Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Julia

Julia
Julia
Tutor
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Home Town: Oxford
Member Since: 24/08/2021
Last Login: 6 days ago
Response Rate: 75%
Expected Response: < 54 minutes

My Qualifications

Other
Oxford University
Foundation Certificate in English Literature
2:1  (2021)
A Level
Loreto Sixth Form College
English Literature
A*  (2016)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Julia
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegree
English--£25£25-
Entrance Exams---£25£25

Information about Julia

I am a second-year student of BA English Language and Literature at the University of Oxford. My experience includes Victorian Poetry and Fiction, Modernism, Shakespeare, Early Modern Poetry, Early Modern Drama, 20th-Century American Novel, Literary Theory, History of Language and more.

I can also offer advice and help with the application process for the University of Oxford, as well as writing personal statements, critical essays, unseen prose and poetry analysis and more. We can also work on scheduling, setting deadlines and managing workload, including reading lists and ways of dealing with large amounts of texts.
I am interested in finding out about my students` interests and current ways of working - I believe that personal interests and academic work can connect in exciting ways, and finding those usually encourages more interest in the studied works, even if they seem completely unfamiliar at first!

In my personal life, I am passionately interested in creating and learning about the arts: literature, photography, film, drawing, ceramics, music and more.

I am particularly motivated to encourage students to believe in their talents and abilities. My story, I believe, proves that things that seem unachievable are often way more accessible than we think.
I moved to the United Kingdom at the age of 16 to begin my A-Levels - I felt it was risky to choose English Literature as a person for whom English is a second language. In the end, I excelled at AS and A-Level achieving an A*, and some years later I began studies in English Language and Literature at the University of Oxford.

Availability: Flexible, weekdays and weekends.

Willing to travel: 2 miles

Experience: Currently, 5* reviewed experience of Personal Statement mentoring.
I have taught English as a second language to multiple students in the past, beginning online and in-person tutoring at the age of 16.
I have years of experience of academic writing, including A-Level English Literature, short courses in Literary Theory and Critical Reading, a Foundation Certificate in English Literature and my current BA in English Language and Literature. I have also written for The Manchester Literature Festival Blog, and am currently involved in a project working on alumni biographies for the University of Oxford.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

More Photos (4)

  This user has a total of 4 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .


Julia
Julia

Nearby Locations

AbingdonCowleyGreat MiltonWheatleyAbingdon English TutorsCowley English TutorsGreat Milton English TutorsWheatley English Tutors