Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsAnthropology Lessons

Hugh (Tutor in Glasgow)

Hugh
Hugh
Tutor
Glasgow, Scotland
Home Town: Glasgow
Member Since: 18/07/2014
Last Login: 5 months ago
Response Rate: 80%
Expected Response: < 5 days
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

MA
University of Chicago
Master of Arts Program in the Socia...
Distinction  (2014)
BA
University of Cambridge
Pschology, Politics, Sociology, and...
1st  (2012)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
How references rated Hugh
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Hugh

I am a sociologist, musician, poet, writer, artist, and teacher who, having been born and raised in Durham, then spent a number of years living and studying in South England, Europe and America, now lives in Glasgow.

I believe fundamentally in being kind always.

I write songs for and perform in a folk band, with guitar, harmonica, percussion and vocals being my main roles. I also regularly attend and read at poetry events, and sometimes try my hand at acting. I paint as often as I can and I volunteer for numerous environmental and community groups. I love to ride my bike and, of course, to read, especially short stories and ethnographies. I thrive most around other people, and especially in discussion, which I think is a large reason why I choose to teach.

I was personally home-schooled for much of my education and thus have a rare, intuitive understanding of the value of one to one tuition. I strongly believe in personalized education that enlivens topics according to the needs of each individual student. I know every pupil can excel with patient guidance and so take time to learn about my studentsí individual interests to make lessons specifically relevant to them.

Indeed, my lessons are as diverse as my pupils, and I thoroughly enjoy pricking students` inquisitiveness and helping them discover their own intelligence in their own way. I firmly believe that everyone has it inside of them to succeed at the highest level and I see my work as a tutor as being a patient catalyst for this to happen.
Lessons can happen in my study, at student`s homes, or at any other location desired!

Availability: Anytime weekdays. Some weekends.

Willing to travel: 30 miles

Experience: As a graduate of the world-renowned social science departments of King`s College, Cambridge and the University of Chicago, I am robustly equipped and experienced in tutoring Social Sciences to degree level. In addition to leading numerous seminars at Cambridge, I worked as a undergraduate tutor and teaching assistant during my graduate studies in Chicago, racking up around 300 hours of teaching time and 100% positive feedback on my student appraisal forms.

Meanwhile, as an avid reader and poetry/fiction writer with multiple creative writing qualifications and awards (and commendation for the highest English Literature marks in the nation in my GCSEs and A-levels), I am additionally well-trained and experienced in teaching English Literature, English Language and Creative Writing to Higher/Advanced Higher/A-level. During the past three years, I have taught over twenty students in English and creative writing (approx 250 hours teaching time), consistently improving confidence and grades in equal measure.

In addition, due to the interdisciplinary of both my BA and MA, I am happy to consider students for Humanities subjects (Geography, History, Philosophy) up to Higher/A-Level also.

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

BattlefieldCrosshillGlasgowGorbalsGovanhillKings ParkMount FloridaStrathbungoBattlefield English TutorsCrosshill English TutorsGlasgow English TutorsGlasgow Geography TutorsGorbals English TutorsGovanhill English TutorsKings Park English TutorsMount Florida English TutorsStrathbungo English Tutors
© 2005-2020 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.438 seconds
twitter    facebook