Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Susanne

Susanne
Susanne
Tutor
Aldershot, Hampshire
Feedback Score:
+6
Member Since: 10/09/2018
Last Login: 4 days ago
Response Rate: 90%
Expected Response: < 6 hours

My Qualifications

PGCE
Thames Valley University now University of London
PGCE IN POST COMPULSORY EDUCATION AND TRAINING
N/A just required a pass  (2007)
BA
Surrey University
BA (Hons) Englush and History
2.1  (2006)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Susanne
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 42.50 to 50.00 per hour
KS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
English£42.50£42.50£50£50£50

Information about Susanne

Private Tutor Sue- Professional and Supportive ONLINE Tutoring Services- now only available online so that I can meet demand. If you are unsure online tutoring is for you, please book a trial session with no obligation to continue. I specialise in secondary and college education.

AVAILABILITY UPDATE I have availability on a Wednesday and Friday at present.


September 2022-23- I currently have limited availability (2 spaces)-please contact me
September 2022-23 (daytime)-limited spaces available- please contact me
Summer holidays 2022-23- and September 2023- 24 September (4 spaces available)-please contact me

My Teaching Background
I have been tutoring for five years, and fourteen teaching in local FE and Sixth Form colleges. I have worked as an AQA, EDUQAS and EDEXCEL iGCSE (GCSE & A Level) examiner, undertaken the role of Head of English of three colleges, trained teachers, inspired A Level creative writers, trained corporate staff new IT systems for a large well known retail company, and even worked in Financial Services managing stocks, shares and pension portfolios. My experience of education and the world of business has instilled a passion for developing an understanding.in everyone that I teach, that learning is a lifelong skill and great careers are made with a keen sense of this. An awareness that the skills we learn today have a relevance in your future work life is also at the core of every session I deliver (even in poetry and Shakespeare sessions!) Every student needs to understand the use and place for the skills they are being taught. Even essays about Shakespeare can be linked to writing reports using appropriate evidence and developing confident vocabulary to help you explain your ideas.

My Skills

My tutoring sessions are based upon confidence building, identifying relevance for our future progression and development infused with high quality expertise in teaching and examining. I have extensive experience delivering (and in some cases examining) of AQA, EDUQAS, EDEXCEL and iGCSE EDEXCEL GCSE & A Level qualifications. I develop the potential in every student;; I can stretch the brightest equally as well as support struggling students. My current A Level student just achieved 100% in her coursework and my weakest student last year (predicted by school to achieve a grade 2) passed with a high grade 4. These are just a few of my proudest moments.
I also have first-hand experience of how difficult it is to have dyslexia and the strategies required to overcome the stress, anxiety, and frustrations it can bring;; my dyslexic son took GCSE English several times before passing, but he still went on to achieve a 1st in his Games Technology at Bournemouth University (I am obviously a very proud mother too).

Furthermore, I am aware that some students are not keen to study English (I used to be Head of GCSE for retake classes) and understand how demoralizing it can be to retake, so I ensure I design the sessions referencing end goals and dreams to demonstrate the two are intrinsically linked.

My Online Service

I mentor every student I teach ensuring they increase in self-confidence. I believe that a person should be taught skills that they can apply independently rather than be taught how to parrot fashion repeat what the teacher has said without comprehending what it means. I coach confident independence in the subject. Therefore, every client has a termly report that reviews their or their child’s progress with the chance to discuss appropriate strategies to ensure they succeed to the best of their ability.

I also welcome parents to communicate with me anything that may affect their child’s learning: send reports, exam papers they have written and any schoolwork they need feedback on etc. I also believe the learner should be assessed throughout the tutoring and ensure they receive personalised written and verbal feedback on all work completed. I mark everything submitted providing clear targets and supportive self esteem building strategies with praise.

A client also has a choice of styles of tutoring to choose from which can be discussed when you contact me. Everyone should be supported to the style they feel most comfortable.
My online sessions combine the use of two technologies: Zoom and an interactive whiteboard software. The interactive whiteboard software records the session and the notes for you and then automatically emails them to you after the session. These can be played back whenever you wish or, notes printed off, or saved digitally for revision as well as to assist with weekly homework tasks. Not only is this an amazing learning tool, but it is also a method of ensuring your child is protected for Safeguarding protocols as the sessions are recorded for their safety. I am a DBS monitored tutor with professional insurance and references.

Overall, I am known for my patient, compassionate, determined, and honest nature when dealing with students, so If you want to view my DBS or request a reference, I encourage and welcome you to contact me.

If you are unsure if online tutoring is for you, please book a trial session with no obligation to continue.

Availability: 1:1 sessions available.
Group classes available on request.

Willing to travel: 50 miles

Experience: P.G.C.E. and BA (Hons) Literature and History
14 years working in a local F.E. & H.E. College and Sixth Form.
5 years tutoring experience
Been both an A Level and G.C.S.E. examiner AQA and EDUQAS
Worked as College Lead for 3 college campuses for G.C.S.E. English and Functional Skills.
Head of A Level English Language and Literature and GCSE
Taught on International degree teaching English modules.
AQA A Level Creative Writing examiner

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Susanne (6)

We have a total of 6 review(s) for Susanne.

Penny (Mrs)
14/02/2022

5/5 Rating

I would highly recommend Susanne. She has given my 15 year old daughter great confidence and reassurance as she prepares to take her GCSE exams. My daughter also received a dyslexia diagnosis, which left her feeling concerned about her ability to do well in her exams. Susanne has been incredibly supportive to my daughter and has reassured her that she will help her reach her full potential, and how a dyslexia assessment will help rather than hinder her future plans.


Lesley (Mrs)
09/08/2021

5/5 Rating

Lovely tutor, my son has only met with her a few times but she`s very positive and friendly, makes my son feel at ease. would recommend her to anyone!


Nikki (Ms)
15/07/2020

5/5 Rating

My son has had 3 or 4 lessons with Susanne so far. I have been delighted at how quickly she has been able to gauge his strengths and weaknesses and there is already a plan in place to improve his skills. She is enthusiastic, encouraging and interacts very well with my son for whom this is not a favourite subject; a less skilled tutor might have struggled to get his buy in so it is a testimony to her teaching that he is responding so well. I would highly recommend Susanne.


Jay (Mrs)
02/09/2019

5/5 Rating

Very friendly, firm and has a really connection with my child.


Dora (Miss)
22/08/2019

5/5 Rating

Susanne was our last hope for my son`s English GCSE preparations. He is a very science focussed boy, which Susanne understood from the start. She took her time to chat to him in order to get to know him and she formed the lessons and her teaching style to suit his needs and understanding. Susanne managed to make Ben understand English the way he didn`t before. He didn`t only just pass his exams but got a 5 (C+) which is more than what we expected.
Susanne is very reliable, personable, she was fun to have around and the best investment in my son`s education so far!


Paul (Mr)
14/11/2018

5/5 Rating

Susanne has proven to be a very knowledgeable, personable and effective English tutor. My 15 year old daughter has already seen positive results after a few sessions. I couldn`t recommend her more highly to anyone looking for support with their English GCSE course.


Nearby Locations

AldershotAshAsh ValeElsteadFrimleyFrimley GreenMytchettNormandySealeAldershot English TutorsAsh English TutorsAsh Vale English TutorsElstead English TutorsFrimley English TutorsFrimley Green English TutorsMytchett English TutorsNormandy English TutorsSeale English Tutors