groups. I decided at this point that my skills could be transferable to private tuition and I have been working privately, tutoring children and teenagers with a range of learning needs since 2011. I really enjoy this style of teaching as it allows me to put a greater focus on the needs of the individual and in this way I have seen rapid progress in each child I have worked with.

I decided to relocate to East Sussex in 2014 to be nearer my family and I have worked in local state primary schools as a Year 5 class teacher and until recently I have taught in Year 3 in a local preparatory school. During this time, I have continued to pursue my private work tutoring children, teenagers and adults with varying learning needs. I have also begun tutoring in 11+ and Modern foreign languages which is my subject specialism. I currently tutor in primary maths, English, French, Spanish and for the 11+ Exams.

I have completed my PGCE and NQT year where I gained experience teaching in Primary and Secondary Schools. I began my teaching career in 2010, gaining invaluable experience teaching in a range of state schools to a mixture of ages and abilities. I also began to perservere with my private tuition at this time, I found it really satisfying to be able to support children through educational challenges and to see them progress rapidly in areas that were originally presenting difficulties for them. It gives me great pleasure to see children succeed in the subject areas that I teach in. I have taught both in London and in local state primary schools whilst continuing to tutor in the private setting. In both London and local primary schools my language knowledge proved to be an invaluable resource and I had the opportunity to teach in both French and Spanish and I also became a Modern foreign languages coordinator.

I have had experience working with a wide range of ages and abilities including children and adults with English as a second language and children with a range of special educational needs including dyslexia, dyscalculia, speech and language difficulties and behavioural difficulties.

I customise my classes according to the learner`s ability, needs and requirements. I offer one-to-one tuition and small group classes.

Availability: Contact me to find out my availability. I am flexible with days and times.

Willing to travel: 20 miles

Experience: Since completing my PGCE I have taught across the KS 1 and 2 in a range of primary schools in London and East Sussex. I began my teaching experience in a London primary school and I have since moved to East Sussex where I have taught in a local state primary school for 3 years and a local preparatory school for 1-2 years. I have 6 years private tuition experience and I specialise in teaching primary maths, English, French and Spanish.

DBS (CRB) Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor
Feedback For Sophia (4)
We have a total of 4 review(s) for Sophia.

Maria (Mrs)
22/03/2019

5/5 Rating

Sophia has recently started tutoring our 12 year old daughter who struggles with new events and change.
Our daughter really likes Sophia which is a massive hurdle - hopefully with Sophia’s input we can develop our daughter’s confidence - she seems to be definitely helping already !


Karen (Mrs)
24/02/2019

5/5 Rating

Sophia is an ideal tutor for my daughter, who is very shy. Sophia is gradually helping her to build up her confidence in Spanish.

Tutors Response :

Thank you for the lovely feeback Karen. It has been a pleasure to work with your daughter.😊;;


Hannah (Mrs)
19/10/2018

5/5 Rating

She is delightful, kind, gentle and knowledgeable. My daughter likes her a lot. It’s early days yet but we are very hopeful of good results


Lorraine (Mrs)
16/08/2017

5/5 Rating

Fantastic tutor. My daughter really looks forward to her lesson and the results of them have started to show already. Thank you Sophia.


Nearby Locations

BattleBexhillEtchinghamHastingsRobertsbridgeBattle English TutorsBattle French TutorsBattle Maths TutorsBattle Spanish TutorsBexhill English TutorsBexhill Maths TutorsEtchingham English TutorsEtchingham French TutorsEtchingham Maths TutorsEtchingham Spanish TutorsHastings English TutorsHastings French TutorsHastings Maths TutorsHastings Spanish TutorsRobertsbridge English Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.359 seconds
twitter    facebook