Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Lisa

Lisa
Lisa
Tutor
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Feedback Score:
+10
Member Since: 26/07/2012
Last Login: 4 days ago
Response Rate: 85%
Expected Response: < 6 hours

My Qualifications

BEd
Westminster College, Oxford
Education
2:2  (1995)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Lisa
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Lisa

I have been teaching for 27 years. I have just finished working in a junior school where I was based for 15 years as a class teacher, an Art manager, outdoor education manager and year group leader. I have also organised English across the curriculum for all year groups, supported children and staff in year 6 with their SATs and led many whole school initiatives. I support children with English up to GCSE level in particular although I do offer tuition in Mathematics from Key Stage 1- lower secondary Key Stage 3. Sometimes I am asked to support children in other areas, such as History, Geography, Art and RE with help in GCSE exam preparation - I am happy to do this too. I have also been a school governor in the past.

I aim to improve the child`s confidence so that when they are in the classroom, they are clear about their learning and have the skills and confidence to complete tasks with a raised self esteem.
I support `gaps` in understanding, provide them with a range of alternative ways of thinking to select from and help children to organise themselves. I provide all the materials that the child needs for the lessons - all they need to bring is themselves, maybe some paper and a positive attitude!
Although I trained at Oxford, I have worked in a range of different areas. I have worked in multicultural schools in Birmingham and Crawley. I have also worked in inner city schools in Portsmouth. Although the majority of my time has been spent in junior schools, I have also taught English in a secondary school, working alongside years 7-11.
I have worked with students taking and retaking GCSE English - from a number of different syllabuses. All my lessons are on a one to one basis so that I can provide quality support to each student. I have also been registered as a tutor with Portsmouth City Council and registered with `Timeplan Education` supply agency for Hampshire as a tutor working with children one to one in schools.
A number of years have been spent with a company based in Bristol, called Living Learning English. I have hosted students from all over the world - China, Ukraine, Italy, Russia, Belarus, France, Gibraltar and Germany to name but a few. I would spend three hours a day throughout my summer holidays, often with two students at a time from different countries, teaching English grammar, encouraging English speaking and writing and enabling children to communicate. I am currently studying for my TEFL qualification, which I hope to achieve before the end of the Spring 2021 and am also teaching myself Italian!

I have always been a tutor alongside being a full time teacher. I have now decided to focus purely on the tutoring. I am hoping to do some travelling in the future, now that my sons are grown up, and to give myself a `breather` from the classroom for a while. I have also introduced online lessons during lockdown, which have proved very successful - particularly as a result of COVID-19 restricting travel and contact with students.

Availability: Due the lock-down and the Coronavirus, and the cancellation of the GCSEs for the current year, I have found myself with plenty of time available!
I am currently teaching during the evenings and at weekends. I can discuss availability with you once you have purchased my details.

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: Most of my experience is mentioned in my profile above - I would just add that all my feedback through Tutorhunt has always been positive. I will be honest with parents about the progress of their son or daughter. I do expect the students I teach to work hard and produce good results. I can communicate well with young people, value their ideas and opinions but also direct them towards achieving their short term goals. I encourage progress through small steps and focus on what is important to get to the next level.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Lisa (10)

We have a total of 10 review(s) for Lisa.

Venkat (Miss)
10/02/2020

5/5 Rating

Lisa is excellent and has a very friendly approach to her teaching, which my daughter looks forward to the lessons every week. She has made a good progress in her class and with the school homework.


Vicky (Mrs)
11/11/2019

5/5 Rating

We have been SO pleased with how Lisa has helped and supported our children with their English, giving them the confidence to achieve the grades needed to pass their GCSEs. Would definitely recommend her.


Shakil (Dr)
25/05/2019

5/5 Rating

An experienced and good tutor , i deal for my 8 year old


Erica (Mrs)
21/05/2019

5/5 Rating

Exemplary tutor. We are very lucky to have her.


Elza (Mr)
09/03/2019

5/5 Rating

Active listening,good knowledge and person centred efficient teaching,my son got good progress in gcse score English mock test
Thanking you
Elza Joseph


sammi (Miss)
07/03/2019

4/5 Rating

A good teacher.


Clare (Mrs)
28/02/2019

5/5 Rating

Have fairly recently started with Lisa, but my teenage son seems happy with her so that`s a good sign!


Marek (Miss)
01/11/2018

5/5 Rating

Lisa is a great teacher, enthusiastic, patient and very helpful. What is the most important, she is able to adapt her teaching strategies to student needs. We appreciate her work:)


Elaine (Mrs)
12/10/2015

5/5 Rating

My son began receiving tuition from Lisa last Oct 2014 as he was not expected to achieve a C grade in his English GCSE`s. She made the subject much more understandable and "boy friendly". She is very friendly , patient,thoughtful and caring and my son became a lot more confident in writing essays and answering exam questions. He achieved C grades in both literature and language this summer and without Lisas help I doubt this would have happened .


sarah (Mrs)
06/02/2014

5/5 Rating

Katie feels very relaxed with Lisa and has begun to feel more confident in her studies with English. She has begun to complete English papers and is improving.


Nearby Locations

ClanfieldCowplainDenmeadEast WitteringEmsworthHambledonHavantHorndeanLissMeonstokePetersfieldSobertonWaterloovilleClanfield English TutorsClanfield Maths TutorsCowplain English TutorsCowplain Maths TutorsDenmead English TutorsDenmead Maths TutorsEmsworth English TutorsEmsworth Maths TutorsHambledon English TutorsHambledon Maths TutorsHavant English TutorsHavant Maths TutorsHorndean English TutorsHorndean Maths TutorsLiss English Tutors