Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Harvy

Harvy
Harvy
Tutor
Nottinghamshire
Feedback Score:
+2
Member Since: 29/06/2017
Last Login: 11 months ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 2 hours

My Qualifications

Masters
The University of Nottingham
Applied Linguistics and English Language Teaching
2:1  (2021)
BA
The Manchester Metropolitan University
Education Studies
First Class Honours  (2016)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified

Rates summary: 14.00 to 31.25 per hour
KS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
English-£31.25£31.25--
Geography£19----
Graphic Design--£25--
Life Coaching----£31.25
Media--£19--
Personal Statements--£14£19-

Information about Harvy

Having struggled throughout primary and secondary education and being somewhat of a late bloomer during college, I understand the importance of having one to one support and being pushed to realise and fulfill both academic and personal potential. Since my somewhat troubled years at school and college, I have gone on to graduate in Education Studies with First Class Honours, which has given me a profound understanding of learning processes, and my experience working as a student mentor has also provided me with the personal qualities and skills needed for effectively tutoring students. I have also earned a 2:1 Masters` degree in Applied Linguistics and English Language Teaching at Nottingham University, from which I have gained a deeper knowledge, understanding and appreciation of how crucial Language is in learning, not only academically but in many real life situations. Over the years, I have realised that a greater awareness and understanding of language in relation to cognition has an immense impact on how all people learn and can provide the foundations to excel academically.

Throughout my degrees I have learned the importance and advantages of providing individuals with the tools to learn, which is more valuable than simply acquiring knowledge, which tends to be a staple of curriculum based teaching in many countries. I believe this is the key to getting the most out of education and I would argue, life in general. Everyone works in different ways and I am always intent on taking a learner-centered approach to teaching, by working according to pupil`s strengths, weaknesses, personal goals and implementing their own personal interests as an integral aspect of their learning.

I am a very easy going and encouraging person who enjoys helping others. I have a genuine passion for English Language, while also having a background in Psychology. Additionally, I have skills and experience in media & graphic design, as well as a life long interest in geography and general science.

Whether it`s improving grammar, writing style, how to prepare for an assignment or approach essays, struggling for inspiration to write/create, struggling to understand tasks or topics, or anything related to the other subject areas mentioned, I will be happy to help. I can also assist with college/university and also work on one of the most important elements about yourself - confidence in your own academic abilities and personal qualities. This is the key to unlocking true potential and something that is all too often ignored or counteracted by generalised and impersonal teaching methods.

Do not hesitate to contact me with any questions, I will be happy to discuss any of your needs and will do everything I can to help.

Availability: Currently available throughout the week, during days and evenings. Flexible and happy to work around your schedule.

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: 2014-2016: Student Mentor during second and third year placements of Education Studies degree.

2016-present: Working as a tutor and mentor with students of a wide range of abilities and requirements both in schools and privately. Subjects include English, Science, Geography, Media and Graphic Design.

From 2019 I have also worked with children in foster care and those who have not been in regular mainstream education for long periods.

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

More Photos (1)

  This user has a total of 1 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .

Feedback For Harvy (2)

We have a total of 2 review(s) for Harvy.

Rupert (Mr)
23/11/2018

5/5 Rating

Harvy tutored my twin boys for the last 3/4 months leading up to their GCSEs.
He took the time to get to know them, chatted with them about confidence issues and worked out where they needed help and how to help them. They both got good passes at GCSE, he definitely boosted their results and made the difference. He also put himself out during the exam period to have revision sessions with them at a reduced cost. Highly recommended!


Allison (Ms)
02/11/2017

4/5 Rating

Harvy has only just started tutoring my 14 year old,but so far it is going well, and I am hopeful he will make a positive contribution.


Nearby Locations

BinghamBurton JoyceColwickCotgraveEast BridgfordEdwaltonKeyworthNetherfieldRadcliffe On TrentRuddingtonSouthwellWest BridgfordWymeswoldWymeswold English TutorsWymeswold Geography TutorsBingham English TutorsBurton Joyce English TutorsColwick English TutorsCotgrave English TutorsEast Bridgford English TutorsEdwalton English TutorsEdwalton Geography TutorsKeyworth English TutorsNetherfield English TutorsRadcliffe On Trent English TutorsRuddington English TutorsRuddington Geography TutorsSouthwell English Tutors