Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Daryl

This profile is not active

Not available to contact
Daryl
Daryl
Tutor
Kettering, Northamptonshire NN15
Home Town: Kettering
Member Since: 23/05/2019
Last Login: 17 months ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data
Not available to contact

My Qualifications

PGCE
University of Cambridge
PGCE Mathematics (KS2/3)
QTS  (2002)
LLB
University of East Anglia (UEA)
Law degree
2:1 (Hons)  (1991)
A Level
Kettering Boys` School
Maths
A  (1988)
A Level
Kettering Boys` School
English Literature
B  (1988)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Daryl
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Daryl

Hi, I`m Daryl, a qualified teacher and maths subject leader with 20 years` classroom experience (in middle schools, primary and secondary).

In a typical week in a school class of 30 children, a child will get on average 2 - 4 minutes of 1:1 teacher time - even less if they are shy, quiet or don`t like to ask for help if they are struggling. Think how much could be achieved with 60 minutes of dedicated 1:1 teacher time every week, where they feel safe to give everything a try without fear of peer criticism, and know from the start they can ask as many questions as they like (and asking "Why is that ...?" or "Can you show me again?" is positively encouraged).

I tutor with enthusiasm and humour and work to build a strong relationship with each student, so they feel safe, relaxed and listened to. Parents of children in my classes over the last 2 decades will tell you my specialism (and my passion) is helping children overcome that `fear` of maths that so many of them have.

Availability:
Daytime availability only (Mon - Thurs), suitable for adults (Functional Skills Maths, GCSE re-sit) and home-schooled children.

Willing to travel: 8 miles

Experience: I qualified with a Middle School PGCE from Cambridge University, before Northamptonshire closed down all the middle schools. I`ve worked in Primary and Secondary, but mostly in year 5-6, and been a maths subject leader for most of my teaching career.

I`ve marked SAT tests for Edexcel, as well as being a member of the test review panel, scrutinizing SAT tests and questions before publication.

I`m not a single-track maths geek, though. I have an A Level in English Literature, and a Law Degree (2:1 Hons). I`ve worked in sales before teaching, so I am a good communicator (message me and ask a question to find out). I love wildlife photography - I am very patient (recently spending many hours, camera in hand, waiting for an otter to appear and `pose` in just the right position).

Not available to contact

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Daryl
Daryl
Not available to contact

Nearby Locations

Barton SeagraveBurton LatimerCorbyCottinghamDesboroughEarls BartonFinedonGeddingtonGreat DoddingtonGrendonHigham FerrersIrchesterIrthlingboroughKetteringRushdenWellingboroughWollastonBarton Seagrave English TutorsBarton Seagrave Maths TutorsBurton Latimer English TutorsBurton Latimer Maths TutorsCorby English TutorsCorby Maths TutorsCottingham English TutorsCottingham Maths TutorsDesborough English TutorsDesborough Maths TutorsEarls Barton English TutorsEarls Barton Maths TutorsFinedon English TutorsFinedon Maths TutorsGeddington English Tutors