Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Lara

Lara
Lara
Tutor
Maidenhead, Berkshire
Feedback Score:
+1
Member Since: 08/06/2020
Last Login: 22 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 14 minutes

My Qualifications

Masters
The University of Birmingham
Cuneiform and Ancient Near Eastern Studies
Distinction  (2020)
BA
University of Iowa
French Language and Literature
Distinction  (2019)
BA
University of Iowa
Art History
Distinction (honors)  (2019)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Lara
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Lara

My name is Lara and I am a tutor from Maidenhead, England.

Qualifications:
B.A Art History
B.A French Literature and Language
Masters degree (MRes) in Assyriology
Current PhD Student at Oxford University

French and English: I would love to teach you if you would like to learn English or French language aspects such as grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation, and spelling. I know I can help you with your speaking fluency and accuracy. I have been teaching languages for two years at a variety of levels. Most of my students improve their language skills and can express themselves and their ideas concisely and effectively. I do this by motivating my students with new teaching approaches that focus on communicative activities. I want my student to feel they have the confidence to speak the language in the real world. I also work with GCSE and A-Level students on exam response and literature analysis. I specialise in helping students identify and understand language devices. As well as guiding students in how to gain the most marks from exam style questions.

Geography: Similarly to higher-level English and French, we look at exam questions and examiners reports to highlight the skills and knowledge needed to attain the top grades. I use exam papers to identify areas of weakness so we can then work on specific skills or topics. We can then revise topics and make revision materials. Specialist areas include coasts and earth hazards, but I have experience teaching all modules.

I also offer tuition in Art History and Physical Education. I will provide my students with positive and constructive feedback, and an achievable goal timeline. If you want to study with me, you can contact me and schedule your lesson. Hope to hear from you soon.

Availability: Monday - Sunday
7am - 9pm *
Flexible
*If the student is based in a different time zone, please contact for availability

24/7 support for all tutees. I am a resource, day and night, for any queries related to subject content.

Willing to travel: 30 miles

Experience: Swimming Instructor | Sport and Fitness (Iowa and Birmingham)
Instructed adults and children of all ages, whilst creating detailed lesson plans, coordinating my own and others schedules, and interacting regularly with people of different backgrounds and ethnicities.

Teaching Assistant | University of Iowa and University of Birmingham
Prepared and taught lessons, helped with paperwork, volunteer activities and facilitated class discussions

Online Tutoring | Remote
Screen sharing, interactive learning, Individual lesson plans, Goal-oriented timeline.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Lara (1)

We have a total of 1 review(s) for Lara.

Cathy (Mrs)
30/11/2020

5/5 Rating

My son has benefited a great deal by having French lessons with Lara. He has enjoyed having Lara as his tutor as she is very patient and her lessons are well planned and executed.


Nearby Locations

Bourne EndBrayBurnhamCookhamCookham DeanHolyportMaidenheadTaplowBray English TutorsBray French TutorsBray Geography TutorsCookham English TutorsCookham French TutorsCookham Geography TutorsCookham Dean English TutorsCookham Dean French TutorsCookham Dean Geography TutorsHolyport English TutorsHolyport French TutorsHolyport Geography TutorsMaidenhead English TutorsMaidenhead French TutorsMaidenhead Geography Tutors