Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Giovanni

Giovanni
Giovanni
Tutor
London, none
Home Town: London
Member Since: 07/07/2011
Last Login: 41 days ago
Response Rate: 25%
Expected Response: < 12 hours

My Qualifications

MA
University of Bern, Switzerland and University of Fribo...
English Language and Literature
First Class Degree  (2004)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Giovanni
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 25.00 to 50.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
English£25£31.25£37.50£37.50-£43.75
French--£37.50£37.50£43.75£50
German£37.50-£37.50£43.75£43.75£50
Italian--£43.75£43.75£43.75£50
Latin-£25£31.25---

Information about Giovanni

I am a natively multilingual tutor, available both for academic and conversational tuition.

With ten years tutoring experience, I pride myself on tailoring my classes and study programmes to the individual needs, ambitions, expectations, abilities and characteristics of each student. I understand that every student is different and needs an individualised approach, and I'd sit together with the parents or the student in order to identify what that might be in order to move towards and reach the goals we shall set together. I believe in the joy of learning and do everything I can to instill that in my students.

I have a degree from the University of Bern, Switzerland in English Literature and Linguistics. I graduated with a top-marks MA, having researched and written a 100-page thesis.

I was brought up trilingually in Switzerland, and still visit it, as well as Italy at least twice a year. This gives me a great perspective on both Italian and German language and culture. All my schooling was in German, but I had nine years of French (up to baccalaureate/A level equivalent). Italian and German as well as English (the mark was A for all those subjects) were also part of my baccalaureate. I also studied Latin for 7 years and could, should there be call for it, tutor Latin students at beginner and intermediate level.

I have also taught French having lived in the French part of Switzerland and worked in Paris.

Also, being a trained actor, I have a natural understanding of literary texts, be that prose or drama.

I have been working as a translator and proofreader as well as an interpreter for the last few years and have a natural affinity with and passion for language, both in writing and orally. It's also reflected in my interests, and it's something I'm really keen to pass on.

My fees are negotiable, especially when a series of classes is booked in advance.

I look forward to hearing from you soon. I book up quite quickly so get in touch as soon as you can to avoid disappointment.

Availability: seven days a week; days and evenings

Willing to travel: 30 miles

Experience: I have been tutoring for nearly ten years at all levels and to all ages. I have worked a lot with students working on language exams such as Cambridge Proficiency or TOEFL, but also devised SAT and GCSE programmes, as an addition to work at school. I really enjoy helping my students develop. I have a wealth of experience with adult learning - e.g. as part of training programmes in Swiss banks -, with high school students (privately and as a high school substitute teacher) and also very young children (I have a Level 2 NVQ in Social Care of children, and am aware of their particular needs, including those going beyond the merely academic.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Giovanni
Giovanni

Nearby Locations

HackneyLondon FieldsHackney English TutorsHackney French TutorsLondon Fields English TutorsLondon Fields French Tutors