Tutor HuntSubjectsBiology Tutors


Feedback Score:
Member Since: 01/03/2011
Last Login: 9 days ago
Response Rate: 90%
Expected Response: < 16 hours

My Qualifications

Insitute for Learning
Qualified Teacher, learning & Skills Status
Pass  (2010)
The Open University
Pass  (2010)
Level 4 ESOL Subject Specialism
City & Guilds
Level 4 ESOL Subject Specialism
Pass  (2006)
The University of Birmingham
Cert Ed
Pass  (2003)
Birmingham City University
English Language And Literature
2:1  (1998)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Sarah

Rates summary: 23.00 to 30.00 per hour

Information about Sarah

I have been teaching since 1999 and have extensive experience lecturing and tutoring a wide variety of subjects and settings.

As I hold both a BA (Hons) and a BSc I am equally at home helping students with humanities and science subjects. I have a special interest in English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL), English as a Foreign Language (EFL) and English for Academic Purposes (EAP).

I tutor ESOL/EFL from Entry level to proficiency, English Language to A-level, all sciences to GCSE (with Biology to A level), adult literacy, geography and history.

I provide specialist help with exam preparation, general proofreading, thesis proofreading, study skills and CV writing.

I create individual learning plans and provide regular progress reports for students and parents to monitor learning.

I am a published textbook author:

Kauser, S. & O`Donoghue, S (2010) Oxford Content and Language Support: Science. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

This textbook was written for students who speak English as a second language and for those studying GCSE and IGCSE Science courses

Availability: As of April 2021 I am fully booked for tutoring and have no regular availability. However my timetable changes frequently as students` needs change so please feel free to contact me and I will do my best to help particularly if you require one-off or short-term classes.

Willing to travel: 3 miles

Experience: I have been teaching since 1999 and I have considerable experience teaching large classes, small groups, workshops and one-to-one.

I have experience teaching children, young people and adults in a variety of settings including private tuition in Durham, Bournville College of Further Education in Birmingham, a West Midlands community centre and voluntary summer schools in Thailand, Poland and Hong Kong.

Contact this Tutor


After School

More Photos (1)

  This user has a total of 1 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .

Feedback For Sarah (2)

We have a total of 2 review(s) for Sarah.

Sharifa (Mrs)

5/5 Rating

Very happy to finally find an amazing, lovely and supportive tutor. Blessed.

Alaa (Mrs)

5/5 Rating

Sarah is a great teacher. She has been teaching me English to improve my language and she is helping me in IELTS preparation. She is very patient, supportive, conscientious and willing to answer any questions.

Nearby Locations

BrandonChester Le StreetChester-le-streetDurhamPeltonSacristonUshaw MoorChester Le Street Biology TutorsChester Le Street Chemistry TutorsChester Le Street English TutorsChester Le Street Geography TutorsChester Le Street History TutorsChester Le Street Physics TutorsDurham Biology TutorsDurham Chemistry TutorsDurham English TutorsDurham History TutorsDurham Physics TutorsBrandon Biology TutorsBrandon Chemistry TutorsBrandon English TutorsBrandon History Tutors