Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjects

Julie (Tutor in Longfield)

Julie
Julie
Tutor
Longfield, Kent
Feedback Score:
+4
Member Since: 07/12/2013
Last Login: 54 days ago
Response Rate: 90%
Expected Response: < 3 hours
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

Headship Qualification
NCSL(Natonal College for School Lea...
NPQH
Pass  (2005)
PGCE
University of Greenwich
Primary Education
Pass  (1996)
BSc
The University of Bradford
Sociology
2:1  (1995)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-Level
Eleven Plus£40.00---
English£40.00---
Maths£40.00---
Information about Julie

I offer individual tuition in English, Maths and SATs/11+test preparation to pupils in the primary age range.

I pride myself on giving quality parental feedback regarding their child`s learning after each lesson, as I find this partnership aids children`s commitment to their learning.

I live in New Barn, Longfield, Kent, and I offer tuition in one hour sessions. However, I can arrange longer sessions should they be required over the long summer holidays.

I tutor in my workroom at my home in New Barn, where all my resources are to hand.

Availability: Evenings 4.00-8.00pm and Saturdays by mutual arrangement.

Please contact me to discuss needs and availability.

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: My beliefs and values about learning:

I am a successful primary school teacher of more than 15 years experience, having taught children from YR (aged 4 and 5) through to Y6 (aged 10 and 11). Also, as an ex-Headteacher, I understand how children need tailored facilitation of their learning experiences to really thrive.

I believe that all children deserve the chance to `be` their personal best, and understand that some children need a little more encouragement and nurturing in this respect than others. For me, teaching is a real vocation. I enjoy finding the `key` to unlock the love of learning within each individual, and gain great satisfaction from seeing a child take hold of this key themselves and become an increasingly independent learner.

Children learn in different ways, and need different things from their learning experiences. Some may gain benefit in completing practice worksheets to reinforce their learning, while others may need to activate other senses, move about, sing a song, dance, or use some other physical resource to support their understanding. I try to work within a child`s dominant learning style, while gently exploring and developing other independent learning skills, in order to eventually add more `tools` to a child`s learning toolbox. This fun and individually tailored approach enables the child to develop skills and habits which helps them see learning positively, as an interesting challenge, rather than a chore.

In addition to having this strong focus on developing a learner`s confidence in themselves and their ability, I also acknowledge that education is a competitive business nowadays. In some areas, children are tested for admittance to `selective` secondary schools (via `11+`tests), and of course, every parent wants what is best for their child. I am able to support a child in getting to grips with the sometimes confusing elements of these tests, by familiarising them with the kinds of questions that might be asked and working with them on developing techniques and strategies to support them in the tests.

I have been DBS checked (enhanced) and my clearance is available for scrutiny for prospective parents prior to tutoring commencing.

Contact this Tutor
Feedback For Julie (4)
We have a total of 4 review(s) for Julie.

Trisca (Mrs)
01/12/2019

5/5 Rating

Julie taught my son in YR5/6 and knew how to engage him to learn as he wasn’t interested. Julie gave my son confidence & he did really well in his SATS at the time. Julie knows her stuff.


Nicola (Mrs)
28/06/2019

5/5 Rating

Really enjoying our time with Julie so far, my daughter is enjoying the sessions after being initially so nervous and feel she is already coming on leaps and bounds after 3 sessions. Weekly feedback is great and very helpful


Becci (Mrs)
10/03/2019

5/5 Rating

Very impressed with the results so far. Our son comes out full of beans and more confident with his maths Skills.


John (Mr)
05/03/2019

5/5 Rating

Just had a few weeks but very good so far.


Nearby Locations

AshGravesendIghthamLongfieldMeophamNew BarnNorthfleetOffhamSouthfleetStanstedTilburyStansted English TutorsStansted Maths TutorsTilbury English TutorsTilbury Maths TutorsAsh English TutorsAsh Maths TutorsGravesend English TutorsGravesend Maths TutorsIghtham English TutorsIghtham Maths TutorsMeopham English TutorsMeopham Maths TutorsNew Barn English TutorsNew Barn Maths TutorsNorthfleet English Tutors
© 2005-2020 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.250 seconds
twitter    facebook